We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE EXTRA NIGHT
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

My husband and I spent 5 days at Rancho Pacifico at the end of December and we LOVED it! The rooms were clean, lovely and remarkably bug-free. We had our own little corner of the rainforest and it was breathtaking. We came to RP to relax and see a slice of Costa Rica and were so, so happy with our selection.

The hotel is set right into a mountain with fab views of the "Whale's Tail" beach below. The weather on the beach was what you might expect - sunny and quite warm but the air was cooler in the mountains, so we were comfortable with a light sweater in the evenings (perfect). And GREAT sleeping weather!

The views are amazing, the facilities are lovely and the staff is (almost without exception) genuinely helpful and very gracious. The staff will help you map out some adventures (horseback-riding, mangrove tours, zip-lining, etc ) or will let you sit back and enjoy your amazing surroundings. The onsite spa was really wonderful, the bar was great and the meals were EXCELLENT.

I should also mention that the other guests we met were also lovely!

The owners (Garrison and Silvia) are also gracious, helpful and focused on making sure that your stay is fantastic!

The only slight disappointment was that the drive from San Jose was much longer than expected. We flew back to San Jose on the return which was definitely the way to go.

All told, we LOVED it! We found nearly everything at RP to be top-drawer and are hoping to return one day!

  • Liked — Comfortable and smack-dab in the middle of a rain forest
  • Disliked — Distance from the beach
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    25
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
36
242
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Believe the hype: the view from RP makes the drive worthwhile!
This unique boutique hotel definitely deserves its ´Small Luxury Hotels of the World´ accolade! We stayed for two weeks over the New Year period and had the vacation of a lifetime. It has so many unique selling points; no kids, no keys, and no formal checkout time, are just the start!
We were checked in by Javier, one of the world’s best concierge/hotel manager/tour organiser/bird watcher/historians, who takes you on a tour of the hotel then gives a short description of all that you can see from this perch which is 2,000 ft /650 metres above the town of Uvita.
The rooms are equally unique. Instead of glass in the windows, many of the walls are simply covered in fly screen material, which allows the sound of the surrounding nature to enter into each suite and offer a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside - all from your bed! It is a truly amazing experience to watch the birds soar in the sky – beneath you!!
The special accommodation is only part of the uniqueness of RP; its staff is even more special! The day starts with breakfast served by happy Ronny and beautiful Ana, who make the start of each day such a pleasure. David and his kitchen team, along with chef Alex, serve an amazing selection of first class American and European meals at dinner (Costa Rica buffet on a Sunday!), all of which are served by the marvellously professional Marvin. Wines and champagnes are served by Vianney and his stunning smile; he is also the best martini-maker this side of the International Date Line! Worth to note that the bar stocks the country’s widest selection of specialist vodkas, including one infused with onions and olives!!
Then you meet the driving force behind this hotel extraordinaire, the owners Silvia and Garrisson . In four short years they have carved one of Costa Rica’s premier hotels out of the jungle. The new tree-house is particularly special with unobstructed views out to the “Whale’s Tail” below and the Pacific Ocean beyond. The view from Villa 3 is equally stunning! In addition, every suite has an amazing view of a beautiful sunset each evening as the sun sinks below the rim of the Pacific Ocean.
The spa is first class, and its choice of treatments (we had the hot stone massage, lymphatic detox massage and neck, shoulders and back massage) are wide-ranging, and both Marco and Vivien are amongst the best masseurs we have encountered.
To get the best out of RP, we recommend that you rent a good 4x4 as this gives freedom and flexibility; the drive up can test your faith in 4x4 technology, but after a couple of trips up and down, it does become easier. Alternatively, RP can provide transport and driver (including another marvellous Marvin!). The hotel will also organise trips for whale and dolphin watching, ATV tours, canopy tours, horse riding, as well as a trip through one of the world’s largest mangrove areas.
Rancho Pacifico is a truly unique experience and it has a very special magic, which may not be for everyone, but it will certainly be appreciated by those looking for quirky luxury with highly personal service!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Rancho Pacifico for 5 nights in late December '08 for our honeymoon. The hotel and its staff far surpassed all of our expectations.

We stayed in the beautiful Tree House accommodation which was a bit pricey during high season...but well worth the money. The room itself is quite spacious and is finished with a modern and clean design style. Everything from the fixtures in the bathroom to the wood flooring made us feel like we were in a high-class boutique hotel in Manhattan.

