We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Holzengasse 16, 83486 Ramsau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ramsau
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I apologize that this review was not made more timely.

We stayed end of August 2012. I was just amazed at the view from the hotel and our balcony. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We loved sitting on the balcony in the evening with our wine and soft comfy blankets. The hotel is situated close to most attractions in the area and the bus stop is just down the hill.

The outdoor pool was rather chilly, but still refreshing. We did not use the indoor pool. We did use the "spa" facilities where were nice but we were rather confused at how to use some of the "stations".

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The food was very good.

We definitely can't wait to come back and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz L, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment at tripadvisor. We were very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a good journey back home. We would be pleased, if we will see each other again.
best regards
Silke Roßmann
Berghotel Rehlegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    62
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
236
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, AL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I both loved and hated the Berghotel Rehlegg Hotel in Ramsau. In most categories, we loved the hotel and I would give it a “5” in just about everything, but the things we hated made our stay so unpleasant that I would give it a “1” or “O” in those categories. Hence my overall “3” rating for a superior hotel.

Pros: Located on a high mountain meadow overlooking the picturesque village of Ramsau, the hotel is one of the best we have ever visited in terms of views of and from the site. The reception and staff overall were professional, friendly and pleasant to be around. Our room was large, clean and upscale rustic, as was the entire hotel. Breakfast was top-notch, and the evening buffets had a good variety and were excellently prepared and delicious. The restaurant’s terrace, facing east, offered beautiful mountain views and was a great place not only for dinner, and also a pleasant place to while away hot summer afternoons in the shade and with a comfortable breeze. If only we could have spent the nights there instead of our room!

Cons: Unfortunately our three-night stay the first week in August was during a heat-wave that saw afternoon temperatures around 90 degrees F. In the mountains! The lack of AC made our room uncomfortable during the day and well into the night; not only did the room get very hot in the afternoon, the mattress was a heat-sink that stayed hot for hours after dark. Sleeping was difficult, to say the least. Another time of the year, and this would not be a problem, but I would never again consider staying there again in July or August. Fans in the rooms might help, but I did not think of this until after we checked out. They were not offered, so I don’t know if any are even available.

The other negative factor is the dangerous bathrooms. The deep tub lacks horizontal and vertical bars to help people get into and out of the tub without falling. Our room’s tub was the deepest I have ever seen in any hotel, so getting in and out is a tricky situation, at best. In addition, the hotel uses deer antler points as drawer pulls, which is fine as long as the points are sawed off or pointed inward. My wife was gouged on the leg by one that was pointing outward. Both problems could be easily fixed and should be. I have reported these problems to Best Western, but other patrons need to be aware of the problems as well as the good points of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz L, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Autraveler9
Thank you for your comments on our hotel, and it is with dismay and concern that we hear that you could not enjoy your stay the way you should have.
During your stay we were experiencing temperatures all over Germany that we have not seen in more than a 100 years. As you mentioned, it was a full blown heat wave and temperatures during the days were almost 40th C°.
Had you asked at reception we could have provided you with a fan, but most of our guests just opened the balcony windows and doors since due to the surrounding mountains, the temperatures dropped down to comfortable 20 C° at around 22:00 – 22:30.
We are sorry that you were not offered a fan.
The reasons we have not and will not install air conditioning are simply environmental. There are usually no more than four to five days a year were an air conditioning system would make sense but the energy consumption if we had one would be enormous.
Concerning the deer antlers, these have been checked and where it was needed, adjusted or shortened. Thank you very much for that tip. You are right that was no big deal and it was changed immediately.
I have noted your request concerning the bath tubs and at present we are undecided whether or not we should act on your suggestion since not many people have had problems with them.
Again, we are sorry to hear your stay at the Rehlegg was not a pleasant one and sincerely apologise for that. It is a pity you did not contact us to let us know about your problems I am sure we could have worked something out.
Best regards
Franz Lichtmannegger
(Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed for more. It was so wonderful. The pool, sauna, rooms, breakfast, staff and dinner.
I would so easily recommend it. You get a bus pass whixh is so easy to use and bus stop is just at the bottom of the driveway. Was a truly great relaxing and memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz L, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Elisebeth,
thank you very much for your feedback at tripadvisor. We were happy, you enjoyed your with us. Hope to see you soon.
i.A. Silke Roßmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment we walked through the doors to check in to the moment we checked out everything about the place was fantastic. Nestled in the Bavarian countryside this place is a gem. The views were stunning as was the room in which we stayed (check out the photos)
Woke up to the sound of silence every morning except for the quaint church in Ramsau which was great in it'self. If you can stay in the new part of the hotel belive you me you will not be disapointed one bit !
The staff were friendly and helpful and very polite in every aspect of the place and if you do stay here go to pool and have a swim the view as you do will stay in your mind forever.


