We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best budget hotels of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balladins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Balladins to your Saves list
Hotel Balladins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, rue des Piliers de la Chauviniere, 44821 Saint Herblain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Saint Herblain
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“one of the best budget hotels of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

this was one of the best budget hotels of our trip. Friendly cheerful staff, decent facilities, nice room, free parking onsite, and restaurants and shopping nearby. It is about a 15 min drive to the center of Nantes, where parking can be difficult to find (even multi story was full), so if budget permits and you aim is to visit the city, go for a hotel closer to the city with parking. Otherwise, if you are happy to drive and hunt for a coveted parking space, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalladinsStHerblain, Gérant at Hotel Balladins, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Paddypack,

Thanks for your comments, the team will be really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We do our best to provide the best service possible. We are indeed outside the city center. However, if you come back to our hotel, do not hesitate to ask our staff they will be happy to help you find the most convenient parking.
Regards
Vincent D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

very friendly little place just off main road, nice and clean, and had great meal at restau round the corner recommended by receptionist. perfect for breaking up our long drive south. breakfast was fine and coffee strong!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling down to messanges and this made an excellent midway stop. Great sized family room with 2 double beds, free WiFi. Dinner was available and smelt lovely but with 2 small kids we opted for McDonald's just over the road. Quiet despite its closeness to main road. Secure parking and friendly staff. Great location just off nantes ring road so easy to find and get away from in the morning. Near a massive Ikea as well if you fancy a spot of shopping!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for the mini kappa mondial football tournament 29/3 until 31/3 2013. Only 38 euros a night. Very clean rooms, secure free parking and easy to find after an 8 hour drive from Brighton. Reception staff allowed us to check in at 4 am , very helpful and speak English. Breakfast however is a joke at 8 Euros for croissants, boiled eggs, ham , cheese etc. just walk out for 2 mins and there are quite a few cafes, restaurants KFC, McDonalds etc. The hotel is very close to the tournament only a 10-15 min drive away. Will hopefully visit here again next year !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Balladins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balladins

Address: 1, rue des Piliers de la Chauviniere, 44821 Saint Herblain, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Saint Herblain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Saint Herblain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balladins 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Nantes - St Nazaire highway, near "Le Zénith", AULIZEN Hotel proposes you 50 air-conditioned rooms with bathrooms, TV with Satellite Channel(Canal +), telephone, free and unlimited WIFI.Two conference rooms of 30 and 33m² Various Buffet of breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Balladins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balladins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.