The hotel's setting is amazing as well. The Tree House is a bit secluded from the other rooms on the property which offers a great deal of privacy for honeymooners and couples. The views of the beach and rain forest are breathtaking.

The food served in the open-air dining room was delicious. Due to the small size of the hotel, the menu is limited, but everything we tasted was exceptional (and I'm sure the attentive staff could accommodate special requests if necessary).

Speaking of the staff...all were real professionals and made my wife and I feel like they were really there to make our stay amazing (and they did!). There is a focus on personalized service and catering to the guests' needs and desires. Everyone was SO service oriented and friendly. We got to know everyone by their first names which made for a unique and personal experience. Everyone from the concierge to the drivers and from the chefs to the security guard provided exceptional service that made us want to come back for anniversaries!

The hotel sits a top a mountain above the town of Uvita. Getting to and from the hotel is a bit arduous, but the hotel provides 4 wheel drive transportation to beaches and local activities. The concierge, Javier, is super-friendly and does a great job in helping to plan zipline tours, beach excursions, etc.

The owners (Garrison and Sylvia) live on location further adding to the personal experience. Garrison even helped us find a place to spend New Year's! Overall, I highly recommend Rancho Pacifico

  • Liked — Exceptional service, beutiful accomodations
  • Disliked — A bit inconvenient going to/from location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

If you have a limited time to see the wonders of this beautiful county, which is "one of the most biologically intense places on earth", we would highly recommend you visit Rancho Pacifico. The one thing that sets Rancho Pacifico apart from other luxury resorts is the way it embraces the environment surrounding it. We will recommend this peaceful paradise to our family and the best of friends. Our experience there was amazing, where we met so many nice people (whom we are keeping in touch with back in the U.S.) and we will absolutely return to the tranquility of this resort.

My husband and I booked a two week trip to Costa Rica...as our first introduction to the "Dreamland" we had heard so much about across the sea.

Our first priority with this trip was to visit the historical "Whales Tales" (where the whales gather) in Uvita-Domincal area and the second week in Manuel Antonio. We were there for two reasons; look for a place to retire and celebrate our anniversary. With executive careers, we both have traveled to many luxury hotels - resorts "four - five stars" and what we found at Rancho Pacifico - we had not experience at any other places we had visited.

We discovered Rancho Pacifico "RP" through Luxury Link for our first week (although you could contact them directly from their website). The funny thing is we did not read any reviews before our booking of Rancho Pacifico. Prior to our travel we received a welcome package with recommendations that was very helpful and of course we still over packed in spite of their suggestions. When we arrived at the airport in San Jose, Eric our private escort was waiting for us at the exit, nicely dressed with RP clothing (easy to identify), the vehicle was new and very clean. Eric was extremely humble in accommodating us along the way (3-1/2 hours) - so that we could take photos and stop for any reason, which made the trip very relaxing and enjoyable. Check in is with a very personalized concierge.

The RP location is nestled in the mountains (above the bug line) and the setting is stunningly awesome, very relaxing, with glorious panoramic ocean views (in your face) - "Whales Tale”, beautiful sunsets over dinner and fantastic tropical surroundings of the monkeys roaming in the jungle. The authentic Costa Rican experience of the dinning and bar area being all open to the jungle with breathtaking views is a must to experience. Waking up to the sounds of the jungle, where the breeze is constantly cool (night or day), especially after being down near the beach is very refreshing to return to a comfy private villa with supremely comfortable beds and good quality linens. The detached villas are set in the middle of the dense rain forest, where all you could see was lush foliage, complete with monkeys, birds and the wide ocean views. Our villa was very private, extremely clean, very stylishly decorated, roomy, with a fabulous giant walk-in shower (room for more than two) with views of the jungle, ocean and each evening a soft touch of fresh flowers were placed on our bed. We always had a full bag of Costa Rica coffee (not the pre-packaged as most places provide), a flashlight (if needed) and umbrella's hanging outside our villa (for a rainy day). We had spa options at our doorstep over looking the mountain and the sea. We loved all our treatments. You’re within a very short distance of the most beautiful water fall cascades.

The food at the resort is superb "cooked to perfection" and the signature drinks are simply divine ... always served with a smile. We loved the variety of music that was played and have actually purchased some of their selections upon our return to the U.S.