So much to do in so little time and we are already planning our next trip to this wonderful place and plan to stay longer !

Thank you Franz and family a tue gem in the Alps

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband I drove around Germany staying several different hotels, this was the most expensive but by far the best. We booked a room within the new part of the hotel and it was worth every extra penny, lovely. Prosecco at check in, excellent breakfast, either buffet or a la carte food for dinner, we chose a la carte, all excellent and wines too, lovely complimentary snacks mid afternoon, perfect location, stunning views, great walks,we found staff to be very friendly...we just didn't want to leave as 2 nigths were not enough. The only improvements I could suggest are tiny, the outdoor pool was freezing but it didn't really matter as I just then used the indoor one which was lovely and then the lack of certaintly re happy hour drinks. Great that they have one and one helpful barman gave us our choices at happy hour prices but another didn't and who cares the whole experience was so great that we didn't let it bother us at all. It was glorious and we will return.

Room Tip: If you stretch to it, book the new block, it's wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Really sad experience .. everything is in place to have a really wonderfull destination, a real charming hotel. The rooms are perfect, the surrounding is breath taking, the style and appearance of the whole place is really, really nice ! We actually left another place in south Germany (a perfect one,) to discover this one, which seemed to be in the same area of quality and interest.

But the staff is'nt "enough nice" for a four star hotel, there is a strange way to organize the half-board, like you pay for a suite for two adults and two kids, you add the half-board and you discover once at the table that you have to pay for the kids meals ! no logic at all !
Plus, they charge you also for the kids breakfast... nice start for the day :-(

But the real worst is that the pool was dirty, the spa wasn't working (only one sauna heated).
The water was'nt clear in the pool, we found mold around the access to the pool area and also the edges of the pool and water discharges. The only W.C in that area was'nt working during our stay, and the large windows suppose to give a nice vue on the surrounding was
really dirty !(see pictures).

Also the restaurant definately isn't a "four star" one ! The evening meals coming with the half-board was'nt that bad, but more on the "school canteen" category than "4 stars" !

The price is way too high for what you get, it's a pity because the place is really beautifull !!

PS: if there were a note only for the room, it would have been the maximum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel with certain misgivings. Let me explain: on their website everything looked great but the fact that it belonged to the Best Western group made me a little uneasy as Best Western hotels are not exactly renowned for their high quality standards!! In spite of this I must say that from check-in onwards, my experience at this hotel was first class in all respects. I had booked a deluxe room and was assigned room 331, on the second floor of the Residenz building. The room was very spacious with a bathroom with separate WC and shower booths and a huge balcony with a spectacular view of the mountains. Breakfast was served in the main building and was quite comprehensive. Wifi is provided free of charge. The hotel also has a very well-equipped gym (with Life Fitness machines), a spa with an indoor swimming pool and an outdoor pool a sunbathing area. The only negative point is that the TV in the room only showed German language stations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg

Address: Holzengasse 16, 83486 Ramsau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ramsau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ramsau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Bavarian Alps, you will find the Berghotel Rehlegg. Enjoy sparkling clear creeks, airy heights and enchanted forests.An intimate atmosphere and refined hospitality helps to distinguish the Rehlegg. Relax in our wellness area or let us pamper you at the WatzmannSpa. Or just take in the breathtaking panoramic view that our indoor pool provides.Should you feel the urge for some culture, Salzburg with all its cultural events is just half an hours drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berghotel Rehlegg Hotel Ramsau
Best Western Ramsau
Ramsau Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.