We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and romantic place for a perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin du Bechet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Moulin du Bechet to your Saves list
Le Moulin du Bechet
Impasse du Bechet, 27120 Croisy-sur-Eure, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croisy-sur-Eure
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful and romantic place for a perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

our first gataway, beautiful place, very clean, easygoing and helpful staff, perfect breakfast, very nice surroundings, you feel more than welcome in here . We were forced by unforseen cicumstances to leave earlier, and we have received a lot of help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed two nights at this magnificent hotel situated in its own large grounds, with plenty of water around ( a large pond with an abundance of wildlife and other river channels nearby)

Beautifully appointed rooms, excellent decor and a lovely sitting area adjacent to the water.

The hotel is situated in the picturesque village of Croisy-sur Eyre, with lovely surrounding countryside, with other villages nearby that are well worth visiting - (visit the friendly tabac in Menilles just a mile or two away...!)

We ate at the in-house restaurant on both nights that we stayed - Top quality food and drink, and considering that quality, suprisingly reasonable cost-wise!

One small "blemish" was the lady waitress that served us in the restaurant. Clearly over worked, she did not hide the fact that she was very stressed over her workload, and this unfortunately manifested itself in a lack of customer service. Apart from that - a brilliant stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful grounds, lovely restaurant but the accommodation is awful. If you are unlucky enough to be in the rooms opposite the river you can hear all the adjacent rooms plumbing. My room had no door between the bathroom and the bedroom, which meant where it backed onto the neighbouring bathroom or situated below the upper room bathrooms; all you could hear all night was the continual running of water whenever anyone else ran a tap or flushed a toilet.
Rooms also lacked accessible plug sockets and ended up having to move the furniture around in order to be able to charge travel essentials. There were also insects in the bathroom and mould around the shower. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block opposite the restaurant are particularly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is set in wonderful grounds but the accommodation was very shabby & is in need of a complete refurb including well worn towels. Restaurant quite good but lacked personality & breakfast poor. There was a general lack of passion about the place. It is a real shame as its potential is enormous

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I booked three rooms for one night for my family and me. The reception staff were helpful but I needed my daughters help with the language as the receptionist did not speak any English. We had three double rooms my wife's and mine was on the first floor just above the restaurant and the other two in an adjacent annex. The grounds, river and lake are excellent place for an evening stroll. We saw coypus in the river, lake and on the banks. The room facilities were we OK, the rooms having tea/coffee making facilities. In the evening we ate at the hotel having three-courses from the set menu. The majority of us ordered; Scallops, Duck (cooked to perfection, just pink enough) and an chocolate assortment for the pudding. All dishes were well presented and cooked and all three courses were reasonably sized portions. The server spoke English which helped when we came to order. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after driving 3 miles down a narrow country road from the motorway and entered the property which is beautiful and can only be be described as a lovely park. The hotel also looks beautiful. However we soon realised we had judged this book by its cover. The receptionist was very pleasant and showed us to our "superior double room" this was up a narrow staircase. It was a tiny very unpleasant room which we refused to stay in and asked for an alternative. She said she would look to see if they had a alternative which surprised us as the place looked as though there were few residents. She then showed us to an alternative room in an outbuilding which was larger and had a small additional room with a desk and nice bathroom with separate toilet. The problem was as we found out later that there were no curtains or blinds and the only way to stop other resident looking in on us as we changed for dinned or got out of the bath was to close the shutters outside. Now we travel in France a lot and we are used to shutter but these did not have any way of keeping them closed as there were no clasps. It was very lucky that there was no wind that night or they would never have stayed shut. I actually shoved a wad of paper between the shutter and the wall to keep it closed. One the shutters were shut the room was very dark as the lighting was extremely poor. However the bed was very comfy and we slept very well having to use eye masks which fortunately we had with us. There was no wifi in our room which was supposed to be all over the property. The toilet made a loud water rushing noise every time someone used the toilet or ran a bath somewhere else near us. We ate in the restaurant which has a very limited menu and was very tasty although very nouveau cuisine with tiny portions. The waitress spoke no English at all and if one of us had not been able to understand a little French and got a gist of what the main ingredient was such as fish or meat we would have had absolutely no idea what was on the menu. It is a shame that the weather was so poor as we were unable to make the most of the lovely grounds. This hotel is ok for a one night stop on the way home from Normandy as very reasonable and also within easy reach of half an hour from Monet's garden at Giverny. An absolute must if you are staying in the area. Also make sure you go to a beautiful village rear by called Pacy and take a camera. Breakfast was excellent with super butter croissants, baguette, eggs, ham and a super home made prune jam. There was orange juice but unfortunately it was not freshly squeezed as we had in other hotels we had stayed in this trip. Even so if I could get a " super superior room" if they had one I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Found this place for an overnight stop almost by accident. A bit off the beaten track (some 20 mins outside Rouen) so VERY quiet - apart from the mill stream and an owl two fields away. Had the dog with us (who was made most welcome) so were in one of the "garden rooms" - one of the converted outbuildings. Very comfortable, but quirky (no TV in our room, but given the quality of French television, that was no loss. ) Didn't see the rooms in the main bit of the house. Beautifully maintained and extensive grounds. The real surprise was the food. First class ingredients, with every component perfectly cooked and presented with care and evident pride. Three courses for 32 Euros made it a bit of a bargain, too - hope the Michelin inspectors don't find it or it'll get a star and the prices will double. Meanwhile, we wanted to kidnap the chef..... .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Moulin du Bechet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Bechet

Address: Impasse du Bechet, 27120 Croisy-sur-Eure, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Croisy-sur-Eure
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Croisy-sur-Eure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Moulin du Bechet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin du Bechet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.