We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baer

Hotel Baer
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baer to your Saves list
Hotel Baer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 131, 74889 Sinsheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sinsheim
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were attending a trade show in Sinsheim and chose the Hotel Bär as it was in town and so we shouldn't have to rent a car. According to the map, the Messe was about 25-30 minutes away on foot, but it never took us more than 20 minutes, and we were lucky that the weather was fine every day. Apart from that, the location is great, as it's on Hauptstraße (High Street), so everything is close at hand, and the train station is only a 5-minute walk away. There are several restaurants nearby, but with 2 cheap and great Italian restaurants next door we never had to walk far.

As for the hotel, I was afraid that the individual room would be tiny, but even though it is small, just as the bed, it was cosy and comfortable enough. Breakfast is OK, even though I missed some pastries and a bit more variety. Other small drawbacks are the noisy bathroom extractor fan, that goes on for too long; just a 10 ml. shampoo/gel sachet in the bathroom is not enough, and some drinking water in the sauna would be welcome. But apart from that, it's a perfectly fine hotel and I may come back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
3
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

stayed here a few days for the second time for a family reunion, friendly staff, excelent full breakfast, wi fi works great,superb pillows and duvet ( down), nice location,( close to the stadium and tech museum ),good value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were warmly welcomed, and despite the name, the bears are obvious but not over the top, and indeed there were no bears in our room!

We had a quiet room at the back with no view. Typical German interior - a little dated but all very spick and span and clean. No in-room coffee facilities the only complaint. Parking was fine for us, but would probably be a bit of a squeeze when busier. Only a few minutes walk to the town centre of Sinsheim with a range of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

A good continental breakfast in the morning, and we took advantage of the Auto Technik museum package which was very good value. Much better to stay here and enjoy the small town than stay on the industrial park by the museum.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Bär for one night as a stopover when driving between Belgium and Austria and booked a family room.

The room was on the top floor in the roof space, but was large with a double bed and a double sofa bed for the kids, but with separate duvets. There was a large bathroom, plenty of storage space for 4 people and was spotless.

Breakfast was served in the breakfast room.

The hotel is centrally situated and we found restaurants a few minutes walk away in the town centre.

The hotel was very family friendly, particularly for younger children.

We visited the Auto & Technik museum the next day and the hotel provided a card for a discount on tickets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerton, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I spent 5 days at the hotel Baer in Sinsheim Germany. The room was clean and the breakfast substantial and with everything one would desire. The staff spoke good English, although I generally can get by regardless. The parking is not very good, but that is typical of many small hotels in German towns and villages. There is limited parking at the hotel, but one can park in a lot which is located in easy walking distance away. I would ask for a room on the back side of the hotel if possible. Mine was very quiet, but the street out front is quite busy and i could imagine a noise factor for those rooms located immediately in front.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the rear and off the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

I am an American that works for a German company based in Sinsheim Germany. I have been to this small German town many times and I always request Hotel Bär. Pronounced like the English “Bear” and Teddy Bears are every where. I have stayed in other hotels and guest houses in the area but only when the Hotel Bär was not available. When I travel to Germany I want to stay in a real German hotel, not a creepy New York City knock-off like some of the newer hotels in the area. The building is charming and looks like it is one of the older ones in the town.
I absolutely love the owner, when you stay there you will be taken care of by her, her son or one of her personally trained staff. Everyone speaks English and is extremely helpful and courteous. There are several size rooms; some are small, but in my opinion more than adequate. I don’t go to Europe to sit in a room. But if room size is important you must only request one of the larger ones. I think the breakfast is excellent and there is a small lobby bar perfect for waiting for your ride. The front desk attendant doubles as a bar tender and in my case and German language teachers.
The location is perfect, right on the main street you can walk to the center of town in less than five minutes. Many shops, restaurants and pubs in the area. I like to stay out late and have a few beers so the Hotel Bär is perfect for walking back, no drinking and driving!
The town’s two main attractions the Auto & Technik-Museum and the Messe (convention center), both are short drives or taxi rides.
If you want a fantastic warm and friendly German experience stay at the Hotel Bär.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baer

Address: Hauptstrasse 131, 74889 Sinsheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Sinsheim
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sinsheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baer 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Baer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.