We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No such thing as a triple room....no dinner after 20.30 in region of gourmands !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Casset

Save Saved
You added Le Petit Casset to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Petit Casset
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96, Impasse du Petit Casset, 01120 La Boisse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in La Boisse
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No such thing as a triple room....no dinner after 20.30 in region of gourmands !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I hoped this small hotel, which looked charming from the outside anf from the pictures, would be the perfect place to stay before we caught a flight out of Lyon to southern Italy. Location was perfect...with easy access from Geneva via autoroutes, and quick drive to airport. But the welcome was negative, the room a squeeze , and breakfast nowhere near as good as I had imagined after reading the tripadviser reviews. Plus, in the land of French gourmet cuisine, the owner announced the kitchen was closed just as we walked through the door at 20.35 on a hot Thursday evening in July. Oh, and he was draining the pool, so no swimming !
So for a stopover ..ok ...but don't expect much in the way of space, dining, swimming, or warm welcome. Breakfast standard....and expensive for what it was, with nothing cooked.

Room Tip: If you are three , don't book online , call and check. We had a cramped room with a double bed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Lovely small Logis well placed if you are travelling North - South, East - West and you want to avoid going into Lyon. Easy access to the motorways.
Very well decorated with style and our room was comfortable and clean. As was the garden area which included a swimming pool.
Although we only staying for the night one could easily use the hotel as a base to discovery the area.
Staff member was very pleasant. Having arrived late on a Sunday she managed to provide a small meal.
WiFi was free and worked very well.
We would stay there again if we were in the area but when travelling we always try to stay at somewhere new.
Ample parking space

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

we loved the place. Very calm, beautiful area. A lovely place, romantic atmosphere, very clean and generous. great breakfast too! i couldn't believe this is a only 2 stars hotel. It deserves at least 3. great great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed here for one night (stopping over on our way to Languedoc). Everything was OK, certainly for a French hotel, although not memorable. We got what we could expect - that is, in France - for the price. Internet access costs EUR 4,50 a day, which was too bad (an outdated approach: it should be free, as in most hotels nowadays).

It's a bit amazing that this is considered as one of the best Lyon hotels, because it's not located in Lyon but in a little village 15 miles further down. If you want to visit Lyon, it seems more logic and convenient to book a hotel in Lyon city. As a stopover place, it suited us well.

Stayed May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Hi,

We stayed at the Petit Casset on June 13, 2009. We were very comfortable and the hosts were very nice. Something really weird happened. Just before 10PM, we looked outside and saw this statue moving up and down. At first my wife saw it and though she was tired and seeing things. I saw it too. It was interesting to see. First time for us seeing a statue move. At ten when the lights went off it stopped. I went to see if I could figure this out but I couldn't. The next morning I mentioned this at front desk not knowing what reaction I would get. Then the janitor told me she saw something too and was glad someone else saw it too. I wonder if someone else saw it too.

Can't wait next year to return to see if I can see it again.

The Inn was a bit far from Lyon but easy to find. The breakfast was delicious and worth wile since the Inn is outside of town. Also nice swimming pool. It merits having the number one position in Lyon. Very nice. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande, MS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Very Nice Hotel, easy access to Lyon, but it is in another city, must go by the highway (toll). Very friendly staff, good rooms and breakfast (continental breakfast). Recommended for holidays with car rental and directions to the countryside. Not recommended for business trip with appointments in Lyon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormatin, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

I recently stayed at Le Petit Casset for one night with my mom because we wanted to be close to the Lyon airport as she had a very early morning departure. Although I booked several months in advance, there was only 1 night available (we originally wanted to stay the entire weekend to take advantage of their pool and proximity to Lyon, a city I love). I can see why this hotel is so popular. Service is extraordinary by French standards, with every contact either by email or phone being handled in a professional yet friendly manner. I can't imagine staying here without a car though, as it is in a remote suburb of Lyon (albeit a peaceful and very green one). The only disappointment was that prior to coming, I had asked by phone if they would be able to recommend restaurants for us, knowing that on Sunday nights things are dead in most parts of France, and the impeccable man on the phone assured me that they would. Unfortunately the young staff that day (not the same as on the phone) were pretty clueless as to area restaurants that were open (we didn't want to go into Lyon that evening, which admittedly would have made for more choice, but we preferred a short drive and no parking hassles). Luckily the WiFi internet connection worked perfectly (although they do charge for it, which is ridiculous) so I did some research online and found us a place not too far away. We ended up not taking advantage of the pool, but it looked lovely. Breakfast was outstanding, especially by French standards (meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurts, boiled eggs, pound cake & the usual croissants, pain au chocolat, etc. all of excellent quality). The drive to the airport was quick and easy. All in all, a perfect stay, we would have just liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Petit Casset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Casset

Address: 96, Impasse du Petit Casset, 01120 La Boisse, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > La Boisse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in La Boisse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Petit Casset 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Petit Casset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Casset Lyon
Le Petit Casset Hotel
Le Petit Casset France/La Boisse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Casset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.