We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, poor employee and old rooms.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bulgaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bulgaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bulgaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Aleksandrovska str, Burgas 8000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in Burgas
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good location, poor employee and old rooms.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are need to repair.Building remains from communist regym,really cool architect and smart original decoration.But needs really good fixing many things.Rugs smells dust,rooms smells deeply smoke.
Employee stoned all the time.They like a wall. No reaction,no communication.Some girls on reception was helpful but mostly looks like sombody forcing them to be there!!
Breakfast is great,many international and domestic choises on open buffet.They pretty expensive because it was only one in Burgas 20 years ago, but they still in dreaming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Batufuat,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review hotel Bulgaria Burgas!

We agree that our perfect location is one of our most valuable assets. We are also making everyday efforts to make our hotel more comfortable and enjoyable place to stay as we are trying to make our services better and even more satisfactory for our guests.

Please, next you visit out hotel and you notice something which is letting you down contact a manager or leave a comment so we can take adequate actions.

Hoping to see you as a guest of hotel Bulgaria Burgas again!

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing manager
Hotel Bulgaria burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
1
22
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Short business trip, so decided upon a central hotel. That is as far as I would recommend this establishment. Breakfast was inedible, staff indifferent bordering upon rude. Room dated and spartan. Hotel in need of total refurb. Prostitutes openly plying for trade within the hotel. This in no way a 4 star hotel - I travel extensively and would rate this as between 2 and 3 stars (leaning more to 2).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Simonsolo1

I am so sorry that you were disappointed from your stay in hotel Bulgaria Burgas. I respect your opinion and I do not want to argue with you about it but I think that a description like "appalling" is far far away from the standard and the services that we offer to our guests. We receive many positive reviews and letters of thanks from our guests and that is why I am so surprised by getting such e negative review.

We are working every day for improving the services that we offer, so next time you visit us I hope you will be more satisfied.

In connection with the breakfast I can only mention that we have a large variety of fresh fruits and vegetables, cold cuts and cheeses, continental and English breakfast. Our breakfast is being approved by 90% of our guests. Obviously you are at those 10% who did not like it.

Even though as I said above we would love to see you as our guest again and I am sure you will get a better experience with us.

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Generally, the hotel is nice. We got a room with a view to the beach, this is a must! It's also located in the best location in the city of burgas. 10 mins walk to the beach, 2 mins walk to the pedestrian malls. The price is too expensive for such an old hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room in high floor and a sea view. It's a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Tomer G,

Thank you very much for staying at hotel Bulgaria Burgas and taking the time to review our hotel !

We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our main advantages - the perfect location /the best in Burgas/ and the magnificent panoramic views over the city and the Black sea.

We hope to see you as our guest again!

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotell is not too recomand to any one !!! Nothings works. Aircond, foodservice, no roomservice and the communication is very bad. They are not yet preparde to have turists in Bulgaria !"...........................................................................

Room Tip: Maybe another hotell..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
DeaR Frode B,

I am very much suspicious that you have stayed at our hotel at all. We have individually controlled air conditioning system in every room, we have room service from 7 am until 11 pm and most of all we have not had any complaints from our services in the past days. So if you stayed at our hotel and you were not satisfied with our services why didn't you complain at the reception desk or at the restaurant's manager ?
As far as I see this is you first review and you are from Burgas, so I think it is written with malicious intention.

Sorry if I am mistaken but I doubt so.

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not 4 star at all!!! No more than 2 star! Dirty carpet, old furniture in the smallest room I ever been, no toiletries in the bathroom. If you want to use the jacuzzi you have to pay for, if you want to use the thinnest underground parking you have to pay for it again and can scratch your car and so on. They didn't find our reservation half an hour and just say The hotel is fully booked, there is no room available. The breakfast was good enough. Overall Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for reviewing hotel Bulgaria Burgas.

I am so much surprised by the opinion that you have written and I am very sorry for the disappointment that you have from you stay with us.

I would like just to clarify that you have stayed at hotel Bulgaria during the biggest music festival in Bulgaria when all the hotels in Burgas are fully booked months before the event. It is true that for the period 3-6 August hotel Bulgaria was totally sold out and we had like 20 requests for reservation on stand by in case of cancellation. This is not an excuse of course, but is is a fact that the girls at the reception desk were extremely busy during these days.

In all advertisements and presentations that we have it is said that the swimming pool is free of charge, but yes, the jaccuzzi is an extra that one should pay for as well as the massages, the sauna and the steam room.

The parking lot in front of the hotel is owned and managed by the city municipality, so you pay to them and not to hotel Bulgaria. Unfortunately this is how the hotel was build back in 1976 and there is nothing what we can do about it.

All our rooms were renovated in the period between 2003 and 2009 so I do not think that they are as old as you describe it. Everyone has the right of opinion though and I respect yours.

And finally we do have toiletries in every room. If it really happened like that and you didn't have toiletries in you room please let me know the room number so I can investigate the case.

I hope we'll have the chance to see you again as our guest, so we'll have the opportunity to show you how comfortable and how welcoming our staff and our hotel may be.

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The rooms in this renovated hotel are quite OK. Also all facilities seems not bad at all. Rooms are spacious and are clean. The only problem with this hotel is the staff at the reception. They are totally inefficient and are shouting to their customers. Didn't believe it. It's a pity this service, otherwise I should rate this hotel with more credits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing hotel Bulgaria for your stay in Burgas !

We are so glad that you were satisfied with the services and the amenities that we offer to our guests.

I am personally very sorry about your disappointment from out reception desk staff. They are usually very friendly and polite. I do not not the reason that they reacted like that towards you, but I would like to apologize on their behalf. If you let me know the date you were treated rude and impolite we shall investigate the case.

I can assure you that we do our best to offer first class services to our guests and we keep on working hard on that.

We hope to see you again as our guest !
Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Nice 4 star hotel in the heart of the city. Near the railway and bus stations. Well maintained, clean rooms with new furniture. The only unpleasant impression women cleaning the rooms. Noisy in the morning directly into a room without even knock! This happened to me twice, the tenth and ninth floors. Excellent breakfast. In a word, good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bulgaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bulgaria

Address: 21 Aleksandrovska str, Burgas 8000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Burgas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 hotels in Burgas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bulgaria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bulgaria is a luxury business hotel situated in the heart of Bourgas. As soon as the guest enters the lobby, he can only appreciate the calm atmosphere and peacefulness, which he has found. Welcomed by a friendly and attentive team, he will immediately feel at home. The special care given to the smallest details is the final touch to the general harmony of a place where it feels good to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bulgaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bulgaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.