We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa to your Saves list
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mazkeret-Batia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located. The view is something you can't forget. But too many stairs. The food is the problem of the hotel. Many items but without any guiding line.
After 3 days we were bored with the food.
The rooms are clean and well maintained, the air-condition is not strong enough, in the evening it will take some time till the room is cool.
The reception staff is nice but why do they shout?
Guest relation is nice, but in the moment he realized that he won't make any commission out of you (e.g. you rented your own car etc.) he became unpleasant.
Pools are something you can't forget.
The bar-tenders at the pool are nice and very polite (the Mojito was 10)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    296
    105
    55
    33
See reviews for
229
530
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 7 days family of 4. Excellent resort. Rooms are great all with stunning views of the sea. Clean an well maintained. The Aircon is a but slow but no real problem. Food is great buffet, u can book the chinesse rest once p/stay. The staff always helpfull and smilling. Great upper pool for kids. Lower pool quieter and more relaxed. There is a beach 5 min walk down. Beautiful turqoise clear water, great snorkeling, bring your gear. Also a diving club u can do intro dives or bring your license. 2 chairs and umbrella, 6€ all day.
I am deffinetly comming back with kids and also without, will give the private swites with private pool and view a try. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irákleio, Iraklion, Greece
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

the hotel is perfect with smiling staff and nice rooms, has several pools, axogo SERVICE, all rooms are excellent, the staff is always willing to exypiretisei to really experience the Cretan hospitality, I strongly recommend to episkefteitai.alitheia worth the money stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We weren't sure that an all inclusive was for us so we tried it out with just three nights here and sure enough it wasn't was for us but is a nice hotel. First off, it kind of under delivered given we arrived thinking it was five star - can't remember now if it does really say it is or if we just picked up that impression along the way. Anyway, it isn't. Four star yes as is v nice but it lacks the style and options of a five star. The room was pleasant and roomy, no wow factor but with a smart bathroom. Service was really friendly and helpful. Reception were lovely when my husband wanted some cream and plasters for a minor injury and the restaurant staff were crazy busy but very pleasant. I was disappointed to see just one beer and one red and one white wine were on offer as included in the deal for those who want wine or beer. I didn't much like any of them (husband happy though - I am a little fussier!) and expected a couple of options. As a veggie I ate similar meals for each lunch and dinner. A week would have been tedious for me but the quality of the food was at the top of our expectations, lovely fresh salads, fab soft bread, nice cheese and husband found most of the meat to be good. The pool area got quite busy and it wasn't high season but that said we did get loungers ok each day. Was a bit disappointed at so many children at what I thought was an adults only pool. Basically, wouldn't go back but would recommend for people that like an all inclusive break - it was v nice and is in a beautiful spot - many of the rooms (even our one at the cheap end of the spectrum) have sea views and the pool area looks out to sea and is a beautiful vista.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

On arrival we were given an upgrade to a suite as one was available. The spa was our first port of call to book numerous treatments all of which were reasonable in price and fantastically administered. We enjoyed it so much we tried to book more before we left but were unlucky as others beat us to it.
I recommend having the a la carte dinner on the balcony. The staff treat you like royalty and look after your every whim.
The views are spectacular and the hotel very clean.

I recommend the renting of a car to explore the region, it was a great experience for us.

Please visit...you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior suite overlooking the rock...all you hear at night is water lapping against it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

recently spent a week the weather was amazing and the views were spectacular. The hotel was understaffed and lacked 5 star quality. Our room was basic but very clean but lacked security of which were brought to hotels attention our room was more unlocked than locked! The chinese food was awful albeit the service was good. The "Al A Carte" was not priced and no menus of same were available but after the food in chinese I would not have put myself in another disappointed position. Food in restaurant was okay and you could always find something again this did not touch 5 star rating. That said the staff in restaurant were always pleasant. would I return no and would I recommend no because i went out here for my weddiing anniversary and sent mails to hotel prior to arrival twice with requests which remain unanswered and surely this must result in the lack of 5 star service to be recd before arrival and during your stay at this hotel

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

From the moment I booked this holiday, my family and I were very much looking foward to it after reading the previous trip advisor reviews. Also the hotels own website showed very impressive photographs. We were so excited. However, I am very dissapointed in having to only give his hotel a 3/5.

Positives

* Oustanding location and just the most amazing views from every angle
* Comfortable rooms
* Lovely pizza's and snacks lunch time at the Pelagos pool
* Fun animation team
* Close to a shingle beach with a small selection of bars/restaurants
* Nice pool areas
* Guaranteed sunshine

Negatives

* Food is rarely hot and selection is inadequate for a 5* hotel. Much of it is the same with a couple of changes daily
* Limited fresh fruit available, generally tinned or sliced oranges/melon only.
* Constantly at Breakfast, there was a queue for the fresh orange juice (where 1 jug was brought out at a time)
* Although generally the staff including the animation team work hard, there is not enough of them to cater for 700 plus guests, particulary at peak times
* No money exchange facility available in the hotel. We needed to exchange sterling and I asked at reception for assistance. I was advised to go to a bank in Heraklion. However, on speaking to a waiter at Stelios's restaurant on the beach (which is excellent), we found out the Blue Bay Hotel opposite exchanges money for you.
* The water in your shower can fluctuate between hot and cold if using at peak times
* The air conditioning unit is very slow to get the required temperature. Always ask for a second room card so you can leave the air conditioning on when out of the room
* No menus were available for the 2 'pay' restaurants on site unless you ask. Would have been nice to ponder over them during the course of the holiday.This is not 5*!
* We found the quality of the food in the chinese restaurant very poor. Again poor to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in.

To sum up, if you manage to secure a good deal i.e £700 per person er less for a fortnight and you are planning to eat out a few nights each week, the location i.e views are oustanding and are worth paying for. Fortunately, we planned to eat out a number of times during the holiday and were not restricted to the hotel 24/7. After speaking to returning guests,who had mixed reviews of the hotel on their return, it appears that the hotels standards have dropped over the last couple of years.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Address: Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.