We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed only 1 night, thank goodness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tucan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tucan Hotel to your Saves list
Tucan Hotel
100 mtrs east of Banco de Costa Rica | Uvita de Osa, Uvita CR 8153, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stayed only 1 night, thank goodness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed only 1 night due to the owners messing up my wife and I's reservations. When we were showed our beds a the shared dorm, the top sheet had dead bugs on top (It happens. Problem is that the rest of the hostel wasn't exactly clean either). The next morning I got up around 7(Only 10-12 other people up) to get coffee and I couldn't find a cup. When I asked the person running the desk (Owner) if there were any extra coffee cups, he brushed me off by saying that if people didn't keep the cups in their rooms, there would be more cups available. An hr or so later, I was able to get a mug from some one finishing their morning routine. When my wife and I checked out, the owner asked us where we were headed (We didn't want to tell him that his hostel was horrible) and we told him we were off to see the waterfall. He then got confrontational about where we were truly headed (Shouldn't of cared to much since they had already hosed our reservations and didn't have any more room thank goodness). The atmosphere was off at the hostel (Unlike any I had ever stayed at) and the incident when we left weirded out my wife and I to where we wouldn't stay there again even if offered free rooms. There are better places to stay in Uvita

Room Tip: Stay at the Casca Verde if you want a good place even if it is a little bit farther (Walking distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
48
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Tucan Hotel is a very friendly, family run hostel with a lot of character. We stayed in a private room (we are a couple but it could have slept 5!) with AC and a private bathroom. It was comfortable and the fittings were fine with a hot(ish) shower. The rooms are organised around a nice central area with hammocks and tables, and there is a basic kitchen. The owners are extremely friendly and were happy to give advice or book tours and they loan all sorts of surf and snorkeling equipment. Breakfast and dinner are extra and seem good, but we didn't use so can't comment. At $34 per night it was excellent value for money.

I am giving 4 stars, not 5, because of the location. It is located near the main road, and not near the beach (a good 45min walk, or a free morning shuttle from the hotel). Other local sites (such as a waterfall and river swimming hole) are 20-30mins walk away. It is close to the supermarket and transport links, but if you are staying longer than the two nights that we did then you might struggle to find enough close by to do without paying for tours and transport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The double rooms with private bathroom are basic and rather pricey as we have found throughout Costa Rica ($35 a night) but the hostel is beautiful overall!

The hammocks, pool table and other seating areas make this the perfect place to chill out and relax. The hostel is large and you have space to relax on your own or socialise with other travellers as you wish.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the food and drinks are great too. A great place to relax for a couple of a days!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Well designed hostel, confortable beds, casual atmosphere with a lot of hammocks and a pool table!!!!
The manager is really good, helpful, and she speaks 5 languages (spanish, english, italian, french, german and maybe others :-))
The homemade food is really good especially the pasta but not enough.
To go to the beach it's better to have your own car but there is also a shuttle service and there is a nice watefall (Entrance fee 1 dollar) only 15 minutes away (walking distance) from the hostel.
One of our favorite hostels in Costa Rica!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here earlier this year while attending a music festival. We had been told by someone who had been the previous year that camping in the Costa Rican heat was absolutely not an option, so we looked up hostels and decided on the Tucan, as they "have A/C". I reserved the room about 6 months before the festival to ensure that there would be no issues with the booking. We arrived at about 10am on a Thursday after having been on a flight from the states since midnight. All we wanted to do was take a nice short nap in our room before we went off to see the beautiful surrounding beaches. When we arrived we were told that our room was ready, but that the A/C unit in the room was broken, but that it would be fixed by the evening. When I asked if it was certain that they would have it fixed, the guy (I don't remember his name) replied, "This is Costa Rica. Nothing is certain". Even if nothing is certain in Costa Rica, that is not what we wanted to hear. In their defense, they did have it repaired that evening, but it broke again the next day. The worst part about the whole deal is that when there is no A/C unit in the room there is just a big hole in below the window for hot air and bugs to sweep through. How do you not keep one additional A/C unit on hand for situations like this?

Though this was quite annoying, we did find the rest of our stay very enjoyable. The outdoor seating area is a lot of fun in the evenings, if there are enough people staying at the hostel. The area is covered, and is extremely peaceful to sit in during a rainstorm. The breakfast is also highly recommended. Order the Tico, if you want my opinion. Though we will most likely rent a house next time, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Make sure your A/C unit works before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What an excellent experience! This hotel really embodies the slogan Pura Vida (Pure Life)! There are hammocks,drink bars, billiards, accessibility to excursions, Rooms with cool hip posters inside, Ours had posters of Bob Dylan! It also had a very universal feeling with welcome put in many different languages! Its like a mini paradise. Oh the Food is also Excellent and is high quality! The service is splendid! It is so cool and laid back! It is really highly recommended for any traveler that heads to Uvita!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was a bit nervous about staying a hostel, but at the Tucan Hotel, all my worries were put to rest. Alex and Carla, the managers, were incredibly nice, easy to talk to, and very helpful. Answered any and all questions I had and were a delight to be around. Despite the very open atmosphere, I felt very safe! I stayed two nights with a friend and we didn't cook our own meals, but that was nice to have that option. We had some nearby restaurant choices, which were delicious. We enjoyed a tour where the bus picked us up right from the hostel and brought us back home after a day at the beach. We also were able to walk to some beautiful waterfalls in the morning! It was a very pleasurable first experience!! I would highly recommend this hostel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucan Hotel

Address: 100 mtrs east of Banco de Costa Rica | Uvita de Osa, Uvita CR 8153, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucan Hotel Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.