We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top class stay !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Holzengasse 16, 83486 Ramsau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ramsau
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A top class stay !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment we walked through the doors to check in to the moment we checked out everything about the place was fantastic. Nestled in the Bavarian countryside this place is a gem. The views were stunning as was the room in which we stayed (check out the photos)
Woke up to the sound of silence every morning except for the quaint church in Ramsau which was great in it'self. If you can stay in the new part of the hotel belive you me you will not be disapointed one bit !
The staff were friendly and helpful and very polite in every aspect of the place and if you do stay here go to pool and have a swim the view as you do will stay in your mind forever.


So much to do in so little time and we are already planning our next trip to this wonderful place and plan to stay longer !

Thank you Franz and family a tue gem in the Alps

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    62
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
235
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband I drove around Germany staying several different hotels, this was the most expensive but by far the best. We booked a room within the new part of the hotel and it was worth every extra penny, lovely. Prosecco at check in, excellent breakfast, either buffet or a la carte food for dinner, we chose a la carte, all excellent and wines too, lovely complimentary snacks mid afternoon, perfect location, stunning views, great walks,we found staff to be very friendly...we just didn't want to leave as 2 nigths were not enough. The only improvements I could suggest are tiny, the outdoor pool was freezing but it didn't really matter as I just then used the indoor one which was lovely and then the lack of certaintly re happy hour drinks. Great that they have one and one helpful barman gave us our choices at happy hour prices but another didn't and who cares the whole experience was so great that we didn't let it bother us at all. It was glorious and we will return.

Room Tip: If you stretch to it, book the new block, it's wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Really sad experience .. everything is in place to have a really wonderfull destination, a real charming hotel. The rooms are perfect, the surrounding is breath taking, the style and appearance of the whole place is really, really nice ! We actually left another place in south Germany (a perfect one,) to discover this one, which seemed to be in the same area of quality and interest.

But the staff is'nt "enough nice" for a four star hotel, there is a strange way to organize the half-board, like you pay for a suite for two adults and two kids, you add the half-board and you discover once at the table that you have to pay for the kids meals ! no logic at all !
Plus, they charge you also for the kids breakfast... nice start for the day :-(

But the real worst is that the pool was dirty, the spa wasn't working (only one sauna heated).
The water was'nt clear in the pool, we found mold around the access to the pool area and also the edges of the pool and water discharges. The only W.C in that area was'nt working during our stay, and the large windows suppose to give a nice vue on the surrounding was
really dirty !(see pictures).

Also the restaurant definately isn't a "four star" one ! The evening meals coming with the half-board was'nt that bad, but more on the "school canteen" category than "4 stars" !

The price is way too high for what you get, it's a pity because the place is really beautifull !!

PS: if there were a note only for the room, it would have been the maximum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel with certain misgivings. Let me explain: on their website everything looked great but the fact that it belonged to the Best Western group made me a little uneasy as Best Western hotels are not exactly renowned for their high quality standards!! In spite of this I must say that from check-in onwards, my experience at this hotel was first class in all respects. I had booked a deluxe room and was assigned room 331, on the second floor of the Residenz building. The room was very spacious with a bathroom with separate WC and shower booths and a huge balcony with a spectacular view of the mountains. Breakfast was served in the main building and was quite comprehensive. Wifi is provided free of charge. The hotel also has a very well-equipped gym (with Life Fitness machines), a spa with an indoor swimming pool and an outdoor pool a sunbathing area. The only negative point is that the TV in the room only showed German language stations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I only had a few days of holiday this year and when I saw the website of the Best Western plus hotel in Rehlegg, I decided that that was the place I wanted to spend my few precious days of holiday in. My husband and I and our kids drove a fully 6 hours to get there, but the minute we stepped in the door, we knew we had made mistake. Staff at the reception were not welcoming, the pool was dirty and unkempt, the food in the restaurant is definitely not haute cuisine, and they charge your kids for dinner and breakfast even if you have a half board deal. Basically, they try to make money on your back whenever possible and this was quite an unpleasant experience. The surrounding are exceptionally beautiful though and I guess they count on that to attract customers, but don't be fooled, you can get a better view, excellent food, and exceptional service elsewhere. I would not recommend this hotel also because the pool is so dirty, you will catch a bad disease in it. The spa was meant to be open from 11am-21h30, but they only opened at 3pm and wasn't even worth it because it was not clean either. All on all, no value for money here, just a hotel using its beautiful surroundings to exploit guests. I will go back to this region but definitely not to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xaver4, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Infinity Traveller

I am sorry, concerned and surprised you felt that you did not have a good experience during your recent stay at our hotel.

