We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horribly expensive, terrible value: dont't stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Resort Adriatic

Save Saved
You added Holiday Resort Adriatic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Resort Adriatic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mokalo 6, Orebic 20250, Croatia (Formerly Adriatic Apartments Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Orebic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horribly expensive, terrible value: dont't stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Please do not book an apartment here. Would be worth it for 80 euros only just, but no way is it worth 110 in summer months.

The room is very clean, but uninspiring and lacks character.

Cost us a £9+ taxi - or £10 transfer of arranged by Adriatic - to get here. They said they couldn't collect us from Orebic or arrange a transfer, for us only to find this was a common arrangement for other guests.

Fridge door can only open by opening a cupboard next to it (broken-off handle). Shower waist high.

TV stuck behind the wardrobe and unit visible from one side of bed - actually about 12 feet from foot of bed so can hardly see what's on it.

There were 5 tv channels: 3 analogue Croatian channels, a Croatian news channel (satellite) + CNN (satellite). Not quite sure this constitutes satellite TV. Currently watching Olympics on crappy Croatian channel - 90% of time no signal!

Basic premise - we expect a lot more for £85 per night!!! We complained & got bad attitude, eg 'we have what tv we can get here': that would be fine if we weren't paying premium for the pleasure.

Swimming pool is VERY small - the photo on tripadvisor shows small corner of pool. Small beach nearby shared by 2 other camp sites.

Too far from town to walk. Asked way to shop: 1.5k away; advised driving, we had no car: advised hitch-hiking.

This resort over-sells, presumes every tourist has a car, and charges extortionate rates to stay here. After 110 Euros, who expects to pay £4 per hour for Wifi?

Good thing is: we hitch-hiked successfully & got better price beer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaticOrebic, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Resort Adriatic, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests!
First of all, thank you for such a comprehensive description of your Holidays. Considering that you are not completely satisfied with anything, we think that the problem is somewhere else ... We always strive for the fact that guests are satisfied with us and we will try to do things which are dependent on us and fix it. On some things, unfortunately we can not have control, such as a transfer ... other things, we will certainly fix and improve. Also Wi-Fi is free of charged on public figures and restaurant area and surroundings. Thank you again on your extensive comment.
Regards, from Adriatic Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at the campground around the apartments. Here are our tips:
- bring very sturdy tent nails (the long kind) and a hammer
- bring an electric plate for cooking rather than gas (pines all over the place, fire hazard)
- make sure you have leveling equipment for tables
- rather bring 2 small tents than a big one, tent sites are very small
- bring earplugs -- if you neighbor snores, you will hear it
- don't go the last week of July -- there is a local festival with loud music until 2 am and drunken singing until 7
- bring a boat so you can row out for some quiet (the beach is full)

The location is very nice and the water super clean. The showers are also cleaned regularly (however, there are only 4 showers for 40 tent sites). The spaces are VERY small and the beach is overcrowded. The restaurant and beach bar offer nice food at a reasonable price. Every morning, you can get fresh bread from a local baker.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were looking for a place to decompress and we found it. Our view across Orebic toward Korcula was beautiful, especially one day when rain threatened (apparently it mostly just threatens but only a few drops ever fall). We loved Sabina and Igor, the owners, and got lots of great advice from Daniel, our favorite waiter at dinner. My husband is allergic to wheat and Sabina, a former nurse, made sure he didn't accidentally get any in his meals and pointed out which yogurts didn't have any. The food was very good and there was lots to choose from for breakfast. The beach area, lunch bar, and pool were all great places to hang out. We're actually talking about going back with the whole family!

Room Tip: If you want a large room, ask for the one to the left at the top of the stairs. We loved the view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We had planned to stay for 2 weeks, but were very disappointed: the apartment was really dirty, the building was noisy (made of concrete!). It looked good on photos but the apartments are surrounded by a camp ground – no place to walk and very crowded. When we ask very friendly for a change of apartment they owner showed her real face…very harshly and not offering anything else. So we decided to leave. And she didn’t give any of the money back we had to pay in advance! We went to Corcula and find much better places - and much cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaticOrebic, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Resort Adriatic, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Oscar!
Thank you for your extensive comments on Internet portals ... We would like you to be correct.
Price for your apartment, you have known before the arrival. That the apartments within the camp, you were well known in advance, as this is published on our internet site. In our Web is available all the information and pictures from apartments. You've come in the high season and expect to be alone on the beach?
For our guests we care and always strive to satisfy every desire, if possible. Changing apartment in the heart of the season, when are all full, unfortunately is not possible ...
We appreciate your review, but also asking you to be a little more correct in the future also to other apartments or hotels.
Regards, Adriatic Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We arrived at camp adriatic in the early afternoon and were met by one of the most genuienly friendly people we have ever met, the receptionist Anita. She showed us around and made us feel that absolutly nothing would be a problem. We were staying in the campsite and she showed us a great spot away from the families and with some of the most amazing views of the adriatic sea, korcula island, and the mountains.

The food in the campsite restaurant was some of the best food we had during our stay in croatia and I would recommend anyone try the grilled scampi and the postup wine made by the owners father. It was all reasonably priced aswell which was excellent. The beach bar also was excellent for small snacks during the day and although I'm not a fan of squid I heard alot of people rave about the Calimari. We chatted often to a waiter from Zagreb who was always friendly efficient and gave some of the best table service we have experienced. We tipped him extensively everytime we ate there.

The toilets and showers were cleaned regularly and had a constant supply of hand towels and toilet roll. There are two large communal fridges, which were really handy.

My Fiancee and I would recommend this place to anybody and we hope that it wont be long before we return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Excellent breakfast. Very good services provided by the hotel staff, very helpful and frendly. Very good location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicenza
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I would not recommend this place because even though the beach is great it was really crowded in august and the apartement wasn't so nice.
Moreover, it was no possible to go jogging or go for a walk because right outside the camping (that is not so big) there is a street with cars driving very fast.
the breakfast that was included in our offer was has been the same for 14 days...I think they could include something different sometimes. Dinner à la carte was good

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Resort Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Resort Adriatic

Address: Mokalo 6, Orebic 20250, Croatia (Formerly Adriatic Apartments Hotel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Peljesac Peninsula > Orebic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Orebic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Resort Adriatic 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday resort "Adriatic", apartment hotel run by the Mikulic family, is situated on the most stunning part of the Croatia Adriatic coast on the southern slopes of the Peljesac Peninsular in Mokalo, 4 kilometers east of Orebic. It overlooks the island of Korcula, and is shaded by hundred-year-old pine and olive trees which border an exquisite pebble beach and crystal blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Resort Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Resort Adriatic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.