We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax those sore muscles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Bains du Couloubret

Les Bains du Couloubret
Promenade Paul Salette,, 09110 Ax-les-Thermes, France
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Woy Woy, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great place to relax those sore muscles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been here numerous times (especially after a hard days skiing). Admission times are fixed and for 2 hours - however that is plenty of time to soak away any aches. Lots of different jets and pools to choose from. Nice to go outside (summer or winter). Children are not allowed upstairs, which is nice. There is enough room for them downstairs.
The very hot pool and very cold pool a must. plenty of showers, free lockers and changing area clean and tidy. Plenty of hair dryers and mirrors to make yourself presentable a the end of your session. Only thing missing is a cafe where you can rehydrate after (although plenty in ax to choose from). Remember to remove any silver jewellery as it will tarnish. The staff are usually pretty good and warn you before getting in the water. I haven't had a massage here yet, although one day will make the time. Will definitely be returning.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crook, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Les Bains du Couloubret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Refurbished and re-opened in 2010 this spa baths is brilliant. Many different types of massage jets, and every kind of pool you would expect to find, you can easily use the 2 hours you pay for.

Worth every penny.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great way to relax during an active holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I visited twice during a weeks stay in Ax while on a walking holiday. Unfortunately we left it too late to get a massage at the times we wanted but soon found that the different jets and things in the baths themselves provided a great tonic for tired and aching bodies. Having been to similar thermal baths in Germany, I found these onces much more interesting, fun and modern. I wouldnt go in the hot sulphur smelling room again, and couldn't bear to totally plunge into the cold pool, but having the indoor and out door pools, and the saunas etc was great. Spent the full two hours there on both occasions.

As an aside, we were told men could only wear spedo style swim suits, but this turns out to be not correct - their swimmers just need to be above their knees (although there did still seem to be differing views from the staff on this.....).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle on Tyne England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Taking the waters with a modern twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

With a town called Aix les Thermes we expected something spa like but we were extremely impressed by the bains du Couloubret they look new and include a large indoor bath a hot and cold room plus a very steamy Turkish bath room. You can move outside to a large area with a lazy river and a further bath outside on the second floor there was a warm irlando- romain bath where you could lie down in the water as if on a bed . My husband and I spent about 100 mins there on our way back from a circuit through Andorra. Each session costs 16 euros per adult for a two hour session. You can also book treatments or aqua gym sessions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foix, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best out of season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been several times but it is best avoided during the school holidays. Ax is a busy ski resort in winter and is situated in a very popular touristic region during the summer. Out of season, however, it very calm and relaxing.
The pools are not too deep (about shoulder high) so even if you do not know how to swim there are handrails everywhere. Fountains work for a while in one area of a pool until another group of fountains start up. This avoids selfish people staying put in one place and gives everyone a turn. The main pool is at about 33C. There is a pool at 15C and another at 38C. The indoor pool connects with the outdoor pool.
The price of a ticket for 2 hours is 16 euros 2013, but beware, your time begins from when you go through the turnstile into the changing rooms to when you leave through the turnstile.
There is free access to hairdryers, and your locker key is worn around your wrist as a bracelet.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Bains du Couloubret also viewed

Ax-les-Thermes, Ariege
Les Escaldes, Escaldes-Engordany Parish
 
Ax-les-Thermes, Ariege
 

Been to Les Bains du Couloubret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Bains du Couloubret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.