We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Uvita
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I loved our time here. The location was the perfect spot for a relaxing vacation. The food here is world class. They do a different tasting menu each night! If you are considering booking a vacation here, do it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    17
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
203
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was hard to come home and fall asleep withouth the music of the surrounding jungle and all of it's inhabitants! Never thought my husband would be able to sleep without AC or not watch a tv for 5 days but here anything is possible.
Can't say enough about the amazing people who make you feel as though you are a relative or friend visiting you in their home. Rooms are cleaned daily and fresh water added to your fridge as well as a lovely turn down service in the evenings.
Food was amazing and I am a picky costumer to say the least. From the fresh squeezed juice combinations in the a.m. to the innovative and delicious dinners in the evening, I was pleasantly surprised with the attention to detail and taste. The dinners are very affordable as well. I came away with some new and exciting drinks to try at home since I couldn't bring Vianney with me! We only stayed on the property one full day since we wanted to see and do a lot the area has to offer. I would tell people to rent a car so they wouldn't be limited with how often and where they wanted to go. RP does provide this service but we enjoyed being a little more independent with our time.
We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and truly felt as though we came away with a renewed sense of peace and tranquility after staying at Rancho Pacifico. I would encourage people heading to CR to brush up on some important Spanish phrases that might've been useful for my husband and I to know. Everyone there has some knowledge of the English language so that wasn't a problem but once we left the property we felt a bit silly trying to communicate with others!
It was the rainy season so it did rain, pretty much every day, but it encouraged us to slow down and take a nap or just sit and watch the fog from our room as we sipped on a yummy rum drink!
We didn't take advantage of the spa because that's not really our thing but I heard nothing but positive things about their spa services as well.
Do yourselves a favor and check this place out...you will leave a better person, couple, mom/dad, friend, worker, etc.

Room Tip: We had one of the smaller rooms and we did hear our neighbors but it wasn't an issue since most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Rancho Pacifico for our delayed honeymoon. We absolutely can't wait to have another chance to go back!

THE STAFF
We took the regional flight from Sansa air and were picked up at the airport by Eric, a driver that used to work for RP but is now more freelance. He was great, friendly and very accommodating - teaching us some Spanish in return for us helping him with his English.

Our first contact with the actual RP staff was just as awesome. Adriana greeted us and always made sure we felt like family - it may be cliched but RP really succeeds in making the resort feel like a home away from home. Chef Alex, Ana, Melvin and Vianney also made sure our stay was amazing.

The time that RP staff really shone was after our sea kayaking trip which resulted in both of us (wussy Canadians) getting sunstroke and myself getting second degree sunburn on my legs. Everyone was so helpful from cutting fresh aloe Vera for my legs to bringing a constant supply of ginger ale for us while we recovered. Alex even brought us Advil from town after going from store to store to find exactly what we needed to bring down the swelling. Garrison, the owner, even made sure to call and make sure we were feeling better.

THE RESORT
We stayed at the one bedroom villa romantica. The room, the view and everything down to the bathroom house geckos was incredible. I am a finicky sleeper and the bed was amazing. Waking up to the sound of howler monkeys and toucans every morning is an uparalleled experience.

We got the spa package along with our stay and let me tell you it was absolutely worth it. Gloria and Marco at the spa are amazing (I am going to run out of adjectives!) the disadvantage would be that the Spa Tranquila has ruined other spas for us. We will never be able to match the skill of hot stone massage or the ambiance. The spa is open air and the soundtrack is completely natural - and unmatched by any artificial sound system any other spa could provide!

THE DINING EXPERIENCE
I have a severe dairy allergy and I frequently find it difficult to find restaurants to eat at - another winkle that any other resort could have direly fallen short. No fear - RP excelled on this front! The food is INCREDIBLE. Within the first day or so, nearly every staff member knew about my allergy and were extremely accomodating.

The atmosphere at breakfast is beautiful and relaxed. The menu has something for everyone. The dinner experience was completely new to us and we loved it! Dinner starts at around 7 with drinks where you can socialize with the other vacationers and the fantastic staff. Once dinner is ready, you filter into the dinning room. Every night has a different theme and we did not have a single night where we didnt like the food. Everything was fresh, flavorful and had a unique twist to it. My husband is still craving their Costa Rican celebration tamale... I should have asked for a cooking lesson!

