We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alte Post

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alte Post to your Saves list
Alte Post
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthalterweg / An der B 3, 79379 Muellheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Muellheim
nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I went to the hotel in late september for a conference. I attended with 2 colleagues from England, from check in the staff were superb, very humerous and also very pretty. It was lovely weather at the time allowing us to eat outdoors in an area shaded by trees at lunch, with breakfast and dinner indoors. All the food and wine was superb, very fresh and of a high quality. My room had a a little balcony and was very spacious, shower excellent. In all an excellent hotel would definitely recommend and I plan to visit again.

Room Tip: There is an a apartment in the top of the building which one of my colleagues bagged, if a smoker as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
12
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Old hotel, no elevator, wooden floor. Room has sweet scented because they put aromatics everywhere, and spacious too. There's balcony in some rooms where you can have fresh air. Near to convenience store and the hotel will give you free pass for the gym in the opposite.
Delicious meals, lot varieties of tea. You can access internet for free from PC in the reception. And if you get bored with their food, there's a good Greece restaurant in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

A German colleague of mine suggested a weekend getaway (I was traveling in Suisse at the time) in Freiburg, Germany. However, when I went to find a hotel, all of them were booked in the city because of a some festival. My colleague then suggested that I try a nice hotel in a small town called Mullheim outside of Freiburg. After a long train ride to Mullheim, my friends and I called the Alte Poste from the Mullheim baden train station, and they offered to send a taxi cab over. You can also walk to the hotel from the station if you are traveling light; it's about a 10 minute walk. The taxi picked my party up and dropped us off at the Alte Poste. The hotel ended up picking up the fare too which was very nice. The outside of the Alte Poste was nice and very suburb/country like in appearance. When we entered, the very friendly/helpful desk clerk treated us to a glass of wine from the area wineries. The hotel lobby area had a very at-home like atmosphere. We were quickly checked in and shown to our rooms. I managed to get the "Zielberg" room which was large and roomy for two people. There was a TV, king size bed, sofa, desk, and bath. One of my friends got a single with bath which was smaller but still roomy for 1 and it had a nice balcony area. We opted to have the hotel include a dinner package with our stay at its in house restaurant and it was excellent. We had 3 course meal with a four course service of wine (again from the area wineries). The hotel does include a continental breakfast in the morning that has fresh breads, cold cuts, cereals, cheeses, fresh squeezed juices, and coffee. The hotel does have WiFi for a daily fee but also has free use of a community pc that is connected to the internet for free by the front desk. The center of Mulheim is about a 10 minute walk were you will find several pubs and a few restaurants. Just nearby is also a nice department store which sells clothing, electronics, food, beverages. All in all an excellent weekend getaway and I will definitely return.

  • Liked — The friendly staff, excellent service, and great food and wine
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

I cannot praise this lovely hotel highly enough. Booking was straightforward, arrival greeted by warm welcome and glass of wine. We stayed in the holiday flat on the top floor which has two double rooms, 1 single room and a sofabed. There is a large kitchen/living area and enormous bathroom.-perfect for two families travelling with children. Spacious high ceilinged rooms,white walls, artworks, books & poetry give it a quirky leftbank feel. Beds the most comfortable I've ever slept in and everywhere pristine. We were looked after so well-nothing too much trouble-despite fact that on second night there was a wedding reception. Felt we were the only guests such was the service. We ate superb food in the restaurant where charming staff were on hand to help decipher local menu. I have special praise for Katherina Ruser who not only patiently guided us through driving rain to the hotel (it was dark and disorientating by the time we arrived at Mullheim) but who kindly returned my specs that I'd left behind. An absolute joy!


  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The views are mainly of pretty courtyard
  • Tips/Secrets — Travel with friends/family and stay in the top floor flat
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Post

Address: Posthalterweg / An der B 3, 79379 Muellheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Muellheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Muellheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alte Post 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Post Germany/Muellheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alte Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.