We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Total relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was our third trip to this wonderful, relaxing property. We will continue to return each year. The staff is like family to us. We have stayed in a variety of rooms & villas recommend the treehouse!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    17
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
203
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The staff at Rancho Pacifico are the differentiating factor. They are absolutely amazing. Helpful, friendly, willing to go the extra mile. While we were in CR we got into some traffic trouble and the staff (including Alex) helped us navigate the problem. It was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Each night when we would arrive for dinner, they would great us like we were friends. Several times they added special surprises to our breakfast orders or to the room in general - champagne, candies, candles. We weren't on our honeymoon but the made it feel as special as if we were.

Now for the facilities - the TreeHaus was amazing. It was huge, beautifully decorated and ours had a hot tub on the deck so we were able to sit out every night and chill. I didn't see the other rooms but I would say upper TreeHaus was worth every penny. The spa was nice, clean and professional. I received the coconut scrub and John got the sunburn aloe treatment. The pools were lovely and the view was one of the best I've ever seen.

One thing should be noted (which has nothing at all to do with Rancho). The road to the hotel is a harrowing drive. We didn't realize how far up the mountain it was and attempted to drive it at night in wet weather. After a couple times up and down you get used to it but the poor condition of the road is something I've experience infrequently.

I would say that travelling on the road probably makes arrive even sweeter!! but try and do it in the light the first time :)

We will be back Alex et al. John LOVED the place, so you'll see us again sometime.
Terry

Room Tip: The TreeHaus was amazing. It was huge, beautifully decorated and ours had a hot tub on the deck so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Amazing staff and organic food ! Wow!
We are in the luxury travel business with world leading brands as partners and have seen several incredible places .
Rancho Pacifico went far beyond the expectations . Must be on every couples romantic bucket list!!!
Don't miss out on the private spa and dense forest hikes right on the property.

Room Tip: Take the 1 bedroom treehouse villa on top with double outdoor showers and hot tub on balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

But nobody said the stairs would be the fun part... If you're lucky enough, smart enough, diligent enough then you may discover Rancho Pacifico in your search for that special place to stay in Costa Rica.
My father and I recently spent 2/5 days here on a father/son trip. I wish we had spent more time here and less in Quepos. The area is an unspoiled nature lover's paradise and the retreat is other-worldly. Yes there is a 15 minute drive up a bumpy dirt road but when you arrive it is all worth it! My father said it was the best he's ever experienced and he's experienced a lot! The staff here treat you like famiy; Mel, Alex, Vianny, Ana, Mattias went above and beyond.. Almost everyone will converse with you like a family member coming back from being away even if it is your first time. You're greeted with a welcome cocktail, friendly smiles, and gracious personalities. Even beyond the onsite staff, I received thorough assistance with support staff for making reservations and selecting the appropriate accommodation. We stayed in the two-bedroom villa and it was awesome. I saw toucans, howler monkeys, hawks, and blue morpho butterflies from our deck and the pool. They even have a waterfall on the property for the adventurous people. (physically demanding - be advised).
Upon our return home I even received an email from the owner to say thank you and check if there was anything not to my liking. Rancho Pacifico's attention to detail and amazing follow up are part of what makes this place absolutely superb.
I can't imagine a negative review of this place and think those FEW people must have been deranged!

Room Tip: Talk to Jorge about it and he'll guide you to the right selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rachel and I had a wonderful time at Rancho Pacifico. We spent seven days of pure bliss! The staff was warm and friendly. The location is gorgeous. The food was amazing. What a great place to enjoy life. We loved detaching from our busy lives and enjoyed everything about this unique hotel in the jungles of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There are times in your life when you have a really nice vacation. Then there are those special occasion when you get to have a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
If you want to experience the ultimate in "Glamping" (glamor camping), you need to visit RP.
Realizing this (resort) may not be for everyone, if you long for the outdoors and being one with nature; if you want to experience organic five-star cooking with outstanding service; if you want to become (virtual) family members with the staff, gain new acquaintances from around the world, be treated like royalty by the staff; delight in an eco-friendly resort; don't mind daily rain showers or birds chirping and flying at eye level around you or monkeys calling out; if you like adventure in zip-lining, scuba diving or snorkeling, hiking, boating, beach combing or horse-back riding, or just relaxing around the pool or hot tub, this may be your place.
If you want a resort that will exceed your (high) expectations of what Glamping is all about; if you want the ultimate lifetime experience that will be etched in your brain forever, RP is your place.

But again, realizing each vacation (trip) is only as good as what you make it (to be), it may not be for everyone..............

Room Tip: Be prepared to be in the middle of the outdoors/nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent 7 nights in this beautiful setting in the middle of forest and wildlife. Views were stunning and setting was gorgeous . We spent most of the time in our 3 bedroom condo with our friends enjoying majestic mountains and great service. Food was great and with cook's creative menu there was no need to go anyplace else. As a matter of fact we spent 2 days driving and exploring the area which wasn't necessary at all. Everything for a relaxing vacation was right there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.