We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duc de Padoue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duc de Padoue to your Saves list
Hotel Duc de Padoue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 place Padoue, 20250 Corte, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corte
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A nice, clean and spacious room. Well located for the town. Plenty of parking available nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely walks and nice restaurants close by. Adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
52
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Duc de Padoue is just off the main street of Corte in a pleasant tree filled boulevard. Very central for all parts of the town. The hotel is in a tenement-like building which looks a bit off putting when you first enter. The ground floor lobby could be made more attractive than it is. Reception on the first floor is staffed by helpful young people willing, for example, to make restaurant bookings for the more popular locations. Breakfast was adequate with a reasonable range of items in the somewhat utilitarian breakfast room. Our first floor room with balcony looked out over a car park and adjacent tenements so not too stunning! But the room itself was fine. The town and surroundings are well worth visiting. There are some good walks in neighboring valleys and mountains.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I hate writing negative reviews, so I will try to be as objective about this as possible. It was our least favourite hotel of a 16-day tour of France (in 14 different hotels). We booked it because of the reviews on tripadvisor, but we were seriously disappointed.

The hotel is more like a guesthouse than a hotel. The reception is on the first floor or a musty mouldy building. The room we had was on the ground floor, which I believe is shared with other tenants of the building. We had booked a superior room with a balcony. Our balcony was overlooking a dusty parking lot. I believe we paid more for the balcony! You couldn’t sit out on it as it was on the same level as the street.

The room was quite small and poorly furnished. It had two double beds, which took up most of the space.

The bathroom was equally small and falling apart. We didn’t dare touch some of the shelving units lest they fell apart. It certainly was not the “superior twin room” I had expected and at €100 was a rip-off!

The room was clean and had air-conditioning and the street was quiet, so we got a good night’s sleep. Breakfast was cheap in all senses. It cost only one euro, but the quality of the food was poor. Would I go back-no!

Click “yes” if this helped you make a decision!

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

right in the centre of Corte but in a silent side road.
originally no hotel, therefore it doesn't look like a hotel.
very nice staff. very modern and nice room. nice bathroom.
excellent breakfast.

Corte is perfect for hiking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel due de Padoue for two separate nights while on our honeymoon in September. Although I have nothing negative to say about the hotel, the only reason I wouldn't rate it as excellent is that it was a nice hotel, just not the best one I've ever stayed in.
Some of the great things about our stay:
1) they are excellent with communicating with you to help you before your arrival with any questions. Several of the staff have excellent English speaking skills.
2) They allowed us to store some of our luggage while we were out hiking for 4 days, and then returned to stay our second night.
3) They recommended a very good restaurant (the one that is on their prix fixe menu suggestion that they add on onto your bill).
4) They had very helpful staff who got us information about buses, transfers, recommended other restaurants, showed us how to access hiking trails.
5) The breakfast was the most diverse and best breakfast we had while in Corsica (and arguably on our entire honeymoon), and it is included in the price.
6) small balcony is nice
7) air conditioning in rooms
8) they allowed us to store our luggage while they were cleaning a room for us, and allowed us to check into our room early which helped since we arrived quite early due to the limited bus/train schedule from Calvi.

Although we didn't see them inside, I don't know that I would have wanted to stay in one of the ground-level rooms. They seemed darker and perhaps not as nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Super friendly and professional staff makes up for an average hotel overlooking a beautiful, quiet side-piazza not far from the center of town. The room was nothing to write home about, but breakfast was good and nicely served. Though a bit too expensive for value, strikes me as a good place to stay in while in Corte.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are below street level. Better to avoid them if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days at the start of September, which was an ideal location to explore the central area of Corsica, just a shame about the weather. Unfortunately for us where was severe thunder storms and rain the few days we stayed here, but I do believe we would have really enjoyed it a whole lot more if the weather had been better.

The hotel and room are so well equipped and clean and our room was great. We had a room with a balcony, which although being on the back of the hotel I think must have been one of the better rooms. The day or so we had of sunny weather it was great to sit on the sunny balcony with a glass of wine and our books.

There is a TV in the room and a shower in the bathroom, I’m not sure if any rooms have baths. The air con works well and you can use a computer right by reception. The breakfast was great too and you get to make toast which I find some hotels don’t have. You can park right outside for free and although it can take 5 minutes to get a space, you should persevere. But if all else fails there is a car park (payable) at the back of the hotel.

The location is great, just off the main street, which isn’t too long with the main square at the other end. There are lots of cafes and restaurants and climb a little up the hill to find even more. Not much of a climb.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duc de Padoue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duc de Padoue

Address: 2 place Padoue, 20250 Corte, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Corte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duc de Padoue 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Duc de Padoue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc De Padoue Corte, Corsica, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duc de Padoue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.