THE ACTIVITIES
One of the best thing about RP is even if heaven forbid you wind up getting sunstroke, hanging out around the resort is just as interesting, relaxing and stimulating as the typical activities. There is wildlife all around the resort. But if day trip and adventure activities are more your thing, RP will help you book whatever tickles your fancy.

We wound up doing three activities: the Mangrove Tour, sea kayaking and a short hike to the waterfall on property. The mangrove tour was AMAZING. The guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and we saw every type of wildlife imaginable. As an animal biologist, I was in heaven! Sea kayaking was also very fun! Our guide Victor was entertaining and knowledgeable. We would clearly recommend WATERPROOF sunscreen should you partake. The short hike to the waterfall was fabulous. It is challenging to almost all levels of hikers and has spectacular views. You may even run into a monkey or two.

Overall, RP met and exceeded our expectations. The staff, locations, food, spa and activities are all incredible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently spent a week here and didn't want to come home. After reading so many reviews, we didn't know what to expect when we arrived. I must admit, after the long ride up the mountain to the hotel, we were blown away. The view was AMAZING! Uvita is a small town that has a lot to offer. The excursions that were available we awesome! We recommend the ATV tour, zip lining and the waterfall horseback tour. The taxi and shuttle prices are pretty expensive, but if you find a couple that is going to the same excursion, you get to split the cost. However, I would consider renting a car you last couple of days. The staff is very friendly and call you by your first name at this secluded private resort. The food is to die for...5 star meals! Please take advantage of the meal and spa packages...WELL WORTH IT! If you're looking for a romantice couples get-a-way, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

As we planned our trip to Costa Rica, we wanted to find a place where we could be adventurous during the day and totally pampered at night. We found that perfect balance at Rancho Pacifico. Perched near the top of a mountain with stunning views of Playa Uvita’s Whale Tail, the resort is small and intimate. The open air, semi-screened rooms offer privacy and a feeling that you’re sleeping outdoors in the jungle, while providing all the amenities, including a comfortable bed, ample seating and a ceiling fan. . The room did not have A/C but we found it wasn’t needed with the shade of the trees, the evening breezes and the fans. . The bathroom was very spacious and the room offered a mini fridge that allowed us to bring and store our own drinks and snacks. . The dual head indoor/outdoor shower & tub concept is unique and liberating. Early morning wake up calls from birds and howler monkeys may cause you to reach for your eyeshades and ear plugs but if you get moving early, you may catch a glimpse of the white faced monkeys or toucans that live nearby

Breakfasts are complimentary, starting with fresh squeezed juices and mini muffins along with a variety of traditional and tasty Costa Rican dishes as well as eggs, omelets, pancakes and Banana Bread French Toast. Dinners consisted of a set, multi course menu, meticulously prepared with the freshest fish, shrimp, beef, pork, calamari and chicken. Alex, the executive chef (and property manager) takes a great amount of pride in his creations and asks the guests their thoughts on new recipes. Each meal was fabulous, filled with flavor as well as fantastic presentation. A shellfish allergy was never a problem as alternatives were available that were equally tasty. The bar and wait staff is top notch, fluent in English, completely attentive and surprisingly learns the names of their guests, making them feel very welcome.

The spa offers a unique experience as it also an open air concept. In lieu of spa music, massages are given to the sounds of birds, monkeys and cicadas. We scheduled late in the day and were able to relax in their anti gravity rockers, enjoying the complimentary lemongrass teas and cookies, watching the sunset as we waited for our massage time. Check into the Spa/Dinner packages as a cost savings if you plan on using the spa. .

The Uvita area and the Osa Peninsula are touted as one of the last frontiers of Costa Rica, Day activities included sea kayaking, waterfall rappelling and a NatGeo Wildlife watching tour that should not be missed. Other guests raved about their horseback riding adventure on the beach. There are several nearby beaches, each unique in their offerings. Adrianna, the concierge, was extremely helpful in scheduling activities and providing directions or anything else that was needed.

While Rancho Pacifico does have available wi-fi, there are no televisions, allowing guests the ability to completely disconnect, something we were very much looking for.

The road to Rancho Pacifico is an adventure in itself and not for the faint at heart if you choose to rent a car and drive it yourself. It requires a 4 wheel drive vehicle with a manual transmission. DO NOT settle for anything less from your rental car company or you will struggle getting up the hill. The resort does offer transportation options but we wanted flexibility and chose to rent a car, a decision we don’t regret.

