We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Spot in the Luberon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au point de lumiere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au point de lumiere
Save
You added Au point de lumiere to your Saves list
colline Perreal, 84490 Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, Apt, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Dream Spot in the Luberon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have visited Au Point de Lumiere twice and it does not disappoint! It's location is peaceful, perched on a lovely spot in the Luberon where you can enjoy the view as you have the delicious gourmet breakfasts Annie prepares. She and Jean-Claude are wonderful hosts. They are like family. The rooms are quite nice and the infinity pool is a terrific place to just relax. It's a perfect spot to serve as a base to visit the amazing villages near-by. We stayed for four days this visit and I can't wait to return.
Linda

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and lead to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
67
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kungälv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in beautiful Provence! The rooms are comfy, large and nicely decorated. The pool is situated in the beautiful garden with a fantastic view over the hills of Provence and the small town St-Saturnin-les-Apt. The breakfast is superb! But the best thing about this place is the owners, Annie and Jean-Claude. They made us feel very welcome and gave us great suggestions on how to explore the surrondings, as well as fanatstic dinner recommendations.
Our stay here was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsten, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

"Au point de lumiere" is amongst the nicest places we have ever stayed. This was our second time we stayed there. The house of Annie and Jean-Claude is beautiful, the garden is like a whole own world built of flowers in an amazing landscape with wonderful views on the Luberon. When you stay there you will forget the world around you and deeply relax. The rooms are very very clean and decorated with lots of love for the detail. Moreover the rooms remain cool even if it is very hot outside. The day starts with an incredible breakfast which is prepared by Annie with lots of love for the detail. The products she uses for her breakfasts are very fresh and mostly organic. Every day you will get a different breakfast and they are always amazingly delicious. We will miss them a lot! Beside all these wonderful aspects we want to highlight the warmth and friendliness of Annie and Jean-Claude which make a stay with them such an unforgettable and great experience. With every question we had they helped us out. They gave us good advices where to go and where to have lunch or dinner. Whenever we decided to spend the day in their garden we felt like being at home thanks to their hospitality. All in all, we can strongly recommend a stay at "Au point de lumiére" and we are looking forward to being there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We've stayed 2 nights in Au Point de lumiere and we highly recommend it to those who want to visit the Luberon area.

As mentioned in other reviews, Jean-Claude and Annie are extremely nice and they really welcome you like their family members. They've given us lot's of suggestions on where to go in Luberon including Goult, which we believe is the most beautiful villages we've visited in Provence.

The breakfast are unbeatable, especially the French Toast and Goat Cheese with honey....I miss it!

In case you stay in this B&B, please do spare sometime to stay in the lawn and the infinity pool....the sun shine, the vegetation, the grass land, the peaceful surrounding would add up and become your "Provence" experience.

Thanks Jean-Claude and Annie and looking forward to see you again! (in HK?)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annie84490, Propriétaire at Au point de lumiere, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Google Translation
Merci a vous deux , de vos gentilles annotations et pensées, nous sommes ravis de vous avoir reçu au point de lumière, vous faites maintenant partis de nos belles rencontres, encore merci et au plaisir de vous revoir sous le soleil de Provence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Jean-Claude and Annie welcome their guests with open arms as if they are family. They will spoil your palette with delicacies made with only the best local produce to make your mouth water for more. Enjoying your meal or aperitif on the terrace while you take in the lovely view over the infinity pool of the exquisite surrounding countryside. The rooms are impeccable with only the best quality of every comfort available. A perfect couples getaway or a even a lovely treat for a family. This place could be your secret resort in itself or you could explore the surrounding localities which are incredible. Lovely local restaurants in the area if you go and explore, however I highly recommend their cooking!!!
It's really a superb little gem. Annie and Jean-Claude will do anything to make your stay perfect.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect. We saw them all. There is something for everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

