We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancho Pacifico is Costa Rica's Finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Uvita
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rancho Pacifico is Costa Rica's Finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Rancho Pacifico is truly in a class of it's own. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left this whole experience exceeded our expectations. We have stayed at superb 5 star resorts before but I have to admit, Rancho Pacifico is without a doubt the best we have experienced to date. As they say..it's the little things that make a difference and that combined with the wonderful staff they have really does make this place flawless. If you stay at Rancho Pacifico, you have to treat yourself to a spa treatment and make sure you schedule it in the late afternoon when the light is beyond amazing and the Howler monkeys begin a symphony in the rainforest. It's incredibly private, peaceful, and well designed. Each different room/villa is unique and sighted to allow for unobstructed views of the ocean and rainforest.
I have never experienced a staff so professional and caring. Each person on the staff made the experience at Rancho Pacifico over the top from the moment we arrived. The food was such a highlight. Every meal was beyond perfect. This was my second visit to Costa Rica and on this stay, I only left Rancho Pacifico two times to go to the beach for a few hours. It is the first time I have ever enjoyed myself so much at a resort...that I really didn't leave. I also appreciate that the owners took the time to greet each and every guest and welcome them to Rancho Pacifico. We, like so many other visitors, will absolutely be returning to this special place year after year. WOW!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    17
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
203
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We just returned after 5 nights at Rancho Pacifico and it was truly perfect in every way. We were celebrating my wife's 40th birthday in search of a place that provided both activity and relaxation. Rancho Pacifico delivered on both accounts.

Right off the bat you notice that Garrison, Silvia and the staff at RP treat you like long lost friends the minute you arrive. Adriana, Mel (not Gibson), Ronny, Vianney, Alex, Anna, etc. were fantastic. They took very good care of us. Everyone here does multiple tasks and are empowered by Garrison and Silvia to make decisions so your stay is perfect.

There is plenty of activity right near by. There are two nice hikes (one to a waterfall and one up through the clouds) that literally start right outside your door. They were moderately difficult, but not impossible. We went Ziplining at a place nearby that provided a small informative nature hike through a preserve and then the thrill of 9 ziplines. We also went horsebacking riding along the beach and enjoyed some lively entertainment in Dominical. This was also set up by Adriana after we arrived and we were delivered and picked up perfectly. You don't need to worry about it before you go.

As far as relaxation, there are two things that really add to the experience. First, the spa on property is incredible. First rate overlooking the deep expanse of the rainforest. Had light rain one day that only added to the effect. Recommend the signature, but the hot stone was fantastic as well. Second, the food and drinks were really second to none. We looked forward to seeing Mel and Vianney at the bar and then the works of art that Chef Alex created each night. Local foods and fresh ingredients. We met some very nice people during dinner and would share experiences from the day before. (Probably would not have gone horseback riding but for this).

It takes a little bit to get there, but you are up in the rain forest surrounded by toucans, howler monkeys, etc. It should take a little bit to get there if you want to unplug and get away. I really can't think of a bad thing to say about Rancho Pacifico. It was paradise. We will be back (and soon).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place to get away. The drive up is an experience but worth it. We rented a treehouse and loved the open plan. It was cool enough with the fans. If you want a great massage visit Marco. Dinner and breakfast were good. Drinks were beautiful but over priced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Coming all the way from Europe, I enjoyed the tranquillity of Rancho Pacifico. The views are out of this world, the accomodation is very comfortable and the staff is the most charming, relaxed, effective and smiling! In Europe we don't usually know the names of every staffmember,- here you do!
The food was always very nice and beautyfully arranged and served.
I have to mention, though, that you need a car to get anywhere, and if you are used to exercise you will find the gym a little boring (and running in the mountains very difficult!).
Afterall, no doubt: would love to come back bringing my husband!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I just spent 6 days at RP and just want to share that I had a wonderful time! The staff were extremely friendly, the food and the service was excellent, the spa treatments beautiful! Thank you all at RP for making this stay, with my dear friends, such a success.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for five days at Rancho Pacifico for our 10 year anniversary and had an absolutely wonderful time and absolutely intend to go back one day.

As pointed out in several other reviews, the key highlights of this property are:

1) The stunning and amazing views. The views never got old. It is magnificent and relaxing every time you look off into the horizon.

2) The staff is amazing. Certainly on par with, if not better than 5 star hotels in the U.S. They will make your vacation exactly what you want it to be, which is a huge reason to choose this hotel. They will take care of everything for you. They treat you like family from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart. Every question we had was answered and every problem we had was made right.