Rancho Pacifico may not be for everyone. They do an excellent job in setting expectations on their web site, in the section called “Guest Advice Must Read” and with their communications, sent about two weeks prior to arrival. Do your research, pay close attention to their advice regarding what to expect, what to bring and wear and make a choice that is right for you.

This is not your typical hotel and they don’t claim to be. They offer a unique, open air Costa Rican experience. Owners Garrision & Silvia and the Rancho Pacifico staff should be commended for their attention to detail, attentive staff, fantastic food and amazing property. We are raving fans and only we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently spent a week at Rancho Pacifico outside Uvita in Puntarenas, on the southern Pacific coast of Costa Rica, and had one of the best vacations ever. The owners, Garrison and Silvia Krause, have created an idyllic mountain-top retreat amidst the rainforest, overlooking the Marino Ballena National Park. The property is small and intimate, with only 10 suites and villas, situated so as to afford a considerable degree of privacy for the small number of guests. All of the accommodations are beautiful, well-appointed in a minimalist but luxurious style, designed for maximum comfort, and almost seem to spring naturally out of the tropical environment. The common area, comprising reception, bar/lounge, and dining room, is a contiguous open-air space, with fabulous views of the surrounding mountains, forest and coast. The beautiful pool area is adjacent, with a smaller infinity pool on a lower level. The design and placement of the property is such that you don't feel like you're in a compound surrounded by nature, but rather that you are part of the environment itself. (They also have a policy of upgrading guests at no charge if better rooms are available. We began our stay in a deluxe balcony suite, which was very nice, though somewhat small. After a couple of days we were upgraded to a larger suite, and then a day later to the fabulous Treehaus Villa.)
The one possible drawback is that it is rather isolated. Uvita is in one of the more remote parts of Costa Rica, and takes a bit more effort to get to, as opposed to the more accessible and populous tourist areas. Rancho Pacifico itself is on a mountaintop at an elevation of about 2,000 feet, and to get there from the town you have to travel up a very steep and winding dirt road. On the other hand, if it was easier to get to, it might be over-run with the kind of tourist types with whom we don't necessarily want to share a vacation. And once you do get there, it's like you've discovered a private paradise. (The only other downside, for some, is that it is adults only, and not a place for families with children - but hardly a problem for adults looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway.)
Given its location, activities on the property itself are limited, though there are some good hiking trails, one of which leads down to a waterfall. They also have an excellent spa, with a wide range of offerings. So while onsite you may have to content yourself with lounging at the pool, or relaxing on your balcony, mojito in hand, gazing at the lovely vistas - which, when you think about it, is not a bad way to spend at least part of your vacation. However, numerous activities are available offsite, within reasonable driving distance and easily arranged by the staff. You can choose from surfing, kayaking, diving, zip-lining, mangrove tours, and much more. The NatGeo tour, on a small boat down the Rio Sierpe, is a must, enabling you to get up-close and personal with monkeys, birds, crocs, and other denizens of the rainforest. We particularly enjoyed the horseback riding. Touristy horseback riding is often a disappointment; but in this case, we had good horses, well-equipped and properly cared for, and an excellent guide. Finally, there are miles of beautiful beaches, undisturbed and natural, and largely deserted.
The Costa Ricans are famed for being pleasant, friendly and hospitable, and the people at Rancho Pacifico lived up to that tradition in every way. Garrison, formerly a producer and on-air host at PBS, and Silvia, a doctor and former Miss Costa Rica, were the most gracious of hosts. Their managers, Alex and Adriana, were superb, ensuring that every need and request was fulfilled. When we first arrived, Adriana said something unusual, that her "friends" would attend to our luggage. Her choice of words at first seemed a bit odd, but we soon understood what she meant. The rest of the staff were her friends, and like her family; and their warmth and friendliness were immediately extended to us. Ronny, Vianney, Mel, Oval, Mattias, Ana, and the rest of the staff were caring and helpful, attentive and efficient, and at the same time relaxed and friendly. With a staff-to-guest ratio of one-to-one, there's no shortage of people to help you out with whatever you need. And when you're there, you feel less like "huespedes" - hotel guests - and more like "invitados" - friends invited into the home. (If you don't speak Spanish, that won't be a problem, as most everyone is bi-lingual - though they're happy to converse in Spanish as well, which helped us to improve our own linguistic skills.)
Then there's the food. Dining options in the Uvita area are limited, and the difficult drive up and down the mountain makes popping out for a bite rather challenging. So you will probably find yourself eating most of your meals at Rancho Pacifico's Whale's Tail Club. We have usually found such a situation to be problematic, as most hotels and resorts cannot meet the challenge of providing consistent quality coupled with interesting variety for an extended period of time, meal after meal after meal. Eventually, you're bound to be disappointed. But not so at Rancho Pacifico. We have eaten in many fine restaurants around the world, and the food here can hold its own with the best of them. Alex, who also doubles as Executive Chef, is a master of regionally-inspired cuisine. The menu for breakfast (included with your room) and lunch is generally the same, but has considerable variety. The menu for the four-course prix fixe dinner changes nightly, and over seven days not a single dish was repeated. Every meal we had was great, with the quality, flavor, inventiveness, and presentation being consistently excellent, and everything fresh, healthy, and locally sourced.
The small size and intimate setting enables you to become better acquainted with the other guests. Frankly, there are some places we've stayed where that wouldn't necessarily be a plus. But at Rancho Pacifico, we found the other guests to be a delightful collection of fellow travelers. Maybe it was just a fluke, but we somehow think that this is a place that attracts a certain type of person, people we'd like to spend time with; or maybe there's something about Rancho Pacifico - the beautiful setting, the relaxed atmosphere, the warmth and generosity of the staff - that brings out the best in people. Whatever it is, we will certainly return again, and encourage anyone who has an opportunity to do so to visit this exquisite gem which exemplifies the Costa Rican motto, "La Pura Vida". Muchas gracias, Rancho Pacifico, y hasta luego!

