We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de las Aves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas de las Aves
La Union Road, Uvita 11901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty lodging in Uvita
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Hard to find enough superlatives to describe our stay at villas de las aves. Wonderful hosts, fantastic location, great decor (we stayed in the Villa Paloma), stunning scenery, superb cooking. Was hard to drag ourselves away from the bird watching to visit other locations, but definitely worth walking some of the nearby beaches, doing the snorkeling trip to Cano Island, visiting local waterfalls if you get the time. Thanks so much Sarah and Paul for a truly memorable week.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calistoga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Villa de las Aves is a perfect place to stay if you have several days in Uvita. It is quiet, private and situated on a beautiful piece of property. The kitchen was great so that we could cook our own breakfast and coffee. We were able to walk to a nearby waterfall and swim, as well as use Villa as a good base for exploring the southern coast area.
Paul and Sarah were very pleasant and helpful, throughout our stay. Sarah picked up some fresh tuna for us while she was out getting supplies that we cooked one evening. They provided great recommendations on what to do and where to go.
Highly recommend getting a home made pizza from Sarah while you are there. Just what we needed upon arrival. Casita was nicely furnished, very comfortable and had everything that we needed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krems an der Donau, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This Small Place is wonderful for relaxing, Adventure and Meeting nice People As well.It is so much Fun to drive up the Road and enjoy the River Walking in Stead of always go to the Beach.Feel and hear the Nature od uvita. We will definitiv dry to come back again to this Place.........................................................................................

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I don't have enough good things to say about "villa de las aves". I just returned from a week there with my 5 year old son and my new girlfriend and i'm almost afraid to write this review in fear it will be booked when I try and return. I have been traveling to Costa Rica for 12 years and have never felt so at home. Thanks Paul and Sarah!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Last week we stayed at Villas de Las Aves for three nights. Paul and Sarah ( the owners) simply added luxury to paradise. Nestled in the mountains only minutes from the beaches, they have created a beautiful get away retreat, overlooking the two creeks running down from the mountains above. Waking up to only the sounds of the running creek and nature was wonderful and yet the accomodations are luxurious with full amenities. I would strongly recommend this place for anyone visiting Cost Rica, who wants to be a part of the abundant wild life and scenery this place has to offer. We had an amazing time. Bruce and Mary Ft Lauderdale. USA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We spent two wonderful weeks in the Villa Paloma, and absolutely loved it. If relaxing, bird watching, deserted beach walking and jungle exploring are what you're looking for, then this is the place for you! Be sure to rent a 4x4 for the road in to the villas and for exploring further afield, as the roads are pretty bumpy (which also means less traffic & more wildlife). The other reviews say it all, so just relax & enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We have just returned from an 18 night stay in Villa Paloma and wishing very much that we were still there! All of the reviews below are correct - beautiful setting; great accommodation and facilities and wonderful owners and their animals. It's a great location for exploring the south pacific coast - and even further afield. Our top tip though - there is amazing wildlife viewing from your terrace and don't do so much "stuff" that you miss the tranquility this very special place provides. If you are going to Costa Rica we heartily recommend Villas de las Aves!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas de las Aves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de las Aves

Address: La Union Road, Uvita 11901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas De Las Aves is available again after a long term rental and an extensive renovation.We now offer a large 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom house with gourmet kitchen, laundry room with washer & dryer, lounge/TV area and open air dining area all overlooking the river.We also have our original one bedroom villa with kitchen, lounge, TV, washer & dryer, private jacuzzi and sundeck. Both villas are fully air conditioned and close to the pool. WiFi is available throughout the property. Private parking is located right next to each house. Staff are onsite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas De Las Aves Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de las Aves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas de las Aves to your Saves list