We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at La Cusinga Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Cusinga Eco Lodge to your Saves list
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay at La Cusinga Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited with our family ( 2 and 4 year old + mother in law). The setting is to die for!!! The food excellent. The service superb. They went out of the way to accommodate the small children. The drive down from San Jose was a breeze (I had heard horror stories about roads in Costa Rica and had driven to Atlantic the week before.)

We went for walks, saw lots of birds, frogs, visited the arco beach, with millions of crabs ( was our national geographic moment - the crabs only come out when you are a little away so you see all these crabs but as you walk there is nothing beneath your feet), visited the farmers market in Uvita, went the the Marino Balena park.... We swam daily in the sea. Being a hobby carpenter I was amazed at the construction at La Cusinga with hard woods.

Thanks La Cusinga! we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Visit Arco beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for taking your time to gives us such a nice review! We are glad you and your family had a good vacation.

We still have maps that shows the drive from Quepos to our area as a dirt road. But as you had said, it is a great highway from San Jose all the way down.

Our place if full of wild life, and you will see lots of flora and fauna.

"The setting is to die for!!! The food excellent. The service superb. They went out of the way to accommodate the small children." Again thank you, our team is very happy with your kind words!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    44
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
77
150
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a delightful week at La Cusinga. We had spent some time driving around in circles getting out of San Jose (the GPS didn't help!) and arrived tired and hungry in the middle of a thunderstorm. The guy in charge was so nice, and we were very relieved that they had dinner for us, even though it was after 9:00!
This lodge is in a beautiful spot, on a hillside above the Pacific. From the deck you can see for miles up and down the coast. Some people saw whales. Everyone saw toucans, aracaris, howler monkeys, brightly colored warblers of various types, frigate birds, agoutis, capuchin monkeys, right there on the property.
The food is delicious and plentiful. Most of it is traditional Costa Rica style food, with some variation, and most of it is also organic and grown/raised in their gardens. The coffee ice cream was the best ice cream I've ever had.
The beach is delightful! It was a little longer than they said, since it's a little steep towards the end, but the walk is pretty and once you get to that beach you will not want to leave! We often had the beach entirely to ourselves. And we saw monkeys and interesting birds while we were there. The swimming was pleasant though I didn't want to venture out too far because the current seemed strong.
We loved the little cabin we stayed in, with its little back porch. It was not buggy and we enjoyed sitting out on the porch in the evenings, having a glass of wine and watching the sunset. Before dinner, a lot of people congregate at the deck near the dining room, just lazing. There are rocking chairs and a hammock. SO relaxing!
The staff was always pleasant and helpful, and the facility was always spotlessly clean.
One evening a group of howler monkeys visited, hanging around next to the parking lot so that we could all get good photos.

Room Tip: The cabins all have a good view of some kind. The ones down the slope have a better view and are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Julie G,

Thank you for taking your time write your review! Thank you for your visit! We are glad that you had a good experience and that you had a chance to see the wild life! The hommocks are a great place to read a book, relax and even take a good Siesta!

We hope you have a chance to return again!

From your team, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were planning on staying elsewhere in the area, but a friend suggested we switch to La Cusinga and we were very happy with the change of plans. The eco lodge is set up on a hill with beautiful views of the jungle and ocean. The rooms were very nice. We enjoyed the hammocks on our patio as we watched (and heard!) the howler monkeys play. Great hiking. The beach to the left of the property was well worth the steep climb down and back. We were most impressed with the friendly staff and excellent food. We were't going to eat all meals there, but changed our minds after the first lunch. La Cusinga is very secluded but a quick car ride into Uvita, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I love your photos, the sunset is a cool one!

Thank you!!! for sharing the photos and also your experience! We thank your friend for suggesting our place, and to you for coming spend your vacation with Us!

Our team is a great one, we are local people that love what we do and we do our job thinking of our visitors, we try hard to make you feel at home, so you feel as part of our family and that you also have the privacy you need. I am very proud of our team, as they are mention time and time again as friendly, caring, helpful, etc.

I see you enjoyed the beach, and the Poza (natural pool)... great places!

Again, thank you and your family for taking a risk and coming to a place a friend recommended! We are glad that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location, overlooking the Pacific. You could hear the waves crashing at night. Able to access the internet easily to post pictures in the middle of the rain forest! Nice hosts, good meals, and overall a great place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us a review! We like to get feedback from our guest! and to know what you liked about us! For many years we did not have internet, as it was not possible and it was something people always asked, so as soon as we had an option we got it... but only in the main area, where the Mirador (or Tarrace) is!

We try go have the best organic, local products to create our meals. So we are glad you liked them!

We do hope to see you back!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

La Cusinga Eco Lodge is hands down one of the best places I have stayed. It offers a balance of comfort and sustainability. The staff is very friendly, hospitable, and the reception speaks English fluently. We stayed in the room above reception and it was great. The bathroom is made with rock walls and has an opening between the wall and the roof, I personally loved this, it gave me such an authentic feeling that I was in nature. The howler monkeys will wake you and swing around the trees while you eat your breakfast, all the while enjoying the beautiful view from your breakfast table. The meals were delicious.
We didn't have time to explore the whole property, but we did hike to the beach (about 15 minutes). The beach was private with a sea cave at the end. Bananas lined the trees where the jungle began from the beach. You can hear howler monkeys as you sat on the beach in the jungle behind you.
They have a couple honey moon suites that we got to tour, they were beautiful, I definitely want to go back and stay in those rooms.
I highly recommend La Cusinga Ecolodge and cannot wait to find myself there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words!

Each room has something unique, and the Manakin room is no exception. "We stayed in the room above reception and it was great. The bathroom is made with rock walls and has an opening between the wall and the roof, I personally loved this, it gave me such an authentic feeling that I was in nature."

The entire place was build to make you feel part of nature, as we should be, it is great to be at the beach... the only one that has Rainforest all the way down to the beach, no houses, no cars, no human intervention. The trails are also full of life, something to do the next time you visit!

Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

La Cusinga Eco Lodge in Costa Rica is a beautiful and special spot. I surfed, swam and hiked. I highly recommend La Cusinga Eco Lodge. Sitting in the look out area we saw humpback whales breach. It was a very special holiday.

Room Tip: Watch the ocean for breaching whales,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
beingLuLu,

Than you from our team for taking your time to give us your review! The Terrace, or Mirador, is a great place to enjoy nature, a cup of coffee, a great sunset, or as you put it: "Sitting in the look out area we saw humpback whales breach." To me is the best spot for whale watching and birding!

again thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

They say that location is everything and the location of this Eco-lodge is second to none: nestled in primary rainforest with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The terrace of the communal room and dining rooms inspired our name "Terrace of Dreams". Although we are fairly adventurous and often spent almost all of our time in some Costa Rican lodges hiking in the rainforest to observe and experience nature, here we also spent considerable time relaxing on the terrace and watching the canopy wildlife put on a show (Howler and Capuchin Monkeys, toucans and Chacalacas, hummingbirds galore!, bats, etc.). With excellent food and friendly staff, clean rooms, beach access, and a network of rainforest trails for all levels of fitness and enthusiasm, it would be hard to imagine a better place in Cost Rica for your holiday no matter what your primary interests whil on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geinier, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Muchas Gracias Barry D,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your review and for sharing your experience at our place. We love your title "Terrace of Dreams", it sums it up in such a cool way! That Terrace is a great place to just sit en enjoy the day! And we also agree with you: " it would be hard to imagine a better place in Cost Rica."

Again thank you and we do hope to see you back soon!

From all of us at La Cusinga, Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Address: 200 south of km mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#4 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cusinga Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.