From the pastry breakfast to the amazing view, we were enchanted with our time with Jean-Claude and Annie. We appreciated how it was out of the way and quiet, yet a close drive to many points of interest in Provence. We stayed in the very nice Sienne room which was nicely secluded and generously large. I recommned a walk down the road to the south as it gives a lovely view of the valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Au Point de Lumiere is a great find and testament to the usefulness of Tripadvisor, without it you would never find this off the beaten track gem.
Tucked away in a wooded corner in the north of the Luberon, about a 5 minute drive from the character full St Saturnin Les Apt…..Anne & Jean Claude have given you the opportunity to have a (luxury) home from home experience.
The Property
We stayed in the en suite Sienna room that is styled in a typical Provence manner: a lovely cool room offering lots of privacy. Being at the side of the house the shaded terrace has no real view, but is a great place to have a quiet glass of something nice and read a good book. Inside the room is simply yet tastefully furnished: A cupboard with plenty of hanging space (maybe bring yourself a few more hangers); a fridge big enough for wine and a few snacks; and a 2 seater sofa. The bed was a good size and reasonably comfy…..there is no noise pollution at all so if a good night’s sleep is important to you put Au Point de Lumiere top of your list. There is no safe or air conditioning but we had no need for either……this is a very quiet part of France and evenings were always quite fresh due to the elevation.
The Bathroom was usual stuff with a shower/bath set up, sink and mirror area and all the towels necessary…..nothing fancy but suited our needs perfectly. Worth noting in our 5 nights Anne didn’t come in our room once which really enhanced the home from home feeling…..If you want linen etc changing she will do it but otherwise the place is yours…..fantastic way to run a B&B.
The outdoor areas are all landscaped in harmony with the surrounding countryside with the pool area being the highlight….there is plenty of space here for everyone to sun bath and have a bit of peace and quiet. Worth noting the views from the pool are beautiful as well.
The Breakfast
Breakfast is served on the large terrace at the front of the house. From here you get the early morning sun which lights up the lovely views over the gardens and out into the valley and hills beyond. Each morning was slightly different with Anne baking something new to try. It is a mixture of bread, something warm, yoghurt, cheese, juice and a nice tea or coffee and if you’re really lucky some home baked cake (seems wrong for breakfast but trust me it was ohhhh sooo right :) )
The Hosts
Breakfast is also your opportunity to meet your fantastic hosts Anne & Jean Claude…..what a friendly and engaging couple….Anne is learning English so will be very keen to practice it with you (presuming that’s your lingo!!!) They made us feel very welcome and were full of useful advice about the area and even gave me a present for my 40th birthday which I celebrated whilst staying there.
Luberon
Luberon is generally gorgeous….exactly the Provence you expect from the postcards: woods, mountains, vineyards, gorges, countless hilltop villages and of course the incredible lavender fields (in season of course). We thought with all this natural beauty it would be packed with tourists but far from it……we had the roads and pathways pretty much to ourselves.
To Do
There is so much to do here and our 5 night stay didn’t cover a fraction of it but I can recommend a few things definitely worth doing:
Hilltop Villages: There are so many the only problem you have is going to the really worthwhile ones……they are all beautiful to look at but the novelty can wear thin after you’ve seen 6 or 7….all offer great eating especially Bonnieux and Roussilon; Buoux, Lourmarin and Saigon were also favourites of ours as was Gordes but beware here as everything costs double due to its notoriety as a place for the jet set.
Restaurants: Cesar in Bonnieux (9/10) fine dining with beautiful views; L'Estrade, Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt (9/10) fantastic home style cooking at very reasonable prices; Le Bistrot de Lagarde, Apt (10/10)....Up in the mountains, the drive alone is worth it....just go you’ll love it.
Lavender: End of June – Mid July (ish) just drive around and find it........the best shots are in Sault though....simply Lavender as far as the eye can see.
Picnics: Great way to enjoy France....get a blanket, a bottle of a good local red and a basket of as much as you can carry from the boulangerie. If you want some great spots mail me as I’m not giving them away on the WWW.
Hiking:
Les Gorges de Veroncle - a challenging, fun, and historical hike between Gordes and Joucas. This hike involves some difficult rock descents and a 25-foot ascent up an old mill shaft using a rope.
Les Combes de Vaumale - another challenging hike on the Plateau de Vaucluse west of Lioux. This trail involves using ropes, chains and metal footholds to get up or down the steep rocks.
Buoux to Sivergues - a great walk that provides the opportunity to explore the old ruins at Fort Buoux, hike to the tiny village of Sivergues (the highest village in the Luberon), and then walk along the incredible rock climbing wall on the other side of the gorge.
Aix en Provence: A must see place and if possible stay a night or 2 as the place is best experienced in the evening.
Have fun.........!!!!!

Room Tip: The Siena Room is ideal for total privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au point de lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au point de lumiere

Address: colline Perreal, 84490 Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, Apt, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Apt > Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
exceptional panoramique view. hearty breakfast, the majority of our products are locally grown and organic.beautiful infinity swinning pool here we do every think to ensure ours guests stay is a most pleasant one ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au point de lumiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.