We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great Service, Great Food - A Great Place to Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa to your Saves list
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great Service, Great Food - A Great Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful week at the Sensimar Sea Side resort. We arrived to warm welcome and porterage to our room. We had booked a “superior sea view” room, which should probably be called a “breathtaking” or “exceptional” sea view room as the sea view and the way the hotel has been designed to resemble a small local village, rather than row after row of hotel rooms, is incredibly beautiful. There is easy access to the local beach (an evaluator to just above beach level) and we would recommend snorkelling where we saw swarms of fish, starfish and other sea life quite close to a shingle, but quite delightful, beach.
The food was both varied and delicious. The special “Cretian” food area, offering local delicacies and “show” food areas, where the chefs prepared and cooked for you while you watched, were particular favourites. We specifically wanted a quiet relaxing holiday to de-stress and the separation of an activity pool and a relaxation pool was perfect for us. The ambience of the hotel was just right, appropriate local or soft music instead of loud novelty songs and the barman/barmaid at the idyllic Thalassa pool bar always had a smile and time to talk, in what seemed to be any language, while pouring a wide range of drinks to suit any taste.
The spa area is compact in comparison to other spa resort hotels but offered steam room, sauna, indoor pool with jacuzzis, massage, facials and the usual other treatments. The spa treatments could not be considered cheap but the therapists clearly knew their specialisation and we went back twice for massages/facials during our stay.
There was not a domination of any one nationality staying at the hotel and the variety of guests from different countries again added to the overall ambience. However, the single factor that set the Sensimar Sea Side out as exceptional and has already caused us to recommend the hotel to our friends was the attitude of the staff and management. We experienced a genuine desire to help ensure every guest had a fantastic holiday; a commitment to address any issues; smiles and warmth. The hotel has the marketing tagline “my house by the sea” and we felt “at home” at the hotel. However, when welcomed into a house you must respect your hosts and we noticed that ranting and raving about the smallest things and not being respectful will get you about as far as it would in any true 5 star resort!
If you want loads of local bars where hen parties and stag groups are getting drunk; feel the need to dance inanely to loud music, want a “Thomson style kids club”, somewhere to drunkenly belt out karaoke or a lively local nightlife outside of the hotel then do not go to the Sensimar sea side spa and resort, there are plenty of other places on the Crete coast. However, if you want to holiday in a small piece of paradise, where the stresses of the real world start to melt as soon as you enter and you can relax and enjoy yourself then we whole-heartily recommend the Sensimar Sea Side.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    295
    104
    55
    33
See reviews for
228
527
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here from late July to early August for a two week all inclusive holiday. The food was great with lots of choice in both the hot and cold section. All the staff have a nothing is too much trouble attitude which makes you feel very looked after. The views are to die for, everywhere you look it's just stunning. The hotel and room was kept very clean and tidy with lots of staff working very hard. No matter what time of day we went to the pool we had no trouble finding sun beds which, from past experience in other hotels, this is very unusual. The evenings were great, sitting in the comfy chairs sipping cocktails and watching the sun go down, bliss! We have not felt so chilled out for years and will definately go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Just returned from 11 nights at this hotel. Overall, an excellent holiday. Weather superb, very very hot so a problem when power failed and air con stopped working! Staff in restaurant fantastic-helpful, pleasant and very friendly. Two big downsides were that we were under the impression the hotel didn't take bookings for children under 16. Marvellous we thought! Sadly, there were lots of chilldren there who were very noisy especially at the relaxing pool which was a shame. The other problem was that we coulcn't keep our room for a late check out as the hotel was full. We were told we could shower in the fitness changing rooms. Absolute nightmare-shower didn't work properly, light on a timer went out after 10 seconds, boiling hot (no air con) so getting dry and dressed after was very difficult. That said, we had a wonderful holiday and I would recommend it to anyone looking for relaxation, excellent food and good staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

