We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, high prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballena Beach | 7 km (4 miles) al Sur de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, high prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

beautiful hotel, huge rooms, great food, nice pool, close to the national whale tail park. Our kids really liked the hotel.

The negative part was that the trip to cano islands was different in price on the website then when you asked for it. They asked USD100 more for the trip, which we declined unhappily. Also the kids were both fully charged extra to the room. Too expensive overall for the value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    46
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
55
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were renting a cottage in the area for a week. With this stay, we had access to this resort. We enjoyed relaxing on the reclining chairs near the pool. The pool was amazing. I would have to say that this pool was one of my favourites that I have swan in during a trip. It was clean and the temperature was excellent. There was even a little water fall to go under. We even had hamburgers at the restaurant. It was fun to have our meal poolside. I was able to take lots of pictures and just relax at this spa.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This beautiful hill-top resort was one of the finest stops on our trip through Costa Rica. The food was gourmet quality and the service was most friendly. We discovered the owner Mr. Steiner, was from Austria, and was pleased to welcome his guests. Much to my wives surprise, a resident black cat named Mitzzy was a frequent visitor. Where else could you be awakened each morning by dozens of birds and monkeys putting on a symphony. We were also delighted to find a "Star Fruit" tree growing ripe goodies by the huge pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel has a good location, it's a few minutes from Marino Ballena park. We had the opportunity to see tucans from the restaurant in the morning and several types of birds. The hotel has several flowers and fruit trees in its garden. The pool was clean and nice. The service was excellent and the owners were very kind. This place is quite, ideal for relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

this was an excellent experience for us. We stayed in one of the cabins below the main hotel and really enjoyed it. Cabins were very rustic but that's what we were expecting. So very isolated and definitely had a jungle experience. President of Costa Rica visit at the hotel our first night there. We saw a fer de lance snake on the road in from the main road while driving in from dinner one evening. Absolutely loved it and came here for the real Costa Rica experience. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel is nice and the location awesome. The swimming pool is also beautiful.
The rooms are very old and the sheets crappy. We actually did not sleep "alone" if you see what I mean!
The price is high ~ $200 per night.
Too bad the owners are not refreshing the place to bring it to a better standard.
I am surprised as the owners are Austrian/German. I am used to better care from people that are usually neat and organized.
The personal is young, nice, but kind of useless. Too bad, really too bad because the place has so much to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed ever day in this great hotel.it has an amazing view and you can see tucans and a lot of other animals.the food is great and the pool is just great.if you are looking for an intimate place up on a hill in a marvelous garden - this is the place.we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort

Address: Ballena Beach | 7 km (4 miles) al Sur de Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Resort Cristal Ballena is located in the midst of its own 12-hectare grounds, very close to the unique "Marino Ballena" Marine National Park and mountains covered in rainforest. The hotel features 14 Junior Suites, 3 Master Suites, along with 2 Family suites. Due to its excellent location, our guests can enjoy breathtaking ocean views from the big balcony. Our stylish, spacious Suites are equipped with four-poster bed, AC, ceiling fan, WLan, TV, telephone, minibar, safe, coffee maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristal Ballena Osa Peninsula
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.