3) The food from chef Alex is also amazing and again, on par if not better than many fine dining restaurants in the U.S. Every meal was fresh, local, organic and bursting with flavor. My wife and I are big foodies and this place did not disappoint.

In reading these Trip Advisor reviews, you are probably wondering if it is worth the rather significant cost to stay at a property like this? My wife and I were on an anniversary trip, so we were less concerned about the cost on our trip, but I wondered if it would be worth it since it is not inexpensive, even for a short stay. I would say that we were glad we stayed and we had an incredible experience and you will too if you go in with the right expectations. In no way should these considerations be interpreted as “cons” or “negatives”, just information to help ensure your expectations are in line with the experience you’ll have. If you get these points and plan accordingly, you’ll have an amazing time, as we did.

1) Understand the location: You are staying on a mountainside retreat teeming with wildlife. All of the rooms are unique and uniquely integrated with the property, but generally are very open. This was hugely appealing to us, but others may find being that close to nature overwhelming or the specific location on the property not fully meeting your expectations. We had no problems whatsoever with bugs or creatures in the room, but you will hear the wildlife most of the day, including at night where it is very difficult to isolate yourself from nature given the nature of the windows/screens/doors being so open, which again, is sort of the point for choosing a property like this. Just be prepared to go to sleep and wake up to the sounds of nature.

2) Understand the rooms: The rooms have spectacular views and great amenities but not every window has a curtain and not every room in the suite is completely enclosed. The bedrooms are generally fully enclosed, but we didn’t see every one so I can’t say for sure. Some bathrooms however are not fully enclosed, but the open wall is into the forest. All suites have very open floor plans and generally open to the outside on many walls, many times without screens or curtains. So some rooms might not be as private as you might hope or expect (i.e. we could see the massage tables in the spa as well as our neighbor through a window without a curtain). Again, the open nature of the rooms was a huge selling point for us, but you can’t just go into your room, shut the doors and turn on the A/C and turn on the T.V. If that is what you are looking for than this property is not for you. The best advice I can give is to review the pictures for the individual rooms on-line and then call Rancho Pacific to be sure all of your questions about location and suite design are answered.

3) Understand the transportation: you can either rent a car or have someone drive you. We opted for the latter and were glad we did. Costs were reasonable and although we lost some control over going when and where we wanted and had to put up with “Costa Rica time” (i.e. they are consistently ½ hour late) we were glad we did. Arranging transportation to the property from any airport and to and from activities is very easy. If you prefer to have a car, you can drive and it’s not quite as hair raising as some of the other reviews suggest, but you do need 4WD. I also strongly suggest arriving in daylight when it is not raining.

And that’s basically it. So if you are interested in an upscale property where you can relax and recharge, dine on great meals with wonderful people, all in a place that is wonderfully integrated with nature, go for it. If you need a quite, dark, temperature controlled room with a T.V. to sleep or a want bustling environment with lots of bars, restaurants, shops and entertainment, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just finished a 5 day stay with them. Overall, the hotel was very nice and the staff does try its best to make you feel welcome. Adrianna who is the fisrt person you meet and your "go to" for just about anything is a wonderful person and will do her best to get you what you want. My wife and I typically go for high end smaller private places but also go for the Four Seasons/St. Regis as well.

Plus Features - quiet - there are no TV's/cable so the only way of being "connected" is the hotel internet which works 90% of the time. The rooms are very nice. No A/C but we did not need it. The food was very good but not the place to go if you love fancy pastry in the morning or huge dinners. Portions are good but not if you are 2 standard deviations above your ideal weight - my wife and I are in good shape so the portions were just fine with us. The place is very clean. The trips you can take are all well planned and interesting.The hotel dog - Tito - is a great addition.

Minus Featues - they have a small gym (equipment similar to what some folks probably have at home) and 2 small pools. Fine for short stays but not if you are a person who loves a top end gym and a lap pool. When at the pool it would have been great to have a staff member come out and see if we wanted water or a cold drink. The bar was only a few feet away so not really a big deal. The place is really secluded at the top of a mountain and getting up and down is really only done by SUV unless you are a marathon trail runner who likes 30 degree inclines and rocky roads. You really can't go off the hotel grounds unless it is by SUV or planned trip. Do not even think about bringing kids.

We would go back again is the bottom line.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.