We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to be !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pela Mare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pela Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Pela Mare Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agia Pelagia, Heraklion Crete | 71500 Agia Pelagia Heraklion Crete, Greece, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 stars 50 Reviews
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A place to be !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent place ! Great view, very comfy apartments with fabulous view overlooking the sea. Entire hotel is very cosy, friendly and relaxing. It has been our third trip to Crete and best experience so far. Walking distance to the national road makes the hotel location very comfortable for those who like to travel either with public transport (which BTW works fine) or by car. Swimming pool is very clean and never really crowded. Pool bar is a very special place where we spent few mornings for a greek coffee and quit a bit of time enjoying delicious food typical for the region. Last but not least .... the team running Pela Mare hotel: Nicos and Despina ... makes this place very special. We just felt there at home ! Despina's cuisine ..... the best ever !!!!

Room Tip: Each and every room has a beautiful view overlooking the sea. The hotel is just quiet, no worries of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and i were moved to Pela Mare from a neighbouring all inclusive hotel (which was over booked) and we were so glad for the move. We gave up our all inclusive rights at the other hotel and chose to go self catering as everything; food, drink, hospitality...everything was better at the Pela Mare!

The rooms are basic and clean, everthing you need (if your going to spend all day indoors watching tv then stay at home?). The swimming pools where kept clean and the views from the pool/bar area are amazing (likewise from our room balcony).

The staff (and their families) are amazingly friendly and we have never felt more welcome and looked after. We definatly hope to go back and have reccomended this hotels to our family.

Forget the tour operators and book direct. The hotel manager (Despina) at Pela Mare took much better care of us throughout our stay than our tour operator did!

The walk back from the beach and tavernas is a killer, but there is no need to go anywhere when the best chef in Agia Pelagia is at the Pela Mare!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We've been there for a week. First in the season. Everything was prepared with top quality and the time spent there was a pleasure. Walking down to the town is tiring but you can get used to it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

we had an apartment that should have been 1 bedroom but this was not seperate from the rest of the apartment. when we arrived our shower did not work and the toilet was leaking, when we left a week later this was still the case. there are lots of different apartments as we had family staying there so we saw the other sizes, decor etc. it looks like they have done up some of the rooms but our certainly hadnt. we found dirty glasses and cutlery in the cupboard and the general cleanliness was not great. I had to ask after 4 days to have our towels changed!! we asked the one member of staff and the owner on a number of occasions to get our toilet fixed but nothing really happened. we also had to ask them to clean the childrens pool out as it was dirty. the pool area/ bar looks lovely and the outside of the apartments do but i think they are seriously under staffed and are not doing everything they should be doing. the village is OK but not as nice as other resorts we have been to. there are a few shops selling toot and approx 14 tavernas all generally the same.DO NOT VISIT THE KRI KRI TAVERNA WHICH IS THE FIRST ONE YOU COME TO AND SELLS FISH- THE OWNWER IS VERY RUDE AND RIPS PEOPLE OFF- AVOID AT ALL COSTS!! the beach is about 15/20 min walk and there is a killer steep hill coming back up. if you havent got a car throughout your stay i would not recommend this hotel. a/c is 4 euros per day. there is not toaster and we had 2 plates and 2 cups in our kitchen!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautifully clean one bed appartment,fantastic view,nice cold crystal clear pool;Nicos the owner looked after any request and will definitely go back
The complex is set on about the highest point of Agia Pelagia so if you dont get a car be prepared to walk the twenty mins to the resort,half an hour back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stunning location, perched high on the hill, views are amazing. Apartments are basic as you would expect from Greek self-catering, however, they are spotlessly clean. The pool is wonderful, cleaned daily. Nice pool bar with breakfast/snacks available. Nicos the owner is very friendly and helpful re local knowledge, if you have a question re buses, directions etc he will be happy to help you. I cannot find fault with these apartments and struggle to recognise the review below as the same place that we have just stayed in.

We met several people who were staying at the nearby Panorama who were very unhappy, poor food, dirty pool, rats etc.

As regards Agia Pelagia as a resort it is very relaxed, maybe too quiet for some but suited us perfectly. Some great restaurants, try Bravo, Muragio and Socrates...all good. George makes great cocktails at the Classico bar. Taxis are expensive, but petrol is dear out there at the moment. The local bus service from the National Rd is very efficient - the bus actually comes on time - a result for Greece!

We would recommend Agia Pelagia and particularly Pela Mare apartments to anyone as they are such welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Having booked at the Panorama hotel we were asked to stay at Pela Mare for one night as they were fully booked. Trust me one night was too much!!

See the attached photos for the visual delights of the grotty bedsit we were given after being told we were being given a 'superior room'. Just the sight of them should make your mind up for you!

Needless to say we will never go back and would recommend no one else to go either. The other two reviews on here amazed me to be honest!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pela Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Mare Hotel

Address: Agia Pelagia, Heraklion Crete | 71500 Agia Pelagia Heraklion Crete, Greece, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pela Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and peaceful apartment complex that offers hotel services. Ideal for families, couples of all ages and travelers who wish to explore the island. Pela Mare Hotel is a 360o view, apartment complex in the village of Agia Pelagia situated on a hilltop only 950 meters away from two distinct and wonderful sandy beaches. The captivating garden apartments create a relaxed atmosphere surrounded by breathtaking scenery. Families and couples will find here the ideal surroundings for their summer holidays. Moreover lovers of nature and culture will find our Agia Pelagia hotel as an ideal starting point for sightseeing tours, outings,walks and excursions. At the area of Agia Pelagia and Heraklion you can find many shops, as well as many places where you can enjoy a good lunch or a drink afterwards. The hotel's pool bar operates all day from 7:00 A.M to 1:00 AM offering delicious and rich buffet breakfast, coffee, refreshments and delicious snacks. At noon our cook prepares special dishes and menus with an emphasis in the world renowned traditional cretan cuisine. If you wish to experience the genuine meditaranean diet this is the place to be! At night the serenic atmosphere of the pool area is uniquely combined with the wonderful variety of local wines and special coctails. Our Agia Pelagia hotel offers 21 spacious apartments and 3 wonderful studios all of them with a large balcony overlooking the sea and the pool. With a total area of 11,000 square meters, there are 5 separate neighbourhoods ran through by colourful gardens, a pool surrounded by palm trees and a scenic children's pool. All Hotel apartments are air-conditioned and have kitchenette with refrigerator and free Wi-Fi internet is available across all areas of the hotel. Our Agia Pelagia hotel is suitable for Crete family breaks as well a romantic Crete holiday for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pela Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pela Mare Hotel Crete/Agia Pelagia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pela Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.