Each day the owners and staff made us feel like family with a tropical made drink of fresh fruit and a warm smile. More importantly, after a day of exploring the country side we were always greeted with a wave, a smile and inquiring of our day. We became very acquainted with mostly all the staff - they are fantastic, effortlessly taking pride in always willing to help and answer a millions questions. Rancho Pacifico will accommodate your tours (horseback riding, rafting, and fishing) rent-a-car and transportation just about anywhere you wish to visit in the area.

The "owners" Garrison and Silvia, along with their exceptional staff were always right there to help throughout our stay and we feel they have created a majestic paradise, perfect in everyway for a corporate retreat, honeymooners for the romantic lovers or simply a great resort for leisure time with friends, whereby, you feel safe, relaxed and welcomed. Each and every staff touched our hearts with their own world of friendship.

We were really sad in thinking our week had ended and we must move on to the pre-booked hotel accommodations in Manuel Antonio for the next seven days of our trip. However, the evening before our departure the owner offered us an additional three days stay in our villa with the resort at full capacity and to treat us with being a part of their family for a Thanksgiving Celebration...Costa Rican style. The turkey cuisine prepared was wonderful!!!

We can't think of anything we didn't enjoy about our stay at Rancho Pacifico.

Ken and Katherine
Athens, Texas

  • Liked — accomodating staff, the owners, food, ocean views, beaches and nestled in the jungle
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Franklin, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

A girlfriend and I stayed 5 nights at Rancho Pacifico hoping to "get away from it all". It was everything it promised to be and more. I expected spectacular views and the simple but elegant architechure. The website is truely reflective of what the the property looks like. What I could not have possibly anticipated was the service we received. From the drivers who transported us to and from San Jose and around Uvita, to the conceirge, bartendars and wait staff, all were focused on one thing...making our stay as comfortable and worry free as possible. No matter where I wanted to go or what I wanted to do, Javier, the concierge, found a way to make it happen. At the end of our 5 days there, my friend and I were both sad to leave and we still miss the wonderful people who became like family.

I have had the good fortune to see many places in the world. None compare to Costa Rica. The warmth and friendliness of the locals was contagious and the entire experience has reminded me of what is truely important in life. Pura vida.

Susan - Missouri

  • Liked — The Rancho Pacifico staff.
  • Disliked — The two mile drive uphill...but it is well worth it!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day honeymoon at Rancho Pacifico. I don't know how to begin to say how wonderful it was. Besides the loveliness of the location, perched in the mountains with views of the ocean, jungle, and mountains, the architecture of the site itself was gorgeous and peaceful and luxurious all at once. As lovely as the site is, the people were really what made the experience achieve such a level of perfection. Starting from Javier finding us as soon as we stepped off of the bus in Uvita and getting us up the mountain nearly in the middle of the night, everyone else's work on the RP team came together to make us feel as if we had arrived in paradise. Our needs were most often met before we even realized we wanted anything and if there was anything that we needed, they were always ready to oblige with smiling faces. RP has somehow created an experience that feels so private within an environment that feels like your staying with family.
The hot stone massages we both had were heavenly, the food was DELICIOUS, the views fantastic.
We will never forget what a perfect time we had.
We cannot express our thanks enough to Javier, Alex, Olman, Bienet, Marvin, David, Ronny, Jonathon, the sweet maids, and to Vivian and Marco- manos de angeles.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

This hotel that is not a hotel was marvelous. The villa was luxurious, the food superb, the spa package worth every penny, and the staff gracious, attentive, and always helpful. You can do as little or as much as you want. We chose to do as little as we could. We didi do the zip lines but otherwise spent our days lounging, eating, reading, and waiting for a our daily spa treatment. The Costa Ricans are delightful people and the staff speaks excellent English. Nevertheless, I spoke as much Spanish as I could and we had a blast. My wife and I rented a car one day to drive to the south but otherwise we didn't did to have our own vehicle. The prices of souvenirs in CR are very reasonable and the handicrafts well made. Rancho Pacifico is not the most expensive resort in CR but I cannot imagine getting more service for more money. The WIFI is good and we were able to stay in constant contact with our computer-- if that is important to you. The food was excellent and the spa and food package were well worth it. We are going back next year with some of our family and we may retire in Costa Rica. You will love this place, the people, and the price, while not cheap is not unreasonable for the luxury and the service.

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — Distance from the airport to the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea.....Your Adult-Exclusive Hideaway in Costa Rica's Last-Best Place. One of the World's Most Awarded EcoLuxury Hotels. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy. Trip Advisor Traveler Choice - 4 consecutive years. World Travel Award Finalist - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years.....and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.