We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant to your Saves list
Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant
Muehlstrasse 2, 66849 Landstuhl, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Landstuhl
Yankton, South Dakota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We arrived at this location due to a reservation problem at another hotel. It's off the main road in Landstuhl up a narrow street. But the hote-restrautant is well worth the search. It's a small, very clean hotel with a small restaurant. Our room was large by German standards with a bar/frig set up. Although the hotel was near full, it seemed like we were the only ones there. Our interaction with the staff was mainly with the restaurant-bar personell who were very friendly and helpful. No one spoke great english but this was not a problem. The terrance outside of the hotel was a great place to sit and visit. The restraurant food was good but it lacked ambiance and charm of the restt of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
11
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel has large, airy, nicely decorated and impeccably clean, up to date rooms with comfortable beds, free wifi, and great windows. It has free parking and is located within walking distance of everything in the village. The food at both the complementary breakfast and in the restaurant for dinner is exceptional. We stayed here five days and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Europe and this is one of the best. I would definitely stay here again if I come through this area. My only complaint is that it does not take American Express. It does, however, take Visa.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This charming inn is a labor of love for Elisabeth Starz, the young proprietess who runs it with her husband and parents. The Starz family bought the historic mill, which dates to the 1640s, in 2003 and renovated it throughout, adding stylish features and modern amenities.

The inn has 12 guest rooms on three floors (no elevator that we could tell). We stayed in Room 2, a large corner room with a comfortable bed, views of the newly planted garden and a small but efficient bath. The inn is spotless throughout. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of most shopping and restaurants in the small, picturesque village of Landstuhl. All that was lacking was a comfortable lounge, or common room, and a computer/printer for printing out directions, boarding passes, etc.

Breakfast of cheeses, ham, sausage, cereals including muesli, juice, assorted breads, coffee and tea is included. Staff will prepare eggs and bacon on request.

A formal dining room - with fine wines, linen and crystal - serves an excellent gourmet dinner nightly. The same menu is available each evening in the adjacent casual dining area. The restaurant is a favorite with both locals and visitors and fills up on many evenings. venings. Great beer, wine and even an Eau de Vie distilled especially for Olmuhle are available.

Hotel Olmuhle appears to be popular among Americans with family or business at nearby Landstuhl Regional Medical Center and Ramstein Air Base. As we discovered, this delightful inn is also an excellent base for touring southern Germany and nearby France and Luxembourg.


Many of the Americans who stay here are visiting family members attached to Ramstein Air Base or Landstuhl Regional Medical Center.

An excellent base for touring southern Germany, Alsace and Luxembourg, Hotel Olmuhle as well as south

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Our daughter delivered a baby at the Landstuhl Regional Medical Center. We stayed in the town of Landstuhl at the OelMuehle Hotel ( which ,of course, in German is spelled with an umlaut 'O' and 'u'). The people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent, and they offer eggs without your having to ask. They gave us sekt (German Champagne) gratis when they heard the baby had been born. The evening meals were fabulous with numerous choices and the restaurant is so popular with the locals that you know that not only is it good ,but reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed at the Oelmuehle on the final night of a European tour by car, and have to say it was the most amazing, pleasant and enjoyable hotel experience i have ever had. I stay in over 20 hotels per year on business and personal trips and can hopnestly say that everything combined together made this stay my absolute favourite.

The staff were amazing, friendly, helpful. The food served int eh restaurant and for breakfast was second to none in terms of quality and presentation, and the tase exquisite. I could not recommend a better hotel anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Muehlstrasse 2, 66849 Landstuhl, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Landstuhl
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Landstuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oelmuehle Hotel-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.