We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat in a busy area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Hotel Landstuhl

Schloss Hotel Landstuhl
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Schloss Hotel Landstuhl to your Saves list
Schloss Hotel Landstuhl
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Burgweg 10 | Schloss Hotel Landstuhl, 66849 Landstuhl, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Landstuhl
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Nice retreat in a busy area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although a bit difficult to locate, the Schloss hotel is worth the hunt. It has nice rooms, in a really comfortable woodsy location close to town and a good restaurant. Plus they take VAT forms for US military. Pets are accepted for a nominal fee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
9
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed her after landing in Germany. The hotel was located on the side of a mountain next to a castle. The castle was within walking distance on one of the nearby hiking trails. The hotel Internet was rather expensive. The television did not work, which made for a long night due to getting acclimated to the time change. I was told that they had a great breakfast but due to my schedule, was unable to partake. Bottom line: if you want a beautiful location but don't mind spending €150 a night, this is a great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a review of the restaurant - As my first dining experience in Landstuhl, my husband wanted to pick somewhere that was beautiful WITH good food. We found it. As a member of the military stationed locally, he had tried numerous places before my arrival but decided that I would enjoy the Schloss for the ambiance and local cuisine. With another couple and 3 kids between us, the service was accommodating (they made chocolate milk for 1 of the kids although not on menu) and timely. Everyone enjoyed their meals as well. The kids were able to run around the front lawn while we sat along the huge windows that make up the circular room. Lovely to enjoy our wine while watching them roll down the green expanse of lawn.

The only problem that I would point out is that on the evening we dined, there was a large private party occupying an adjoining room. Their buffet took over the area where the salad bar for the rest of the patrons was. It was difficult to determine what was part of the included salad bar and what was the other party's buffet. Not a big deal but I could see being embarrassed by easily helping yourself to other's food. Actually happened to my husband on a previous visit so he warned our group so that we did not make this mistake.

Again, service and food was very good and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Also the hotel looked lovely. Would consider using it for relatives that will be visiting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I'm actually reviewing the restaurant at the Schloss Hotel. It was recommended to us by the tourist office at the Ramstein Air Force Base.
Luckily we had rented a car with a GPS, because we NEVER would have found this place. The turn off the main road is very obscure and we missed it several times. The road up the mountain is narrow and winding.
That being said, the food at the restaurant attached to this hotel made the hunt worthwhile. It had typical German offerings. My husband had the jaegerschneitzel and I had the weinerschneitzel. Both entrees included the salad bar, which had many different and unusual choices - all delicious. Both entrees were cooked perfectly, tender and tasty. We also had two glasses of wine, mine a Reisling and my husband a Cabernet which were excellent as well.
The restaurant was very busy that night and with only two waitresses, they managed the patrons very well.
All in all, great service, food, and wine - definitely worth the trip up the mountain! About 38 Euros - very reasonable!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Recently stayed here for my brother's wedding for about 5 days. Reasonable prices, rooms are comfortable with nice linens and balconies. Bathrooms are small, but that's not unlike most other hotels in Germany. They have a decent spa and some gym equipment and you can run outdoors near the castle (Burg Nanstein) up the hill. Nice location, walking distance to the small town of Landstuhl. A bit tricky to find, the driveway is very steep, so make sure to follow your GPS.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very nice and clean rooms with exelent service. A circular restaurent with a huge fireplace in the middle is by far one of the best dining places in Landstuhl.

Room Tip: Best view facing the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Clean, cosy hotel in walking distance from the restaurants in Landstuhl. The staff is helpful, but the front desk closes at 12 pm.

See: http://www.schlosshotel-landstuhl.de

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schloss Hotel Landstuhl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Hotel Landstuhl

Address: Burgweg 10 | Schloss Hotel Landstuhl, 66849 Landstuhl, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Landstuhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Landstuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schloss Hotel Landstuhl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Schloss Hotel Landstuhl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Hotel Landstuhl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.