We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Uvita
1 review
“Fantastic Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

From beginning to end the stay at Rancho Pacifico was fanstastic. The resort is beautiful every detail was considered when putting this place together. This was the last stop on our honeymoon, it was the perfect place to end our honeymoon and relax before returning to the real world.

We had the pleasure of staying in the treehouse which was beautiful, the first evening the staff served us dinner on our private balcony. The next two days we spent relaxing by the pool eating and drinking. Alex the executive chef was accomidating and created great dishes every meal was wonderful. The entire 25 person staff all were wonderful and each one of them played an important role in making our stay there so memorable!

The views from so high up of the whales tale and the ocean were great, if bored, the walk to the waterfall was the perfect mixture of beauty and adventure.

Our stay was perfect, we are already trying to figure out when we can return.

Thanks for such an amazing honeymoon!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    19
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
213
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Lounge chairs around the pool and on the villa decks are not user friendly...indeed uncomfortable
$50 charge to be brought to and from the closest local beach or into town seems excessive for a fifteen minute ride and should be built into the resort package if too expensive for the resort to absorb
Suggest to guests a car rental if they plan to dine elsewhere or explore the area since doing it by cab is unrealistic re the $
Small points but it would make a big difference

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKMONTANA, Owner at Rancho Pacifico, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for expressing your enjoyment for Rancho Pacifico, including considering our overall costs to be fair -- and for sharing your suggestions. We have actually just this week changed the seating options near the main pool to include a cabana area equipped with comfortable sofas, chairs and ottomans. Thus far it has been a welcomed addition for spreading out and relaxing in a living room like setting while gazing at our spectacular vistas. The other chairs being referred to are high quality anti-gravity chairs that we have employed for 5 years with excellent feedback. Of course we are not 100% pleased that you did not agree and hope the inconvenience was small. There are by the way alternative outdoor chairs in the TreeHaus that could have been substituted - or other seating that could have happily been made available upon request.

As far as the transportation charge......that was not a cost to the local beach but rather to a more distant area for which the local taxis charge $100. We consistently charge less for private and comfortable transportation than the local alternatives. But you are correct, for some a rental car is a very good choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me say that I am lucky to call this place my home away from home. I have visited this property 9 times, and each time it gets better! The staff, the food, view, villas, are all amazing! Thank you to the folks at RP for always making our trips feel so wonderful.
My favorite time is early morning, hearing the monkeys, drinking coffe and admiring the view of the whales tail.

Room Tip: If you have 4,5 or up to 8 choose Villa 3, 2-4, Villa 2. Otherwise you will love any "couple&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A bit of heaven can be found here at Rancho Pacifico. Everything from the spectacular location, the inviting accommodations, and the outstanding meals to the wonderfully attentive staff and owners make your stay an unforgettable vacation memory. If you are looking for a place that is unique and relaxing RP is it. We miss it already and will return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The drive up the hill to RP is definitely an adventure but the oasis at the end is worth every minute. The staff make it their goal to learn your name and address your personally. The food was stupendous. A great balance of local dishes as well as fine dining. No matter where you stand, sit or sleep at RP, there is not a bad view. One thing I truly admired was the surrounding plants and trees were incorporated within the layout, it really gave the feeling if an untouched jungle. Like the land was being respected in all the building plans. I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There are no words to describe the beauty and hospitality of RP. All of the staff are wonderful, the food is amazing, the setting/views stunning....I could go on and on. Bottom line: If you want to have the vacation experience of a lifetime, go to R.P.!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

1. THE FOOD was wonderful and incredibly varied. I loved the way they changed up the theme and format for each meal. One night we had traditional Costa Rican Barbeque set up for all a the guests, one night was Italian-influence, another evening we had a multicourse local ingredient feast which included the best clay-pot chicken I ever had. Breakfast was equally good – with particularly amazing coffee. The cost of the dinners is really very reasonable for what you are getting – I’d expect to pay double for this quality food in a fine restaurant. Lunches can be shared and done informally poolside – which was pleasant and helped us save room for dinner.

2. THE SPA – Very well done couples massage (Swedish and Hot stone) in open air spa, at sunset, serenaded by toucans.

3. THE HIKES – We did both the Waterfall and the Mountain Hike during our stay. Both are challenging, and you have the private trails entirely to yourself. The Mountain brought us eerily right up into the clouds, while the Waterfall offers big payoff in the end.

4. THE BAR glows at night – and it is awesome to be able to dine on canapés and have a cocktail before finding your table for dinner. The wine list isn’t huge – but we were happy with everything we tried. We enjoyed delicious coconut, ginger and fresh fruit cocktails each evening (and all day poolside)

5. THE POOLS – Amazing view from the main pool, and from its nearby covered hot tub –which is perfect for a rainy afternoon. The infinity pool under the restaurant is a secret spot – with a private little deck all of its own. Perfect place to camp out, spend the day and have lunch.

6. THE ANIMALS - Howler Monkeys will start to yell in the jungle around 5:30 am. Tree frogs line the hikes. A Toucan serenaded us at breakfast and landed on our balcony. A Blue Morpho butterfly lived by our door. I spent one particularly relaxing hour watching Leaf Cutter ants devour a bush.

7. THE TREEHOUSE VILLA – While not an actual treehouse, you do feel like the ground is far below you in this huge suite. We loved the modern design and the (very) open concept. We used the wet bar to make pre-dinner rum and cokes and the living room to play Scrabble. The villa is open air, with screens, and we didn’t have any big problems with water or bugs coming in. The huge deck has lounge chairs and open air soaking tub. The beautiful shower has two fountain heads and a door that opens outside onto the deck. It was cleaned spotlessly everyday, and turn down service included fresh flowers. Amazing!

8. THE VIEW – You are seriously up a mountain. After a few rides you may opt to stay up there rather than undergoing the rough ride down to sea level too many times. Those 20 minutes are no joke. Once you get up there, though – you really feel like you are a world away. With the ocean view far below you and the clouds hovering around you its like another world.

9. THE STAFF - Marlon, Mel, Oval, Vianny and Anna were some of the warmest servers, bartenders, and resort staff we have ever met. They are always available and attentive but never in the way, and somehow always seem to know when you need a new drink down by the pool. They are so caring and entertaining – truly one of the best assets of Rancho. On my 30th birthday – they banded together to throw me a beautiful, private candle lit dinner on the pool deck (with cake!) It was a meal I will never forget. (Thank You, guys)

10. THE MANGROVE TOUR – Others have said this tour was a long drive to get too– but we found it really reasonable 40 min. We were back at RP before 3:00. It’s a rare privilege to have a boat and tour guide all to yourself. We got lucky and saw an incredible amount of animals – including all three local monkey species. (Squirrel, Howler & Capuchin) Even if we didn’t have so many sightings– I think we still would have loved it. Our guide had a staggering level of knowledge – he was truly an expert – that could identify birds by beak shape or by sound. He was a wealth of knowledge about the habitat, and was full of scientific and biological facts about everything we encountered. This was truly professional and a cut above your average show-and-tell.

Other Tips
• Wifi is great – reached all the way to our treehouse.
• Not too much of a gym, one bike, so get your exercise swimming or hiking.
• They are building a media room – but it wasn’t yet finished in Sept.
• You are in the clouds. It’s a very damp all the time. Don’t bring anything you can’t live with getting wet.
• All of Costa Rica really does seem to prefer USD – the ATMs even give USD!
• We did the 3 hour car transfer from the airport. It is a long drive – but the pickup was prompt. We felt like we arrived just as fast as we would have if we waited for that second flight transfer.
• A few small comments we had about possibilities for improvement were

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.