We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Hideaway, elegant, rustic, serene, and glorious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Uvita
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Hideaway, elegant, rustic, serene, and glorious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just returned after 5 amazing days at this "one of a kind" spectacular Lodge in the Mountains of Costa Rica, high above the Pacific. The staff is impossible to describe, other than to say that they will become cherished friends forever. Words do Rancho Pacifico no justice. It is something that must be experienced. Comfortable, elegant, rustic, gourmet food. privacy, attention when needed, jungles, wildlife, pampering, and more. No place else like it. Adriana, Alex, Giovanny, and so many others make a visit to RP a "lifetime of memories". Wow!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    19
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
214
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I can't say enough about this place and the people. We had the one bedroom with infinity pool! The drive way is pretty rough, but when you get there, you realize why you it's all worth it. I miss it everyday. It was stormy weather and it rained just about everyday, so soaking in our infinity pool under the warm rain drops with the view of whale's tail, was some of the most romantic and beautiful moments me and my boyfriend shared. We were in pure heaven.

Room Tip: You really should get a SUV for the drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our stay at Rancho was extremely personal and relaxing. The staff is friendly, helpful and conscientiousness.
We hiked to the waterfall on the property, and while this mini adventure was at times physically strenuous, the prize at the end was beyond breathtaking. Adriana provided us with a backpack with water and towels for our trek, and had refreshments waiting when we returned. The property, including the pools of course, is beautifully maintained.
Dinner is always a surprise. There is no set menu, but there is always something for everyone. I informed Alex of my diet (pescatarian) my first day there, and the chef accommodated me throughout my stay.
Our treehouse was a pleasant surprise. No preconceived idea prepared me for the unique perfection. There was a patio of sorts with netting, so it felt like we were right outside in the jungle, without the bother of insects and snakes being right there with us, or being wet when it rained. The bathroom was huge and had double doors which opened to the forest. It was great to be at one with nature.
With that said, this is a small luxury resort in the rain forest, so you will see many animals (monkeys, birds, snakes) and wifi is spotty at best; unless you're in the clubhouse area. RP is also not within walking distance to anything noteworthy, so trips off the property do require some planning, which they (Adriana, for us) are more than happy to organize. But this is the perfect time time to take a break from everything and everyone and just be.
We loved our time here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Believe every positive review you read. Rancho Pacifico is that good. The staff are best in class, the view spectacular, the rooms beautiful and the food delicious. This is luxury meets warm friendliness. Honestly - we cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Last year our family stayed in a jungle lodge in the Brazilian Amazon so I was expecting much of the same. Our experience at RP was totally unique and worthwhile.

The resort is in the cloud forest and requires a several minute drive by 4x4 from the town at the bottom of the hill. The first structure that you will reach at the site is the lodge/restaurant/common area which has amazing views of Whale Tail beach and the jungle. This structure is an open air building where you will find the bar and resort's only dining option. Because the resort is so far from town, expect to have all your meals on the resort unless you are out on an excursion. The food is very good and ranges from local dishes to common American continental fare, with head chef Alex's take on the concept. My family and our traveling companions were very happy with the quality and preparation of the meals.

By far the most amazing part of the resort for my family was the accommodations. We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa at the top of the resort. The villa has three levels with a separate bedroom (and bathroom) on each level and a kitchen on the second level. The villa is in the middle of the cloud forest. Every morning (at around 5 a.m.) we woke to the sound of howler monkeys calling through the jungle and a symphony of birds. We also were able to observe many birds from our balconies and to take photos of toucans perched in the nearby trees. By afternoon, the clouds would roll in and cast a beautiful mist on the jungle and momentarily obstruct our view of Whale Tale beach and the city/jungle view in the distance below.

The staff at RP is attentive and very accommodating. The staff works hard to remember the names of each guest and to make the RP experience a memorable one by catering to guests' needs and requests. For example, we returned late from a night hike well after the usual dining hours. However, the kitchen and wait staff waited for us to return and prepared a delicious bbq meal of chicken, local sausage and grilled meats and vegetables along with sides that exceeded our expectations (and the capacities of our stomachs).

I highly recommend RP. This ecolodge was a unique and memorable way to experience the cloud forest without the distraction of numerous other guests. Maximum capacity at the lodge is about 20 adult guests which allows for an intimate and relaxing experience. In addition, the staff is amazing, friendly and very professional.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This review is long over due. Stayed at Rancho Pacifico last month with my girlfriend and parents, and everything was amazing. We were fortunate enough to stay in the three bedroom villa with the kind of view you can't accurately portray with words. I have never been to a hotel with a kinder staff. Nothing I can put here will be able to explain how wonderful our trip was. Sure it's far from San Jose, and up a rough dirt road, but it turkey is paradise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was the best honeymoon I could have imagined. Between the breathtaking views, outstanding service, and gourmet cuisine (even for us vegetarians!), my wife and it had the experience if a lifetime. If you want it get personalized service, knowledgable staff, and a relaxing time, you need it get to RP. There is nothing like being greeted by your first name by everyone here, knowing that they take the time to get to know you. My wife and I are animal lovers, and they were sure to help us spot toucans and monkeys whenever possible. All the non vegetarians around us also raved about the food, and everyone seemed to be as happy and appreciative as we were.

Room Tip: TreeHaus for a perfect romantic getaway... Outdoor jaccuzi and double shower head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.