I apologise for the fact that you felt that you were not made to feel welcome once you arrived, and please be assured that this would represent the exception rather than the norm at our house.

Concerning the food. We are fully aware that the food we serve here is not "haute cuisine" and it is not intended to be and is not advertised to be either. Rather we offer wholesome, regional food and traditional Bavarian dishes. Once again, please allow me to apologise if our food did not meet with your expectations.

Moving on to our indoor pool. I am very surprised and once again extremely concerned to learn from you that you found the pool "dirty and unkempt", and have to say that this is defiantly not the case as we have stringent rules relating to the cleanliness of the pool and wellness areas.

In addition, the water quality is checked daily which is a legal requirement of our Health Officials here, so I can not accept in no uncertain terms your comments concerning contracting diseases as a result of swimming in our indoor pool. To support this, there have been no complaints ever of this nature, and certainly going back over the last forty years, no person has ever become ill as a result of swimming in our pool, and if there was to be any issue with the pool, it would be immediately closed.

Moving onto the point of children. Children who stay in the same room as their parents do so free of charge. We only raise a charge for breakfast and any other meal which they should have. It is our policy not to include children in with their parent's "half board" facility especially when the facility is only booked for the parents, and I am confident that you will find this as standard practice in most hotels.

We do take all constructive feedback comments seriously and value our guests. We also continually strive to improve our service which is in our best interest.

Finally, I offer my sincere apologies if we inadvertently failed you. The Rehlegg has evolved from a 17th century farmhouse into the Four Star hotel we proudly have today. It is simply not your average hotel, rather an individual and privately run family hotel steeped in history and tradition of which the vast majority of our guests like and appreciate.

Regards
Franz Lichtmannegger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

You knew you were in some place special when you were offered a glass of champagne (or alternatives) while you went through the process of checking in!

Our group of six mature adults spent two nights here and wished it could be two years. The setting is deep green wooded valleys and meadows with wildflowers and great mountain peaks still etched with last season's snow. Apparently there is a law that says every house - most of them traditional timber - have window boxes full of flowering pelgoniums or petunias because all of them do! The hotel is no exception and our room with balcony had its own boxes of rich red geraniums - no dead heads! The view to the mountains is to die for. The furnishings are elegant, discrete and unusual - deer horn handles on closet doors - a woven wooden rug on the timber floor. The buffets were generous and dining options included the outside terrace or indoor dining room. Staff were friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. We will all be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anybody. From the first minute to the last, we felt welcomed and our week flew past! The staff are incredibly friendly and the whole place has a good feel to it. Our room, in the older part of the hotel, was a good size, had a balcony with great views and it was very clean. The food is excellent, and the buffet is highly recommended! It is also nice to have some snacks welcoming you after a hike up the mountains, and the bar area in the evening just completes the day.
Ramsau is a nice little village and the area around is just beautiful. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg

Address: Holzengasse 16, 83486 Ramsau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ramsau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ramsau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Bavarian Alps, you will find the Berghotel Rehlegg. Enjoy sparkling clear creeks, airy heights and enchanted forests.An intimate atmosphere and refined hospitality helps to distinguish the Rehlegg. Relax in our wellness area or let us pamper you at the WatzmannSpa. Or just take in the breathtaking panoramic view that our indoor pool provides.Should you feel the urge for some culture, Salzburg with all its cultural events is just half an hours drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berghotel Rehlegg Hotel Ramsau
Best Western Ramsau
Ramsau Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.