We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de Joinville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Domaine de Joinville to your Saves list
Domaine de Joinville
3.0 of 5 Castle   |   Route du Treport, 76260 Eu, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eu
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family stayed in the duplex called Mathilde, which is in the chic renovated chicken house of the domain . . . We had a lovely time. It was nicely laid out, with the parents' bedroom upstairs and the kids on a pull-out couch downstairs. Huge jacuzzi + shower and toilet separate, very nicely done. The grounds are lovely and the staff very nice. The weather wasn't perfect for this trip, but the kids did enjoy the pool one day, and I had a nice massage in the spa. All in all, a lovely get-away for a long weekend.

Room Tip: the duplexes are very nice for a family with 2 parents and 2 kids who can share a pull-out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    58
    24
    29
    10
See reviews for
29
109
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Bourgogne. It is outside Beaune (5 minutes), but everything works perfect there. The rooms size are perfect for families, the food is great, the breakfast is a must, and the care of the service is the type of thing that you receive when the operator and owner love what they do. Beaune is a beautiful place, but you must save some time for enjoying the hotel. Due to Beaune location, you could make this your "operation base" is you are going to drive around (Clunny Monastery, Paray Le Monial, Chateneuf, and even Dijon)

Room Tip: second floor to the left, huge room with two chambers and lovely bathroom. Great for parents and chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it: great setting, nice building, large and comfortable room and bathroom with separate toilet, super breakfast and dinner, friendly staff.
Location is perfect as well: 2 min. drive to the centre of Eu with the main castle, 5 min. drive to the port town of Le Tréport and in between the other coastal villages of Normandy and the Somme area. Also Rouen is close enough to visit. We would definitely book again, not just when 'being in the area', i.e. book the hotel and then plan the trip around it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just stayed at the chateaux for 3 nights with another family of 4. 4 kids ages ranging 6 - 13 years. We grown ups enjoyed the upscale atmosphere, whereas the kids enjoyed the hanging out in the backyard and the pool.
Very friendly staff, very good food and wine and of course a great breakfast buffet.
Just outside the city , which made our excursions for wine tasting, sightseeing and other stuff really easy.
Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here while visiting a supplier close by. The hotel staff were very nice. I ate in the restaurant during the evening and the meal was very nice - although a bit on the expensive side. The bedroom was a good size and pretty clean. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of pastries, cereals etc. I would stay again if coming to the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

However beautiful-looking the hotel I'm never going to take kindly to being put in a room which is crawling with giant spiders. I kid you not. I was lying in bed when it looked as thought the patterns on the wallpaper started to move. Spiders the size of my computer-mouse. I squidged a couple but as I lay in bed trying to sleep I could hear noises. Not good for a pleasant night's sleep.
Apart from the spiders I found it pretty average - grumpy staff (which is pretty much the norm in France) slow and slightly disappointing food. Pretty location but would rather have been in the Chateau than in the spider-ridden "poulailler" (hen-house).

Room Tip: avoid the hen-house!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stopped here on way from le Tunnel to Normandy. Not much more than an hour from Calais, and a charming place. Very characterful rooms and good food, if not absolutely top class. Don't understand the negative reviews on here, it was all very acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de Joinville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Joinville

Address: Route du Treport, 76260 Eu, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Eu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Joinville 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Joinville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Joinville Eu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de Joinville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.