We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overall Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Uvita
1 review
“Excellent Overall Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Rancho Pacifico provides a great vacation experience. The location is beautiful in a remote, rugged setting, and the resort grounds, lodging, and common areas were designed with attention to details that make it luxurious but not out of place with its environment. There is a lot, or nothing to do, whichever you prefer (probably both). Hanging around the pool or in sitting areas, or at the bar is relaxing. Excursions down the mountain to the beach, nature tours, water sports, etc. provide half or full days of activity. The staff here make the experience very personal. Each staff member gets to know your name and your preferences, and anyone is ready to help you at anytime. They become like friends and family after several days. The food is excellent, with lots of vegetarian and gluten-free options. The servings are perfect, and the fresh ingredients and healthful preparation makes it feel like you eating a special meal at home as opposed to eating in a restaurant all of the time. An excellent experience overall, and one we hope to have again here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    20
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
219
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Rancho Pacifico is truly amazing. We stayed there the first week of June on our first trip to Costa Rica. Everything about RP is wonderful, especially the service. Every member of the staff we met was friendly, authentic and professional. Our meals were delicious and perfectly prepared. We stayed in the TreeHaus Villa and it was even more beautiful in person than in the photos. We sat on the deck with a stunning view of the ocean, listening to the sounds of the forest and could have stayed there forever. One reviewer referred to their time at RP as “flawless” and we agree. I cant’ imagine finding a more beautiful and welcoming place anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Every detail at Rancho Pacifico is perfect. The rooms are inviting, ideal and comfortable. The grounds are stunning, perfectly maintained and delightful. The food is delicious, healthy and fabulously presented. The staff is kind, fun and out-of-this-world friendly! For those seeking a flawless vacation, either quiet and relaxed or full of activities, this is it. The staff will ensure whatever you desire will be.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place to spend our 15 year anniversary. We were picked up at the airport by a super friendly driver. We drove up the steep road to RP at dusk turning to dark. It was beautifully lit at night. When we woke up the next morning in our tree house we were amazed by the stunning scenery. You are perched on the mountain, surrounded by lush vegetation, overlooking the whale's tale and the ocean. The staff is so friendly and seems to anticipate your needs. The food was delicious, Costa Rican with a twist. We enjoyed sitting by the pool or on our porch with a handmade cocktail. RP scheduled outings for us for a mangrove boat tour and a zip line canopy tour. We would come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights at the end of May, and the experience was wonderful. Surreal location in the cloud forest with an unbelievable view of the pacific, surrounded by flora and fauna of Costa Rica. Rooms are ideal for their surroundings, mostly screened in with decks and showers to take advantage of the views.

Service was professional and highly attentive; we were on a first name basis with the staff and were treated like family. Adriana, the concierge, was at breakfast every morning to help coordinate events, make bookings and give recommendations.

Food on site was fantastic; complimentary breakfast every day got the day off to a good start, and lunch and dinner are first class, healthy takes on regional cuisine prepared by Chef Alex and his staff with local ingredients. The spa is intimate and just...perfect!

Overall, this was exactly the relaxing vacation we were looking for, and would not hesitate to stay here again if our travels bring us back to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: No bad rooms but villas are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Rancho Pacifico for 7 nights on our vacation to Costa Rica at the end of March, 2014. We were looking for a place that would provide privacy, peace and relaxation and Rancho Pacifico delivered that and so much more. The staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and caring in a genuine way. The spa was wonderful and rejuvenating. The food prepared by Chef Alex and his staff was in every way amazing and delicious. My experience at this hotel was one of the very best, and most unique I have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We spent two nights in mid april 2014. Our stay was great. It was like a true honeymoon style getaway. The views from the hotel are awesome, the serivce from each and every staff member was very good yet authentic at the same time. The only constructive feedback I would give to the hotel ismabout the terrace room that is closeby the pool in the first floor. I believe that room in particular is just too close to the crowd. This was somehow uncomfortable considering that we came with the idea of having a room with no noice but nature. Fortunatelly we asked for a room change and they gave us the balcony room in the second floor which was great.

Room Tip: Do not pick the terrace room in te first floor close to the pool. It is just too noisy and you dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.