We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Selena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Selena to your Saves list
Hotel Selena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yani Popov, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Sozopol
Boston UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just back from a month at the Selena our 4th stay in this fantastic hotel - the position is ideal - the staff are amazing so helpful and friendly they make you so welcome and cannot do enough to help you - the food is excellent - looking forward for booking to go next year -

Room Tip: we have stayed both at the front of the hotel which is on the road and also on the back which is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
52
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington Northumberland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Selena Hotel, Sozopol, Bulgaria
LOCATION. The hotel has an excellent location, just on the edge of the new part of Sozopol and less than 10 minutes walk to the old town. There is a great deal of construction going on in the new part of Sozopol and as you go further into the newer part it is nothing but hotels and blocks of apartments, not particularly attractive. The Selena is literally on the beach front, only 20 metres from the sea and so has some lovely views. Unfortunately the beach and sea were both affected badly with seaweed but another beach within 5 minutes walk was lovely and clean. Within10 minutes walk there is a municipal swimming pool if the weather is inclement. Restaurants abound in the area, in both the old and new towns.

ROOM. The room was a decent size, the bathroom had a shower, wash basin and toilet.
All of the rooms have television and free wifi. We could not fault the cleanliness, the rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day. There was an abundance of hot water, even when we arrived at 02.45. We never experienced the hot water running out half way through a shower, thank goodness! We paid extra for a sea view and it was worth every penny. The balcony had a fantastic view across the bay to Old Sozopol. We did find the towels a bit thin & not very absorbent & would take our own if we returned.

FACILITIES The hotel has an excellent restaurant. We booked bed and breakfast and found a really good choice every morning. We had a couple of evening meals there and the food was of a high standard and well presented, service was always friendly and efficient. We also had room service for one of our evening meals and, again, the service was excellent. There is a spa but I cannot comment on that because we didn’t use it. The pool is very small and very cold – we didn't brave it. The restaurant has a large outdoor area which faces the sea but as all the smokers sit outside you trade the view with cigarette smoke drifting across whilst eating. We preferred to eat inside and then go and sit outside with a drink. On the ground level there is a sunbathing area with sunbeds and a pool bar. There was always plenty of beds and no-one snaffled a bed at stupid o’clock by putting a towel on! We did stay before the season really started so perhaps the beds are more in demand in the height of the season.

STAFF We found the staff very friendly and obliging. There was always a smile and “hello” as you passed any of them.

We cannot compare this hotel to any others in the resort as this was our first visit to Bulgaria. All we can say is that if we return to Sozopol we would definitely choose to stay at Selena Hotel. Suffice to say that some guests we spoke to have been going there every year for a number of years.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, it is well worth the money. We requested a high floor (there's only4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stara Zagora, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is a small compact with a nice view of the bay.
Near the sea, nice garden for children to play, a nice restaurant with great views of the old town and the sea. The food is delicious and well prepared.
Rooms are clean and well maintained. Ideal for a romantic weekend with your loved one or a family weekend with the kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have been going to the Selena for ten years the staff feel like family and make a fuss of my 85 yrs old mum every time she goes, they make a special effort to make sure she is near the lift save walking.
Can ot say enough good things about them and the people we meet there.
Paula 117

Room Tip: we like the ones facing the road plenty to see,sea view can be cool and in shade but fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have stayed at the same hotel twice a year for 3 years. this is a great value for money hotel and feels like it should have a higher rating. the hotel offers a great restaurant, fantastic food, comfortable rooms and great spa facility. best of all, stroll out of the hotel door, across the lawn and your on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel during the last week in September. It was the last week of the season so Sozopol was less crowded than earlier in the season and there were some great shopping bargains to be made in the old town, providing you got to them before they closed down for the winter! We were very lucky with the weather, as good weather can't be guaranteed this late in the year. We had been booked into a room with a partial sea view but were upgraded at no cost to a sea view. This proved to be a mixed blessing. On the positive side we had a glorious view. However, our room (S105) was immediately above the restaurant, which had entertainment (the same europop/country/early pop trio) from Monday to Thursday night. This went on until 11:30pm, except for Friday when, unknown to us, the entertainment was planned to go on to 1.0am. This turned out to be a sort of Bulgarian folk dance/disco mix with lots of whoops and shouts, so loud that the party felt like it was going on in our room. Apparently, people staying in rooms facing the street weren't disturbed by the noise. By 12.30am on the Friday/Saturday I had had enough and went to reception, my complaint was taken seriously, and the disco was ended early. The next morning we came back from breakfast to find two half bottles of wine, two glasses and a written apology from the 'staff team'. This typified the staff of the hotel. They were, without exception, always friendly and helpful. A special mention here should go to the chamber maid, who kept our room pristine throughout our stay. We went on two trips during the week. The first was a 'jeep safari', mainly off-roading, but with a very nice mid-day meal and a short air rifle target shoot. The second was a coach trip to the Blue Mountains, including a really interesting self sufficient Bulgarian village, with buskers (local men who played us around the village waiting for tips!). We'd really recommend this hotel. However, avoid the sea facing rooms over the restaurant unless you intend to go to the entertainment every night or you like to stay out late each night. I would have given 5 stars if we had been in a quieter room.

Room Tip: Choose a street-facing room or a room on the third floor facing the sea if you want a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from staying at the Hotel Selena. I'm usually very wary of staying in less than a 4 star, but this wee hotel put those fears to bed. The hotel was cleaned constantly, the staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive and the food in the restaurant was great value for money.
When filling in their questionaire you are asked to pick out a member of staff for good service. I found this impossible to do as they were all excellent. A few names to go on with are, Iliyana and Vera on reception, Rado and Tanya in the lobby bar and Desislava in the breakfast room.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the girl kept them spotless.
My one complaint is that we only stayed for a week.
Great wee hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Selena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selena

Address: 7 Yani Popov, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sozopol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sozopol
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sozopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selena 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Selena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selena Hotel Sozopol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Selena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.