We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 5*” 2 of 5 stars
Review of CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa to your Saves list
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1264 | Ligaria, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely not 5*”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We are stayied at this hotel last month (October) please believe the previous reviews that it is not 5* this is are 2/3 star very basic and not what you would expect. There are much better hotels in Crete if you enjoy staying somewhere nice.
The location is isolated with lovely views but there is nowhere to go for a stroll in the evening apart from up and down the stairs Or hills to the pool and back. You could take a taxi into the village at a cost of €20 each way where there are some lnice bars and restaurants. I would also recommend a room from 500 upwards the walk up the hill would be too much for some.
The rooms are grim and basic with hard mattresses with just a sheet over it. There are no little extras you would expect from a 5* hotel, shampoo and body was is from a dispenser over the bath.
Some of the staff seemnice but there are some who are just rude.
The restaurant is free for all and noisy,and whilst there is a variety of food on offer the queues can be long and not enough waiting staff.
There is nowhere to have a quiet drink in the evening as the main bar is the only bar !
Think twice before you book this if you are looking for quality you won't find it here I promise you. The nicest meal we had was the A La Carte.
if you are looking for a cheap holiday in basic accommodation then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms from 500 upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny P, Guest Relations Manager at CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Marsan,
Thank you for your time to post your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Concerning the location of our hotel, as mentioned in our web site is build on a hill side with lot of stairs, and I would rather describe it like a place for relaxing holidays with amazing views, and not as isolated place. Its our aim to offer to our guests a comfortable stay in our renovated rooms and to provide a high level service from our staff. We feel very sorry to not meet your expectations with us, and hope to have the oppurtunity to welcome you again, in order to convence you for our services.

Best Regards,

Fanny Patreli
Customer Sevice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    84
    39
    29
    24
See reviews for
90
111
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

hello there!
we have stayed in Athina Palace last month, the Hotel provides an excellent and breathtaking views. Service was really nice and all people was really helpful as well. i reccoment the Hotel for Couples and especially Couples on anniversary period as i think this is a suitable hotel for romantic dinners. moreover Hotel is located 20 minutes from Heraklion Airport which is quite good as well as we save also money from the taxi transfer.
Must Go !!!! :)

Room Tip: in this Hotel you have to take a sea view Room DEFINITELY !!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

When we entered the hotel we received a good service from the front office staff. The Room was large and was cleaned by room service every day.good house keeping.
Few staffs who gave exceptional service during our stay
5 star service

Chronis
Sofia
Zaharias
Nikos bus
Eftuxia ( omlet lady)

Excellent animation team
We enjoyed every part of it.
Marian
Karima
Kais
These three guys were very friendly
And cheerful.
Food was great.

Only down part is that this hotel is full of Russians who don't want to talk to you. You don't get any pls or thank you.very arrogant.

We had a power cut during our stay and we had a our niece staying with her parents in the other room.we went to reception and complained about the power cut to front of manager who's name
I can't remember but he wasn't helpful at all.he made a joke saying ITS TIME FOR YOU TO ENJOY WITH YOUR WIFE. Very rude didn't like it. We stayed for 10 nights. Our niece got sick for 4 days because the hotel couldn't provide electricity to rooms.She was bitten by Mosquitos.

To be honest I liked the hotel for the view not for anything else.liked every thing else but not the front office managers attitude. Hotel is definitely not 5 star more like 3 star.
Front office manager doesn't take any responsibility.no apologies or he did not even try to offer us anything to calm us.
We had power cut atleast 3 times during our stay.

If you're from England speaking English I wouldn't recommend.this place is a little soviet.;)

I would recommend for the view though.

PLEASE SORT OUT YOUR FRONT OFFICE MANAGER!

We won't be coming back.

Thank you.
Andrew.
We stayed from 14th June to 24th

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

very large in everything!
room? excellent!
restaurant? excellent!
main bar? excellent!
sea view? excelent!
beach ? just for a card postal!
big thanks to sofia and to chronis! at the bar we have really enjoy !!!

Room Tip: As close as possible to the reception, if you smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

just spent a week in Crete. The staff at the Athina Palace were lovely, the hotel is in an amazing location, stunning views. The rooms are a little tired and depending on where your room is there can be a lot of stairs but we didn't find this a problem. The food was plentiful and good, the al a carte restaurant was lovely. We will be back as it is tranquil in October and great value for money.

Room Tip: Check you are not too far from reception because of stairs. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is in a stunning location right on a cliff side, with amazing sea/cliffe views. There is a shuttle to transport to and from different areas in the resort, as walking could be difficult for the not so fit and healthy tourist. The main reason for writing a comment is for the very helpful, accommodating, caring staff. We would like to name two special people who worked tirelessly in the main bar. Emanuella and Giannis. Thank you again for a lovely stay in a beautiful hotel

Room Tip: Most rooms faced the sea as far as we know
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Basically everything in the review below is correct. During our stay in October we found out this was the quiet time with the hotel closing down at the end of October. When we first arrived there was a smell of urine in the room. The animation team was non-existant with no activities during the day even though the timetable said there was and the only evening entertainment was 3 days out 7 days we stayed there, the rest of the time there was just loud music blearing at the pool and bar area. There is absolutely no nightlife without a taxi, apart from drinking at the bar.

The food was basic with a lot of the food left open to flies. However, the desserts were very tasty and plentiful, and the soup was very nice with a selection of breads even though some were stale. The day time snacks were very basic with stale pizza and cakes left out for you to eat and all inclusive beer and wine etc. The drinks are only open till 11pm after that you have to pay for every beverage.

Most of the staff were not very helpful, but there was a couple of staff like the young waiter in the restaurant who was very good at serving you and topping up your drinks without asking. Also Fanny Petrelli guest relations manager was very good at dealing with problems and sorting out excursions we were planning.

The room was very large and had a lovely view but was quite basic with a radio built in to the wall that didn't work, also the air con was broken too. The housekeeping staff came any time they wanted with one night being in the evening when we resting and they left bags of clean laundry just outside your room for you to deal with!

On the whole this is a hotel situated with a lovely view of the surroundings but needs a lot of renovation work done as it's very old fashioned and needs much better customer service from staff, as well as the food being very basic and this place is definitely not a 5 star! More like a 3 star.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the 700's as there will be lots of walking and steps otherwise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 1264 | Ligaria, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71001, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marmara Athina Palace Hotel Agia Pelagia
Athina Palace Agia Pelagia
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.