enjoyed a very relaxing holiday with friends at the sensimar,staff very friendly at the small pool bar;Maria, Stavros,John and Vlad gave us excellent service, always with a smile. The view from the poolside was awesome,the food was varied and tasty and freshly baked bread was delicous! Wine was typically greek and not brilliant, did not go to the entertainment area at night we preferred to chat by the small pool bar and watch the moonlight over the water.The remote location might be a problem for those who prefer lively nightlife or who have mobility problems.AFARISTO (THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Just returned from a wks stay at the Sensimar Seaside Resort.My husband and I was very impressed with the service at the resort.
We arrived just before 11pm and was greeted and checked in very quickly then took via a car to our room even though it was a short distance,on arrival we were also told that we could go to the restaurant (even though it was closed) and they had laid on plates of "cold food" which turned out to be plates of meat and salad which we thought was good.There was also a fruit basket and champagne in the room.
All we wanted from this holiday (honeymoon) was rest & relaxation and that is exactly what we got.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and the fridge was filled with water and soft drinks every other day.The food was good in the main restaurant and also by the pool bar.The staff were always friendly and never rushed you with your food or took your plates unless you
were finished.
We were expecting the quiet pool to be just that but unfortunately it always had kids in so we decided to go to the main pool and actually found this to be quiter (children wise) although there was music on most of the time which we didnt mind.The staff bought round fruit kebabs and ice cold slush drinks which we thought was a nice touch.
The daytime entertainment is ok but if your like me and like a good book and to sunbathe this is the place to be.My husband took part in some of the games like French bowls and ping pong and really enjoyed it thanks to Mario who always took time out to come and have a chat.
There is entertainment at the theatre every night but very basic.There is a childrens disco then family entertainment afterwards but even though very basic they always made us laugh.The only downside is that there is no toilet facilities so as soon as i needed the toilet we left as i didnt want to wander around the complex on my own otherwise i would of been happy to stay till the end.
You are allowed 1 free visit to the Chinese restaurant and this was the only downside to our visit..we saved this night hoping we could have a nice romantic meal but it was awful.The service was great but my husband ordered the chicken wings to start and when they came and he cut into them they were dripping with blood when we sent them back even the waitress was unsure the 2nd lot wouldnt be like that so he opted for something else but the food went downhill from there although that has no bearing on the maain restaurant where we never had a complaint about the food.
The hotel is quite secluded but has everything you need for an all inclusive hotel.
We booked 1 trip through the hotel rep "Sunshine cruise " which was ok but doesnt go very far (actually you end up just round the corner from the resort)
Overall i would go back to the Sensimar without a doubt if you are after relaxation and absolutely stunning views this is the place to book dont let the few negative reviews put you off (like it nearly did me) as this hotel was one of the best i have been to and an unforgettable honeymoon

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Service was excellent, room very clean and done daily. Stunning views and the web site photoes are for real, absolutely breathtaking. we travelled with my 5 and 7 year old and were delighted with the staff and how welcome they made us feel. Both my children were spoiled rotten and absolutely loved the animation team and kids club. the top pool has avtivities and is for the more lively guest or also just as good for sun bathing. The music can be a little loud at times, but it is still the best pool for families. This is also the AI area for snacks and drinks. Lovely selction each day. The lower pool also has amazing views and is quieter with a bar that serves drinks.
The hotel provides a daily bus that goes into the capital - excellent for shopping.

We went for a relaxing break and we certainly had one.We would definitiely recommend this hotel and would go again. To sum up; great staff, location, food and rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel is located in a very beautiful place with a great snorkling and diving possibilities. The views are outstanding and you do not feel that there are many people there, there are a lot of places to go. The food was very good, especially breakfasts and fish dishes, maybe they could work more on meat. Great selection of salads, we definitely enjoyed that, but the wine was rather poor, especially the red one. We tried the chinese restaurant, which we found closer to the chinese bar the the real restaurant, the food was not bad, but nothing to remember. The limited choice of food during the complimentary dinner seemed ridiculous for us in a five star hotel. The pools were nice, we liked the animations, especially water gym and water polo. The animation team very friendly and taking care of the guests. The only exception from the nice and friendly people was the lady at the reception always saying "ok" with a strange, annoying melody, and sometimes lying to us, for example about the internet, which was not working at all.

The only very bad experience for us was the large group of Israeli people including a group of teenagers with no adults accompanying them. That group turned the nice and quiet pool area into a nightmare (daymare in fact :)), yelling to each other, fighting in the pool, throwing ice cream or warer melon to the pool. The hotel staff reacted with a significant delay and following some complaints from guests. Otherwise poeple from different nations were very nice, we met a German family, great people, and we also played water polo with a very friendly people from Italy. I do not agree with the reviews from ladywren and loverofluxury about the Russian people. They were nice and behaved properly, we didn't notice any unpleasant behaviour beside the aforementioned Israeli group.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Address: Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.