We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landhotel Romerhof

Save Saved
You added Landhotel Romerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Landhotel Romerhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romerplatz 1, Dorfgastein 5632, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dorfgastein
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

First of all, do not travel from Serbia, on days after Orthodox Christmas, as all „Gastarbeiter" want to go back to their current place of residence, away from home. It took us 15 hours, two major border crossing traffic jams, one paytoll jam and big accident on the outskirts of Ljubljana for 800km. Family run hotel manager waited for us (we have arrived at 2, after midnight) and prepared a rich, cold dinner (almost breakfast). We were in an aparthouse, not in the same building as the hotel, but we appreciated two rooms, more than warm connection to the restaurant. We opted for HB accomodation. The cable car is 300m from the hotel, it could be possible to go on skiis, but with such a high snow border, it was almost impossible to drag kids on sleigh.
APARTMENT: It was spacious, with a terrace facing mountain, nice bathroom, separated from WC, though. WC was without a place to wash hands. The living room was big enough for the sofa to be left in extended position. The kitchen had enough utensils and plates, the whole place was cleaned regurarily. The apart-hotel is in a good position in the village, but the village lacks any entertainment options, so a trip to nearby Hofgastein was needed often.
FOOD: Very good meal, plenty to choose from, not too much "recycling" (leftovers from last night), local products, neat water trick (many choices, apparently each different in character). Cheese types variuos, meat available. They were willing to help those with special food needs.
SERVICE: To a very high standard most of the time, the slowness could be attributed to many nervous guests or tos the fact that we were not pushing them too much.

We were on a horse sleigh/carriage ride and it was magnificent, all of us four curled under the blanket, almost untouched nature across the river from the hotel. Worth a try.

Room Tip: Just say what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The whole family enjoyed our skiing holiday at the Landhotel Römerhof. The food was very good. The relaxation area was good. The hotel is not situated in the slopes but it is not far from the skii-area Dorfgastein/Grossarl. By car or bus it is approximately 10 minutes to Bad Hofgastein and 20 minutes to Badgastein.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Excellent hotel for families, who wants quality and value, when they go skiing in Austia.
We have been visiting the hotel 8 times since 1994, and are always leaving with happy memories. We will be back in 2011!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HejSweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We were three families from Sweden, travelling with children age 9 to 13. Hotel Roemerhof is located in the village not far from the Ski center. Nice and clean hotel with a superb SPA department with three different kinds of Saunas, whirlpool, pool, nice relax room etc.
Every night we very served a four – five course meal from a very friendly waiter from Slovakia.
We truly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Dorfgastein.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed for the 4. time a week over the new year 09/10 at this excellent hotel. First of all we like the friendly, cozy and professionel atmosphere. Familien Hasenauer and their excellent staff gives everybody a great service, wonderfull food but everything is given in a friendly and cozy atmosphere. Mr. Hasenauer has got a great winecellar - and the price for wine is resonable.The rooms are in top and perfect for our famely wtih 4 members. They have got a great spa and poolarea - our kids loved it. They arranged a great new year party with a prof. 7 courses menu - 3 stars worth in the Michelin guide. And we loved the whole party with Tyroler music - Very fun.
The hotel are situated in the middle off a small and cozy village. Their skibus system is perfect with only 5 min. transport to the liftstation every 15 min.- and the skiarea is great - no waiting times at the liftstation.
We can recomand this hotel to everybody and we are looking forward to come again
A paradis on earth - and their prices is very resonable.

Saugstrup, family
Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Have visited this hotel twice. On both occasions we've had a fantastic time. The welcome from the Family who manages the hotel is always warm, and they run an extremely tight ship. The Spa is great (kids love it) and the restaurant serves great home-made traditional Austrian food. The hotel is pretty much spotless. The hotel also offers free cycle hire, and they are always eager to help in any way they can.

Highly recommended for families with kids.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

spent there a one-week skiing holiday, very friendly staff and nice atmosphere, the hospitality of the hotel-owners and staff was excellent, bit spa area with pool, sauna and relaxing area, very nice wine tasting with hotel manager

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Landhotel Romerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Romerhof

Address: Romerplatz 1, Dorfgastein 5632, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Dorfgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dorfgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhotel Romerhof 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Landhotel Romerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landhotel Romerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.