We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Spacious room but somewhat dark and dingy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger to your Saves list
Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Von-Richthofen-Strasse 18, 66849 Landstuhl, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Landstuhl
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location. Spacious room but somewhat dark and dingy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Positive:
1. Great location in heart of Landstuhl.
2. Bakery restaurant owned by hotel is excellent - try the strudel with cream. Breakfast was
fair.
4. Friendly owners.
3. Free WiFi

Negative
1. Wifi didn't work from my third floor dormer room.
2. The place was somewhat dark and dingy.
3. Old stained carpet that was in need of a cleaning.

Room Tip: Not the dormer rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We've stayed here several times and each time they've taken great care of us. The location is wonderful, so close to good restaurants and shopping. Their breakfast was always great. We had two cats with us last time and they were very accommodating. I have very happy memories of staying at the Goldinger and hope we get a chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you want charming quarters, true German ambiance, English-speaking and exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff, then this is the place to go. It is a small hotel with attached restaurant for breakfast and lunch and a bakery, but it has the feel of staying in a German home with new friends. I loved looking out the open windows at the view of the residential area where the hotel is located. We chose this hotel based on positive reviews on TripAdvisor (we are from Tucson, Arizona). Our experience exceeded our expectations. We were visiting Landstuhl to visit son in the U.S. Air Force. The hotel is secure--outside key entry only. The location is perfect--very easy walking distance to downtown and many shops and restaurants. We found the hotel to be very quiet; we were seldom aware of other guests although the hotel was booked full. The staff were universally friendly and helpful. For example, when I could not reach my son's cell phone, a staff member tried using his cell phone to connect for me. Twice after that, when son was unable to get through to us, a staff member brought her phone to our room and offered to let me use it and also gave me a message from my son that they were on their way to our hotel. How many big hotels would have staff members interrupt their cooking/baking or front desk tasks to bring a message to the room?
There is a very limited parking area outside the back door and there is a large (free) parking lot just across the street available as well. The room we were in was relatively roomy, with a small "mini-bar" refrigerator that we used as well. There is a bistro table with tablecloth and flower on it, two chairs plus a desk and 3rd chair. One drawer in the desk locks for valuables. There is a roomy wardrobe to hang clothes in and a small bench plus 2-shelf nook near the door for items and small luggage. The room, carpeted, and bathroom, marble, were exceptionally clean. Bath has a glass shower. Two twin size beds each with a feather comforter were placed side by side. Although the mattress was too firm to my taste, my spouse thought it was fine. There were two pillows to each bed. We did appreciate the free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is included in the price, which made the room a bargain. Since the dining room is open until 6:30 pm, you can eat supper there if you choose an early supper which we did twice. All the food was superb, home-cooked, and the staff were eager to please your palate. We had "brunch" complete with eggs and ham, fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereals and juices each morning (as noted, included in the room charge). My spouse loved the coffee. I was happy with the selection of teas. We did not stay here for our entire week in Germany as son obtained air force base hotel for us, but my spouse was very sad to leave and wished we were staying at Goldinger's the entire time. You can't get better ratings than that! If we were ever in the area again, we would for sure stay again at this fantastic small hotel. Our best memories of Germany are linked to our stay at Goldinger's.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2, on the corner, first floor, near the back door where there is some parking. Wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Small hotel, but very friendly staff and excellent breakfasts! Rooms were small and simple, but clean. Noise travelled from room to common area, but could not hear from room to room. Not a big issue as there was little traffic through the common areas off hours. Good location close to restaurants in town. Free wifi was a nice plus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the second time. Location is great, rooms are good size and clean, staff speaks english and is very accommodating and the breakfast is good (5 euros). We arrived about midnight and although the doors were closed and the lights off, we knocked, and a very nice gentleman opened up and showed us to our rooms. The next morning, we arrived a half hour before breakfast was to be served and the lady allowed us to eat anyway. The only reasons for the markdown were the fact that there are no alarm clocks in the room. I used my phone, the first night. I asked for a wake up call and found out that my phone wasnt working on the second. The third night I was given an alarm clock (which was fine). All in all, except for the clock, the hotel is lovely, as are the staff and I would definitely stay there again (but I would bring a clock)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Charleston, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Very, very, very clean small hotel with its own restaurant...breakfast was included in the price, anything you could possibly want, including made-to-order eggs...lots of parking, extremely polite and helpful staff, all speak good English...room was good-sized and spotless, nice bathroom, no-charge wi-fi...no refrig or microwave so not suitable for longer stays...also, no elevator...close to the bases...it was 50 Euro for a single.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

In business on Landstuhl, a small town near some large US bases, we stayed at the Goldinger in the town centre. The hotel is fairly small but the rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. Free wifi and satellite TV in each room. Price 55€ for a single room including breakfast. Free car parking is available across the street. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the stay was very pleasant. The hotel also has its own cafe - excellent Kaffee and Kuchen and selection of traditional German confectionary and bakery. Recommended if visiting this area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger

Address: Von-Richthofen-Strasse 18, 66849 Landstuhl, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Landstuhl
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Landstuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cafe Konditorei Goldinger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.