We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with very welcoming & helpful host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Lion D'or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Lion D'or to your Saves list
Le Lion D'or
48, rue du General de Gaulle, 27300 Bernay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with very welcoming & helpful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a perfect hotel in Bernay - very clean, welcoming & comfortable.
The breakfast was just right for continental & the host was so friendly & helpful.
We couldn't have asked for more, we will be back.

Room Tip: There is a superb market in Bernay on a Saturday morning but be sure to get your car out of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
31
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed one night on our trip south and again on our trip home. Pleasant hosts with good English. The rooms were clean and comfortable. No restaurant, but we were directed to excellent dining places in the town. We were provided with a good continental breakfast and even helped with a route to avoid roadworks. The hotel is conveniently situated in the attractive and old town centre We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel on our return journey to the UK in August. The hosts speak good English and were incredibly friendly and helpful.....they showed us where to park and also offered some good evening meal suggestions in the town ( there is no restaurant in the hotel but Bernay is full of restaurants!). We stayed in the family room overlooking the Main Street. It was perfectly acceptable and clean. There was some noise from the street but you have to expect that in a hotel in the centre of a town.

Breakfast was continental ....croissants, bread cereals etc and was very pleasant. Bernay itself is a very pretty town and is well worth a visit. The Saturday market was spectacular and we enjoyed browsing in the morning before we went to catch the ferry home. All in all, a good value stopover hotel with some authentic French charm. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the street will have some noise, especially if you stay on a Friday night as they start s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived a day earlier than planned and the charming owner found a room for the extra night without any fuss or bother. The room was clean,spacious and pleasantly furnished.The breakfast was excellent with a good variety of bread,cereal,yogurt and croissant
The hotel is in an excellent position for exploring the delightful town of Bernay and the Saturday market is literally right outside the front door. There is parking in the courtyard of the hotel. There is no restaurant but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. The owner and his wife speak good english and went out of their way to make us welcome .
Only complaint is that the towels in the bathroom were only changed once in our four night stay but that may have been an oversight of the chambermaids. Also the mattress had some kind of plastic protector under the sheet and as the weather was warm it made the bed quite hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fentonevan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with one child and husband, when I saw the room I was a bit disappointed but it was clean, the breakfast was ok, but you only get one croissant per person, which I felt :( . Te service was good, the town is lovely, and on market day it's special . The parking was fine, and there is ample of extra space for trailer in near by parking lot!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khorlor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

After a weary journey and finding that hotels in other towns weren't even open on a Sunday (!?) this hotel was our saviour!

It's incredible beautiful lobby/bar area is just as beautiful as the town it's set in. The welcome we had was just do lovely, our French isn't great but we muddled by with the help of the lovely staff. We had drinks in the bar, as the town was shut for the evening, and the lovely lady even bought over English magazines for me. Perfect.

The rooms are comfortable and what you'd expect for the very reasonable prices which are a lot less than you'd pay in the coast.

All in all I'd happily recommend the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We used this hotel as a stop over on 10 August and stayed in room 38. The triple room was perfect for our family and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was a standard continental, but the owner was very attentive to all the guests needs. We will be back in the Autumn half term and have no problems with recommending this hotel to anybody either looking for a break in Normandy or needing a stopover back to the UK. Also Bernay is a real gem of a town, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Free WiFi in all rooms, the superior room my parents had was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Lion D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion D'or

Address: 48, rue du General de Gaulle, 27300 Bernay, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Bernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Lion D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Lion D'or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.