We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Bavaria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Bavaria
Save Saved
You added Finca Bavaria to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Uvita B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. Our 2-year old loved sleeping in the single bed, and the quality and size of our bed was great. The fan worked well and there was good ventilation, so we did not miss the air conditioning. Our balcony had an ocean view!

Breakfast was very good and diverse: fresh fruit, pancakes, cereals, bread, egg.

The pool area was our favorite, a good size pool, not too deep, and you can lean on the side and enjoy the great jungle & ocean view!

The Finca is 1 km from the main road, over a road that requires a 4x4. A smooth ride most of the way, but with a steep climb and some bumps. We used the road in the (heavy) rain, and this was no problem with our car (Mitsubshi Montero).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    24
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
135
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We loved this place. The rooms have a terrace with an astonishing view of the forest. Perfect for bird watchers. The pool is very nice, you can watch the sunset from there.
There is excellent german beer. The food is german, for us was the first time and we were nicely surprised. Breakfast is copious and all is fresh.
Great price for value. We'll come back.

Room Tip: Chose the one at the entrance. The small one don't have that infinite view of forest and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappen, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This great little nature inn was fantastic, very peaceful surroundings, extremely clean and comfortable. Beautiful landscaping and a lovely pool to swim in. The cuisine was really great and sitting on the deck/lounge area watching the Toucans fly by, the fireflies at nite, was something I won't forget.

Room Tip: No A/C but fans,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

A pearl in the southern Costa Rica (Uvita). You must visit this place. A view over the Pacific which no word can decribe. Rooms which fulfil your wishes to good beds a bathroom with lots of hot water in the shower. Willy and Axel took care of us with kindness and helpfullnes. The breakfast is the best we got in Costa Rica. And the dinner Axel made for us was so tasty. Thank you Willy and Axel for some great seven days at Finca Bavaria. We will surely recommend your beautiful place.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We drove down to the Uvita area without doing any advance research and started looking around for places to stay. A small sign on the highway is all that marks this incredible place. Up a gravel road with a steep section and there we were. We initially booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 3 and would have stayed longer except we had a reservation elsewhere.

There were two trees on the grounds that were fruiting, including one right below the balcony of our room. These trees were full of birds that came to eat the berries, including more than a dozen magnificent chestnut-mandibled toucans. During our stay there were always toucans to see at very close range. We found a walking stick insect 9" long the first evening.

The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed and there was plenty of hot water. Our balcony had a hammock and chairs looking out at the Pacific Ocean. The pool was immaculate and we used it several times to beat the afternoon heat. Breakfast is served buffet style and was excellent with lots of choices and eggs cooked to order. I loved the thin pancackes.

Guests can reserve dinner in advance with a choice of 3 dishes. We passed the first night, which was a big mistake. The second night we had the best grilled fish we had in our entire month. And it's served on the patio with a roof but otherwise open to nature. We enjoyed chatting with other guests. Needless to say we ate dinner here the next night too, and it was just as good.

Willi gave us all kinds of help, including a recommendation for an isolated beach that one reaches right across the highway from the access road. A short hike along an obscured trail and a scramble down a steep bank takes you there. That was an awesome beach! There are still isolated places that you can have to yourself, and this was one of them.

The sign at the bottom of the hill on the access road says 4x4 but that's mostly so vehicles don't chew it up. A 2x4 can make it easily as long as you use low gear and keep your speed up. We had 4x4 but didn't need it.

The Uvita area is less developed than places further north and it was perfect. Voted among the 3 of us as our favourite place visited this trip. We want to go back for a longer visit, and when we do we will stay at Finca Bavaria. No question in my mind.

Room Tip: Room 5 was on the end so the balcony had views on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

What can I say that no one else has! This place is a great find, Willie is a lovely guy who is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable of the area. He has a secret beach, a gorgeous morning walk, beautiful grounds, and 1/2 litre glasses of German beer! You do need a 4x4 to get there, like most places in Costa Rica, but it's worth the adventure.

If you like good food, clean accommodation, hot powerful showers, howler and white faced capuchin monkeys, hummingbirds, toucans and beautiful flowers this is the place for you

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanaja, Honduras
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Absolutely amazing place in the middle of the jungle!!! Spectacular views, sunsets and wildlife all around the Hotel. Would go back any time and stay longer!!!! We spend 5 days and didn't want to leave. Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Bavaria

Address: Uvita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Finca Bavaria 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Bavaria is a charming small hotel that is situated approx. 5 km south of Uvita. Surrounded by tropical rain forest, high above the Marino Ballena National Park, our guests enjoy breathtaking views over the jungle up to the coast, stunning sunsets and the sound of the animals of the rain forest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Bavaria Hotel Uvita
Finca Bavaria Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.