We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned and already want to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Agia Pelagia
Nes Ziona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just returned and already want to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We (family of 4, daughters 23 and 20 years old) spent a short vacation (too short) at this resort. We arrived on a Thursday morning and left Sunday evening. We travel a lot and stayed in many hotels in Europe and the States, but this was undoubtedly one of our best holidays. The hotel is beautiful with a wonderful view of the sea and mountains. The rooms were spacious, modern, nicely decorated and we also had a room with access to a private pool, which was a special treat. The hotel is all inclusive and turned out to provide by far more than what we expected –a lot of food, drinks, refreshments, cocktails, wine, beer and more –Everything truly free of charge with NO small letters to restrict inclusive services! Moreover, not only quantities are offered but also qualities, as the food is really excellent- lots of choices and all very tasty. The hotel staff is very kind, polite and helpful, which makes your holiday particularly enjoyable.
We also liked the fact that the hotel is very close (5 min walk) to a wonderful beach, and that while the resort is separated, it is close enough to Heraklion. We took a public bus on a Saturday morning and combined a visit to the Heraklion Bazaar with a visit to Knossos. We returned by Taxi in the evening (30 Euro). Quite uniquely, we were also invited to use the entire hotel’s facilities, including food, after our check out time, as we were waiting for our late evening flight.
In summary- highly recommended –we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    220
    82
    43
    27
See reviews for
173
393
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Jessica ,10,Liverpool.
It was my first time this year, at Sea Side Resort & Spa and it was amazing.
The pools were superb, I was swimming all day long. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.The only thing I would coment on , is the food choice for children. The entertainment at night was brill as well as the animation team.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Was due to holiday at Sea Side Resort today for one week...Received a phonecall from Travel Agent at 5 p.m. last night to say hotel was double-booked. We did see the hotel available on another well known website and rang them who said hotel was available (1 room left), however on telephoning hotel direct to check they said DO NOT book it as hotel was full??? Not sure at the end of the day whose fault this was but would like to make travellers aware of this situation. Check and double check before leaving in case you get there and no rooms!!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We spent five wonderful days and we would definitely visit it again. Perfect place for families, friends, couples. We had a room with its own swimming pool and had absolutely everything we needed ! Even a welcome fruit basket and a bottle of wine! The service was the best and we would consider a kind of disadvantage the food! The variety was so great and the quality so good, we left with some weight more ! There was a Cretan corner, as well as a bio and a diet one. Also a Chinese of which we are fans!
The room was more than spacious and spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with its own swimming pool, with a view to the sea. Ours was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We visited this hotel last year and had difficulties on a daily basis, and duly reported these, on this site. It is a hotel in a perfect setting for a relaxing holiday, and on our return this year, that's exactly what we found. It was the same hotel, in the same location, but the experience could not have been more diffferent than last year - now under the management of Mr Chnaris - and it shows!

The staff were simply excellent, in particular Mr Kalaitzis who is in charge of the dining area, and who always spoke to us and was keen to have feedback from us about the food and service in the dining room - both of which were excellent.

Any difficulties we had (for eg a problem with the air conditioning) were dealt with immediately, by the superb Customer Relations Advisor, Elsa who is just brilliant at her job, and does everything to ensure a perfect holiday - my tip: in in doubt ask Elsa!

This year it was the perfect holiday in the perfect setting and this year we did have the perfect holiday, and this is clearly down to the very hard work of Mr Chnaris and his team who have turned this hotel around, and we look forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I don’t usually write reviews about places I intend to return to because I like to keep them secret.(Over 10 winter visits to the Cordial Mogan Playa in Gran Canaria, no review, look it up you’ll get the picture). I have to write this because it is only fair that everything I criticised about this hotel last year has been acknowledged and addressed. What a difference a year makes. We stayed in the same VIP suite as last year simply because it is one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in in Greece. Having previously stayed in 3 of the private pool suites at the St Nicolas Bay (married there in 2001), we feel well placed to compare. The SeaSide hotel is considerably cheaper and although last year we understood why, this year it has been whipped into shape and managed by a master.

