We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended with a few points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Agia Pelagia
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommended with a few points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently returned from a six night stay at Sea Side Resort & Spa. This was right at the end of season just before it closed for the Winter. It was not too crowded and was very relaxing.
The views are spectacular and exactly what we were looking for. The location is a bit remote, so best to hire a car if you want to explore outside the resort. The room was clean and comfortable with a balcony that overlooked the sea. The power is switched off every time you leave, so worth knowing if you're trying to charge cameras and phones etc. The mini bar is meant to be topped up with water and soft drinks every two days, but wasn't.
The wifi didn't work at all in the room, but could be accessed in the public areas. When we asked at reception about the wifi, they weren't very helpful and a bit rude.
The buffet food was terrific and varied. It's the first time we've had an all inclusive deal and it was really impressive. The staff in the kitchen and restaurant were really friendly and every meal was a pleasure. Only trouble is it's too nice and you end up eating too much ;) Beware the horrible orange juice which is really cordial. Everything else lovely.
The spa can only be accessed if you pay extra for a treatment. It's a shame everyone can't have automatic access to the indoor pool/steam room/jacuzzi etc as expected.
The only really annoying thing about this place was the entertainment staff...they were incredibly loud and quite rude at times. They had really screechy voices/laugh that grated. They seemed quite slack as they often just sat around drinking. This is at odds with an otherwise classy, beautiful, relaxing, romantic and enjoyable destination. We would definitely consider going again in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view worth getting and if you can stretch to a private pool room even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    220
    82
    43
    27
See reviews for
174
393
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were at the seaside resort and spa one week ago for 8 day because of our anniversary the hotel
Is located on a cliff which its the second best thing there , and i think that u asking your self , so what is the first best thing at this hotel ,,,, !!! ! ?, the best thing is the ( food ) , alot of kind of food every thing just make a wish , the food was so fantastic and very delicious and everytime we ate at the seaside we would not want to think that the holiday going to finish some time , the rooms is under the standard , the pools so good , the snack bar pool side is great , The pizza at the oven out of the resturant is one of the teasty pizzas that i ate in my life , the entertainment staff are so poor they doesnt made a good program and every night put a big stereo music at the bar and don't do anything just sitting with the female guest's of the hotel and bla bla bla bla , i was at another hotel Ll inclusive and it wasn't like this hotel don't care about the people who really came to enjoy ...so replace them --- but as one who love to eat the money that i paid is worth the food i ate lol..
Enjoy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our second visit to the Seaside and once again we were not disappointed. The food in the hotel was superb with a tremendous choice at every meal. The Greek sweets were particularly good. The only downside was the Chinese restaurant which was not up to the standard of our previous visit. The staff were all helpful and attentive, in particular the main bar staff and the waiters in the dining room. Our room was spacious and clean, while not being over luxurious. The views from all parts of the hotel are stunning. We will be back again soon and perhaps by this time the broadband will have improved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic location, spectacular seascapes, excellent room with balcony and view of sea. Restaurant food fabulous. Varied choice with Cretan specialities [highly recommended] First time all inclusive food 24/7.in a variety of locations, including freshly cooked pizza. Staff hard working and very friendly. Food and Beverage Supremo, Giorgios, hands-on manager in restaurant each meal time with attention to every detail. Congratulations! you have got it right. praise indeed from a former restaurant owner !! I WILL RETURN

Room Tip: Rooms around lower pool area quieter and have spectacular, uninterrupted sea views, close to pool ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our family has been at this hotel last week ,amazing view the sea is everywhere . we recomand kolinarium restaurant specially the waiters Maria with a endless smile. Iraklio city was 30 min far away with a car .we love it.

Room Tip: "rooms with a private pool are the best"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I'm staying in this hotel for a one week vacation, the hotel has beautiful views to sea from everywhere, it is the largest hotel plus. Room was enough big, but not 5 star standart, the bed was broken and over staying time, it is not repaired. TV in room was old generation, not flat screen. But keep in mind that this is not a luxury 5-star hotel. The hotel area is tidy and beautiful with a lot of pools- lazy and active pool. Food was good and tasty and very tasty sweet cakes. All inclusive alcohol was not so good, wine and beer was ok,, but local spirits like wisky, brandy was not very good, but it is possible to purchase for additional cost of any import alcohol. The hotels beach was clean and beautiful. Overall i have nice rest at the hotel, the price what i paid for hotel complies with the quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is not too young, rooms are not modern, but clean. Towels are changing every day, mini bar every second day, air condition works properly.

Good points:
Amazing view from every part of the hotel.
Service, guys in restaurants and bars are very friendly and professional. The best girls in pool bar - Alexandra and Lobby bar - Go Go (she does the best coffee in the world!)
Excellent food! A LOT to choice - everyone can enjoy.
The hotel has rent a car point, good prices and helpful guy there.

Bad points:
The hotel is located away from Agia Pelagia, you can go there by foot (go to the stairs opposite the hotel and go up, there is the way, you don't have to go by main road - I don't know why ladies on the reception give false information that you have to go by the road... by the way they don't seem to be nice). Or you can go there by bus - 2.5E pp one way, this is ridiculous in the 5star hotel you have to pay for a bus.
The animation... very poor, they don't care about people, give you a ball and play water polo, no one count scores or anything, and three animations guys play darts in the same time... They don't take a part in their job. They drink all day and night
with guests - maybe it's allowed... but doesn't look good.
Drinks from 23pm to 1 am you have to pay. 5star hotel!
No playground for kids.


We recommend this hotel, but not like a 5star and not for this price.
But rent a car and go to see Crete, especially Balos Lagoon and The Dourakis Winery!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Address: Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#1 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.