We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby rather than chic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau les Merles

Save Saved
You added Chateau les Merles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau les Merles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tuilieres, 24520 Mouleydier, Bergerac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mouleydier
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shabby rather than chic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In my view, this hotel is dated and in need of a re-fit to restore it to a level that would be commensurate with the price. At the moment it is simply poor value for money.

Bed linen in our room was extremely worn and had large holes in the duvet cover. It was replaced upon my request however the new set was in an equally poor condition (smaller holes this time!).

The pool area was not sufficiently cleaned and left overnight with used towels strewn across the beds. Our room had a view of the pool so this was not particularly attractive and certainly not worth the additional sum paid for a room with a view!

Breakfast lacks the fresh produce that you would expect in a French chateau at this price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    53
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
93
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was by chance we popped in here and so pleased we did. Although they appeared to very busy, we were ushered to an shaded table in the shingled courtyard and presented with welcome drinking's and tapas, such a wonderful surprise and so welcoming in the summer heat.
We had a lovely night in a beautiful room, enjoyed the pool some distance from the room, set out in a lovely lawn setting. By then it came as no surprise that the dinner would be equally wonderful and it was. But the breakfast will always stand out in my mind as it was the only place (and we stayed in many in France,) that managed to present scrambled eggs beautifully. Breakfast setting had rustic charm and lovely food set in large open kitchen/Barn setting. Would return, loved it.

Room Tip: We consider that finding a good room would be no problem here - from what we saw they were all great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staying at Les Merles for a long weekend to celebrate the marriage of my Son and his Fiance was an incredible experience. From arrival to departure was just excellence, The accommodation, meal experiences, amazing service from all the staff made for an unforgettable weekend. The arrangements were brilliant and if asked how L could have made the stay better I would have been lost for words.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent a week at Château les Merles at the beginning of July and couldn't have been more thrilled with our choice. We nearly always use Mr and Mrs Smith Hotels in France and this has been our best experience so far. Lillian and Reiner on the front desk helped us sort out our difficulties with Europcar and helped us plan restaurants and outings. They could not have been more helpful or efficient. All of the staff were polite and very welcoming. The quality of the food was fabulous and it was refreshing to have options such as Thai Beef Salad and lots of vegetables as well as regional specialties. We were upgraded to a villa for the length of our stay and the decor was both contempory and sophisticated. I would love to know where to buy the rug in the sitting room. We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel and hope to come back with either friends or family.Kim Thompson

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last minute at one of the Villa's. The reception on arrival and throughout our stay was excellent and very welcoming despite being a noisy family of five.
The hotel was a beautiful respite and the villas and pools were a great holiday.
We had wonderful food at the restaurant and very kind and helpful service. We would recommend this hotel for a family but would also look forward to coming back on our own.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay at Les Merles was a wedding anniversary present. We live not too far away in the Lot so we are quite used to varying standards at hotels and restaurants. We also play golf so were able to enjoy playing on a very well designed course - by no means easy. The hotel itself was very good - we liked the open plan Perigord kitchen, very interesting and the food produced was of a very high standard. Our room was comfortable, typical of an old chateau with lots of beams and small windows. (Care was needed on the winding staircase). Overall a very pleasant experience with well trained and friendly staff. The Chateau Merles red wine was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were so looking forward to staying at the Chateau but were left disappointed and for once actually happy to move on to somewhere else. Room large and modern but too sparse. TV the size of a small PC on a tiny table. No mini bar, bin or anywhere other than one small table to put things on. Bathroom was good though. Front of desk helpful However, the food in the restaurant was a huge disappointment. It promised so much and delivered so little. Bland, tasteless, not much choice. Fine for one night but would really not recommend it for more than that. We had a waiter who really wasn't interested as well. Got our bill before we ordered it when my partner had already said we would like a coffee. Which brings me on to the coffee they have a problem making coffee think bitter, watery ie so bad at breakfast one morning most people drank tea! I actually couldn't be bothered to pay the 15 euros for breakfast as knew it would be poor! So if they cant make coffee imagine what the food is like! Basically it is an ok place and the views are lovely but would suggest you eat in Bergerac and there are a lot better places to stay!

Room Tip: Probably ok if you like playing golf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau les Merles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau les Merles

Address: Tuilieres, 24520 Mouleydier, Bergerac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Mouleydier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mouleydier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau les Merles 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Dordogne, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Sarlat in the heart of Bergerac vineyards and forests on the hills of the Dordogne river, Château les Merles offers a gourmet restaurant, a boutique luxury hotel and a challenging 9-hole golf course with driving range and putting green, swimming pool, tennis court and wellness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chateau les Merles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Merles Mouleydier
Chateau Les Merles France/Mouleydier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau les Merles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.