We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of the Jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de las Aves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas de las Aves
La Union Road, Uvita 11901, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty lodging in Uvita
Charlotte, NC
1 review
“Jewel of the Jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I don't have enough good things to say about "villa de las aves". I just returned from a week there with my 5 year old son and my new girlfriend and i'm almost afraid to write this review in fear it will be booked when I try and return. I have been traveling to Costa Rica for 12 years and have never felt so at home. Thanks Paul and Sarah!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Last week we stayed at Villas de Las Aves for three nights. Paul and Sarah ( the owners) simply added luxury to paradise. Nestled in the mountains only minutes from the beaches, they have created a beautiful get away retreat, overlooking the two creeks running down from the mountains above. Waking up to only the sounds of the running creek and nature was wonderful and yet the accomodations are luxurious with full amenities. I would strongly recommend this place for anyone visiting Cost Rica, who wants to be a part of the abundant wild life and scenery this place has to offer. We had an amazing time. Bruce and Mary Ft Lauderdale. USA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We spent two wonderful weeks in the Villa Paloma, and absolutely loved it. If relaxing, bird watching, deserted beach walking and jungle exploring are what you're looking for, then this is the place for you! Be sure to rent a 4x4 for the road in to the villas and for exploring further afield, as the roads are pretty bumpy (which also means less traffic & more wildlife). The other reviews say it all, so just relax & enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We have just returned from an 18 night stay in Villa Paloma and wishing very much that we were still there! All of the reviews below are correct - beautiful setting; great accommodation and facilities and wonderful owners and their animals. It's a great location for exploring the south pacific coast - and even further afield. Our top tip though - there is amazing wildlife viewing from your terrace and don't do so much "stuff" that you miss the tranquility this very special place provides. If you are going to Costa Rica we heartily recommend Villas de las Aves!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed in Villa Colibri. My wife and I and two kids (9 months and 2.5 years). We had a wonderful time! The other reviewers have said it all. The space is so comfortable and homey. Real thought and care went into the place. With only two villas in use it really feels like your own private paradise. We had the pool all to ourselves. During our three days we mostly stayed put. I think the space is really ideal for someone who wants to come and soak up all that it has to offer. If you were coming to spend every day at the beach surfing and eating away from Aves then you won't get the full effect. This is a place to slow down and appreciate the views, sounds, animals ... I was a bit concerned about small children. You do have to think about the stairs going up to the bedrooms and the glass table with sharp corners. For us our kids are not that active so we felt fine ... but an adventurous child could get into trouble on those bedroom stairs.

If you go, pay super close attention to the directions to get there. We took the wrong road and it made the road to Villa de las Aves (once we found the right one) feel like the Autobahn.

I was surprised there were almost no mosquitos. An earlier stay at a place close by meant we needed air conditioning. But the setting for the villas means you can let the breezes cool you. Even though the bedroom had great air conditioning, we never had to use it.

For me I can't think of a better place to take small children: pool, having a full house and morning visits to the farm!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Villas de Las Aves is truly a gem. We stayed in Villa Paloma, the one bedroom villa overlooking the river, and have to say had one of the best stays in all our years of travel in Costa Rica. There is something special about this place! This is the closest I have come to a "religious experience" in nature.
Paul and Sarah have created an oasis for all types of animals, both in the wild, and for their rescues, which include parrots, dogs,cats, pigs, geese, and a donkey. They have planted a wonderful variety of bushes in front of the villas that attract an incredible amount of hummingbirds and butterflies. We could not tear ourselves off the spacious front patio, it was heaven! I saw more species of birds at this place than I have ever seen at any other place in Costa Rica.
The Restaurant was closed while we were there, but Paul and Sarah were kind enough to provide a delicious breakfast for us every morning. Their goal is to have the restaurant open again in the near future. The "Chef's Table" had glowing reviews before it closed, and we hope that it will be open when we return.
As you know, VDLA is about 2 km up a very adventurous road, so you will need a 4 WD for your stay. That said, we always stayed in at night, and cooked freshly caught mahi mahi and shrimp on the BBQ, sipping on margaritas, and lounging in the hot tub. You can drive to a great variety of fabulous restaurants in Uvita, Ojochal or Dominical, if you want to dine out.
There is a beautiful waterfall that you can walk to just up the hill from the Villa, and it is definitely worth the trek. There is a well marked trail down through the forest to get there,and you can just relax in the soothing fresh water and massage your shoulders under the falls.
Thank-you Paul, Sarah and Juleeana for creating this magical spot. We'll be back again before you know it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at this beautiful spot in January. I apologize for not putting up my rave review before now.
The villa was the perfect combination of a costa rican feel with all the amenities we needed. We adored the outdoor hottub and used it every night of our stay. Oh, those star filled skies! We also used the barbecue and swimming pool and deck area daily.
The night of our arrival, Paul & Sarah arranged for a brick oven pizza to be brought to our door. We sat on our patio and drank wine and dined under the stars. Other days consisted of exploring a new beach area each morning, grabbing a late lunch somewhere in the area, then heading back to our villa for a late afternoon swim in the pool, drinks and supper under the stars, then the hottub.
We could not have been more content and will definitely return to the area for more exploring (it's wonderful) and will be staying with Paul & Sarah again. Even though this spot didn't have an "ocean view" that everyone looks for, you won't miss it. It's beautiful mountain/jungle location along a small river is great.
Paul & Sarah also have a great lunch spot, Going Bananas, on the main drag. It's well worth trying, but we dearly hope Chef's Table will be open again for our return visit.
Don't forget your 4x4 though as the drive up is not for the compact car crowd.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas de las Aves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de las Aves

Address: La Union Road, Uvita 11901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas De Las Aves is available again after a long term rental and an extensive renovation.We now offer a large 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom house with gourmet kitchen, laundry room with washer & dryer, lounge/TV area and open air dining area all overlooking the river.We also have our original one bedroom villa with kitchen, lounge, TV, washer & dryer, private jacuzzi and sundeck. Both villas are fully air conditioned and close to the pool. WiFi is available throughout the property. Private parking is located right next to each house. Staff are onsite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas De Las Aves Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de las Aves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas de las Aves to your Saves list