We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house ...good view of golf course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golf De Saint Junien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golf De Saint Junien to your Saves list
Golf De Saint Junien
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Jouberties, 87200 Saint Junien, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint Junien
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Lovely house ...good view of golf course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are not golfers, but chose to stay here for location not far from Oradour sur glane. Meals are in the golf club house, a barn type place, separate from the accommodation. Bedroom has foyer, sitting area but only with hard type dining chairs, a tv we couldn't get to work, nice bedroom and en suite. Lighting very dim. Dining was only a small choice but homely. Evening staff very pleasant and helpful. For breakfast a buffet, the staff ember hasn't spoken to is yet despite are Bon Jour. Breakfast12 euros each.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfdeSaintJunien, Public Relations Manager at Golf De Saint Junien, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for you review of the Golf club. We are pleased that you enjoyed the tranquil surroundings that the golf club offers and the homely feel of the restaurant.
We take on board all advices from our clients and will ensure that your comments are used to improve the stay of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived late at this hotel, due to getting lost trying to find it. It is really in the middle of nowhere, up some windy country lanes. There is a new road, so watch out if your directions do not factor this in (ours did not!).

There are lovely grounds with lots of parking and a great swimming pool. The morning starts early for all the golfers! However previous reviews about wifi being slow or non existent is correct. We also visited at the peak of the season when the hotel was busy; so the buffet breakfast by the time we got up, was a meagre offering of left overs from the other guests! The single overworked waitress appeared rather at a loss regarding what to do! We had to keep asking for basics like bread and milk! Other than that all went well with our stay, the rooms were comfy and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfdeSaintJunien, Public Relations Manager at Golf De Saint Junien, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review of the Golf of Saint Junien. We are pleased that you had a relaxed stay with us. We are ever so sorry for the slowness of our internet speed but unfortunately, being that we are in the tranquil countryside, the internet speed is not as speedy as most people are accustomed to. Measures have been made to search for a solution to this.
Regarding breakfast, we would like to ensure that all our guests are satisfied at the start of the day, so if you have a spare moment;, I really would like to hear your thoughts. Please contact me at : emma@golfdesaintjunien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with good size rooms, great afordable food in an inside or outside restaurant. It also has a swimming pool and a member of staff called FLO who was wonderful. Helpful, good at her job, and made us feel as if we had been friends for years. This lady made our stay so much more. Parking is plentyful and free and you are in the middle of a very nice golf course. No ruff people and being ripped off as is the norm now in france. BEST HOTEL WE HAVE HAD. Barry Lawlor. Wakefield UK

Room Tip: Wonderful, clean, classy, peaceful hotel. With a great member of staff called Flo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfdeSaintJunien, Public Relations Manager at Golf De Saint Junien, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Golf Club. I have passed your kind words onto Flo. Hoping to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a few days as my partner was visiting family who live in a town nearby. We were given a room that was part of one of the outbuildings. Standard basic room. Barely any channels on the television and the wireless internet barely worked- which was a headache since my partner was doing work and for me there isn't anything else to do here! Had to go into the restaurant area whenever we needed to use our computers.
Besides that, the staff are very friendly. The restaurant food was ok. They did have some lovely wine though.
Unfortunately, during our stay we weren't here to play golf, which is really the only reason I would say someone should come stay here. The prices are relatively low per night but there are absolutely zero amenities, so its not that much of a shock.
For our visiting purposes, we would have been better off staying somewhere in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfdeSaintJunien, Public Relations Manager at Golf De Saint Junien, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving your review for the Golf de Saint Junien.

We are sorry to hear that the internet was not to standard during your stay. We have since reviewed this temporary problem and resolved the issues that you experienced.

We aim to inform all future clients of the wonderful things to see and to do in the surrounding areas during their stay. Whilst we are a golf resort, set in the beautiful, tranquil countryside, there are many excursions and places of interest in the surrounding towns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed there as part of a motorcycle tour down to the South of France. This is a golf hotel and should be viewed in that way. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The restaurant and bar were basically in a former barn. We wen't offered any selection of meal, but what we got was excellent basic french cuisine (also well priced), with very good cheap local wines. It was well worth dropping by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfdeSaintJunien, Public Relations Manager at Golf De Saint Junien, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Golf of Saint Junien.

We are sorry that you did not receive a full suggestion of available meals in the restaurant and hope that if you return one day, you will find that our newly joined chef has an abundance of mouth watering suggestions for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Logis Hotel Le Relais De Comodoliac in St. Junien (Charente, France) is an excellent place to stay in the Limoges area. It is not ‘fancy’ but the rooms are good, the restaurant is amongst the better ones in the area and the service is overly friendly. Prices are very reasonable. About € 70. Although the hotel has only two stars, it deserves much better.

Who likes an absolute quiet place may choose the Golf Saint Junien Hotel. A good room (also quite simple) is about € 110. A good place for people who want to be ‘in the middle of nowhere’. The restaurant however is mediocre but the staff is friendly.

Two good opportunities for travelers who want to visit Oradour-sur-Glane, the village that was destroyed during WWII and is kept like it was after the destruction by the SS, as a monument. Extremely impressing.
Worthwhile visiting when you travel the Charente area.

Simon Hammelburg

Room Tip: Just call the hotel and ask for a quiet room and the best one they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We found this hotel on a website and booked it, it was very good price for one night whilst we where travelling around the area. It was 58.03 Euros + 11.00 Euros for breakfast. We had been travelling around France and wanted somewhere different to stay and this was lovely and quite. It's an old farm house with outer building's which has been converted into a golf course and rooms. It was very lovely, but I should imagine even better in the summer. It had a pool, walks around the property, but it's best to ask first. The rooms where good simplistic decor, good shower and was lovely and warm. We had visited when it was a bit cold and there was a huge thunder storm, which as beautiful to watch from the warm and glow of the huge open fire from the restaurant sofa's with a brandy or two.
The menu was absolutely lovely best meal of the holiday, all freshly prepared local produce. It was very relaxing after a hard days sight seeing. The staff could not do enough for you, very very friendly.
The only thing I would say, that you need to be careful when opening the door to your room, as some of the rooms the door open outwards and you could accidentally knock someone out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf De Saint Junien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf De Saint Junien

Address: Les Jouberties, 87200 Saint Junien, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Saint Junien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint Junien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golf De Saint Junien 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf of Saint Junien is a hotel and 18 hole golf course situated in the green hills of the Limousin between the towns of Limoges and Angoulême.With its picturesque location, the Golf of Saint-Junien is also the ideal place to organise meetings, private events and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golf De Saint Junien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf De Saint Junien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.