Bob Janas and Lois Aaron
West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
March, 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were so privileged to hear about Rancho Pacifico as we were planning our June 2012 honeymoon. It was the intimate setting we were looking for that offered R&R, a bit of adventure, and pampering. Rancho Pacifico completely exceeded our expectation and I truly feel we had THE BEST honeymoon because of the entire staff at Rancho Pacifico.

We were at Rancho Pacifico for 7 nights and it was absolute perfection. We arrived late; I believe around 8-9PM, and were greeted by the manager, Alex, who welcomed us to the dining area to enjoy dinner. We had delicious, fresh pasta while enjoying the breathtaking view and outstanding service. Then Alex then told us our bags were in our one-bedroom suite and said no need to check in, they’ll take care of it tomorrow. He also informed us were were going to be upgraded in the morning to the two bedroom/two bath villa, which was spectacular. We felt so grateful, and still do, for that gesture. After dinner, despite it being dark, we knew we were in paradise.

The next morning we walked out to breakfast and were greeted by the lovely concierge, Adriana. She assisted us everyday with what we might want to do (zip lining, horseback riding, exploring, hike to the waterfall, driving to the beach, etc. which were all a blast!). She made the reservations and even drew maps and provided us with directions.

We spent our first two days at the pool and enjoyed the spa treatments. I cannot stress how friendly and welcoming the staff was. Several guests were gone during the day and we felt we had the whole place to ourselves. The service was top notch, the food was outstanding and I've ever eaten so well in my life. Alex helped us arrange deep sea fishing. It was a long day but looking back a pretty amazing experience. We only got one bite (but it was a big one) and I was able to sit at the front of the boat and watch the dolphins swim next to us which was pretty amazing. We also had a catered dinner in our villa which was pretty special. Our last night at Rancho Pacifico we moved to a one bedroom suite and I have to say, all three rooms/villas we stayed at were phenomenal. Of course, nothing beats the villa, but all the rooms were certainly beautiful with breathtaking views and unique in their own special way.

I want to extend a heartfelt THANK YOU to to entire staff, from the gentleman that guided us at night with a flashlight, to the bartenders and that kept those delicious made from scratch cocktails come, to the chefs and servers, to Alex and Adriana, who took such great care of us. THANK YOU and we can't wait to come back! We were so blown away and grateful that we had the opportunity to show our gratitude by tipping every single person. We tipped our bill 100% (essentially doubling our bill) and it was 100% worth it!

One tip - get directions to the airport. We had car service from the airport to Rancho Pacifico but rented a car on day 3 and drove that to the airport. I don't know what we were thinking by not asking for directions to the airport as we were lost once we got to San Jose. We ending up missing our flight and saying another night in Costa Rica... in a AmericInn, so not Rancho Pacifico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.