No problems with room allocation. No hassle checking in, we were taken straight to our rooms (my mother had a sea view room nearby, again with breathtaking views from the balcony) and spent a very relaxing afternoon unpacking, simultaneously keeping an eye on our 6 year old swimming in the pool on the terrace. The terrace is of a sufficient size to avoid a soaking from him despite his best efforts. Given the amount of water he manage to expel from the pool I would have completely understood if the hotel wanted to put our room on a chargeable water meter.

Whilst we were prepared for food similar to last year we were taken aback by the improvement in the food quality in the main restaurant. Despite the invitation to dine in the a la carte restaurants every evening (they invite all the guests who have booked VIP rooms to do this) we ate in the main restaurant most evenings. For young children this is the best dining option. The staff are 5 star, friendly and courteous and we enjoyed our little chats with Mr Kalaitzis the restaurant manager, who took the trouble to pass some time with us each day. Without him we would never have known about the taxi strike! The only way to describe him is an absolute gentleman.

Whilst Cretan Corner in the main restaurant was good last year too, the rest of the options have improved in quality. The freshly made pizza is absolutely fantastic although I’d advise early dining to have your pick. It’s also easier to get a table outside earlier. Our son is an infuriatingly fussy eater but we watched amazed as he had several visits to the buffet.

Breakfast is still good. I can’t even moan about the juice, I had to carry 3 different juices for my son most mornings. Lunch was equally good. Always freshly cooked meat, fish or vegetables and lots of salad options, but thankfully always an authentic Greek salad. The bread is still fantastic and we learnt they bake it at the hotel 3 times a day. My tip is to get a small dessert dish from the dessert corner and take your pick from the oil selection (the garlic one is lovely) for dipping.. The ciabatta bread is particularly good for this.

We ate at the a la carte restaurant , the Kulinarium twice, the second time a new menu was introduced which was fantastic. You can choose from a meat, fish, lobster, vegetarian or children’s menu, cooked to perfection. There is a wine list for the restaurant at extra cost but you can still have the all inclusive drinks too. Whist the wine list is great, the house wine is lovely. Anyone who knows me will roll their eyes at my wine fussiness and I usually order lager or soft drinks after a sip of Greek white wine and to actually look forward to a bottle of house white in a Greek hotel is a first for me. It is also a first for us to have a la carte options included in an all inclusive option.

Our pool was cleaned daily and the main pools were also very clean. If you like peace and quiet ask for a room away from the Pelagos pool. The Thalassa pool is much quieter and you can move from your sun bed to a shady table near the bar under the trees looking out over the bay. The mini bar was filled up daily by a very attentive and cheerful man and we never ran low on bottled water which you really do need in the heat.

The other guests were less concerning than last year (mostly French this year) and the one hint of unruly behaviour was stamped out quickly. Due to the disparity in cost between the land view rooms and the pool rooms, there is a wide variety of guest. There are still a few guests who are perplexed at having to wear long trousers for dinner . In a 5 star hotel anywhere this is commonplace. If this is a rule you are not familiar with, this is perhaps not the hotel for you.. My advice is to book the best room you can. Combined with the fantastic weather, views and food (and wine), you‘ll be glad you did. The VIP suites are worth every penny. My greatest tip is email the reservations department in advance as they may even consider a small reduction in the rates if you book early enough.

I could go on but as I’m now more than a little worried about getting my room next year I’ll leave it at that.
Essentially this hotel has had a thorough clean up and Mr Chnaris and team, we salute you. I do have a complaint though, I now have to squeeze another gym session in to my week to work off my indulgences in the delicious food and wine!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had a fantastic holiday at this hotel, staff were really good, food was great, the views are outstanding. The small animation team worked very hard to ensure that there was something for everyone and visitors were encouraged to take part in the small sketches, which was fun. When we stayed there wasnt many British visitors, predominately Russian and French. It is relatively quiet but certainly not dead, we were there for 2 weeks, with a 13 yr old and 10 yr old and we all had a really good holiday. Wouldnt recommend for anyone with walking difficulties or push chairs as there is a lot of stairs or steep ramps within the hotel complex. Certainly would go back here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa

Address: Mononaftis Area, Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece (Formerly Sea Side Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#1 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHC Sea Side Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.