We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beatiful place I have ever been!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Uvita
1 review
“Most beatiful place I have ever been!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The drive up the hill to RP is definitely an adventure but the oasis at the end is worth every minute. The staff make it their goal to learn your name and address your personally. The food was stupendous. A great balance of local dishes as well as fine dining. No matter where you stand, sit or sleep at RP, there is not a bad view. One thing I truly admired was the surrounding plants and trees were incorporated within the layout, it really gave the feeling if an untouched jungle. Like the land was being respected in all the building plans. I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    18
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
30
210
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There are no words to describe the beauty and hospitality of RP. All of the staff are wonderful, the food is amazing, the setting/views stunning....I could go on and on. Bottom line: If you want to have the vacation experience of a lifetime, go to R.P.!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

1. THE FOOD was wonderful and incredibly varied. I loved the way they changed up the theme and format for each meal. One night we had traditional Costa Rican Barbeque set up for all a the guests, one night was Italian-influence, another evening we had a multicourse local ingredient feast which included the best clay-pot chicken I ever had. Breakfast was equally good – with particularly amazing coffee. The cost of the dinners is really very reasonable for what you are getting – I’d expect to pay double for this quality food in a fine restaurant. Lunches can be shared and done informally poolside – which was pleasant and helped us save room for dinner.

2. THE SPA – Very well done couples massage (Swedish and Hot stone) in open air spa, at sunset, serenaded by toucans.

3. THE HIKES – We did both the Waterfall and the Mountain Hike during our stay. Both are challenging, and you have the private trails entirely to yourself. The Mountain brought us eerily right up into the clouds, while the Waterfall offers big payoff in the end.

4. THE BAR glows at night – and it is awesome to be able to dine on canapés and have a cocktail before finding your table for dinner. The wine list isn’t huge – but we were happy with everything we tried. We enjoyed delicious coconut, ginger and fresh fruit cocktails each evening (and all day poolside)

5. THE POOLS – Amazing view from the main pool, and from its nearby covered hot tub –which is perfect for a rainy afternoon. The infinity pool under the restaurant is a secret spot – with a private little deck all of its own. Perfect place to camp out, spend the day and have lunch.

6. THE ANIMALS - Howler Monkeys will start to yell in the jungle around 5:30 am. Tree frogs line the hikes. A Toucan serenaded us at breakfast and landed on our balcony. A Blue Morpho butterfly lived by our door. I spent one particularly relaxing hour watching Leaf Cutter ants devour a bush.

7. THE TREEHOUSE VILLA – While not an actual treehouse, you do feel like the ground is far below you in this huge suite. We loved the modern design and the (very) open concept. We used the wet bar to make pre-dinner rum and cokes and the living room to play Scrabble. The villa is open air, with screens, and we didn’t have any big problems with water or bugs coming in. The huge deck has lounge chairs and open air soaking tub. The beautiful shower has two fountain heads and a door that opens outside onto the deck. It was cleaned spotlessly everyday, and turn down service included fresh flowers. Amazing!

8. THE VIEW – You are seriously up a mountain. After a few rides you may opt to stay up there rather than undergoing the rough ride down to sea level too many times. Those 20 minutes are no joke. Once you get up there, though – you really feel like you are a world away. With the ocean view far below you and the clouds hovering around you its like another world.

9. THE STAFF - Marlon, Mel, Oval, Vianny and Anna were some of the warmest servers, bartenders, and resort staff we have ever met. They are always available and attentive but never in the way, and somehow always seem to know when you need a new drink down by the pool. They are so caring and entertaining – truly one of the best assets of Rancho. On my 30th birthday – they banded together to throw me a beautiful, private candle lit dinner on the pool deck (with cake!) It was a meal I will never forget. (Thank You, guys)

10. THE MANGROVE TOUR – Others have said this tour was a long drive to get too– but we found it really reasonable 40 min. We were back at RP before 3:00. It’s a rare privilege to have a boat and tour guide all to yourself. We got lucky and saw an incredible amount of animals – including all three local monkey species. (Squirrel, Howler & Capuchin) Even if we didn’t have so many sightings– I think we still would have loved it. Our guide had a staggering level of knowledge – he was truly an expert – that could identify birds by beak shape or by sound. He was a wealth of knowledge about the habitat, and was full of scientific and biological facts about everything we encountered. This was truly professional and a cut above your average show-and-tell.

Other Tips
• Wifi is great – reached all the way to our treehouse.
• Not too much of a gym, one bike, so get your exercise swimming or hiking.
• They are building a media room – but it wasn’t yet finished in Sept.
• You are in the clouds. It’s a very damp all the time. Don’t bring anything you can’t live with getting wet.
• All of Costa Rica really does seem to prefer USD – the ATMs even give USD!
• We did the 3 hour car transfer from the airport. It is a long drive – but the pickup was prompt. We felt like we arrived just as fast as we would have if we waited for that second flight transfer.
• A few small comments we had about possibilities for improvement were

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We enjoy traveling a lot and found this resort 'all that we haved hoped for and more'. We 'finally' found that 'quiet' place, where you can totally escape from it all. It was as though you are the only people there. Did we mention the views? INCREDIBLE!. The service is 'the best'. The entire staff is always there to make your stay one you will never forget, yet they give you total privacy. Ahh, and than there is 'the food', It is so fresh, and right up there with the best we have experienced while traveling. We give Rancho Pacifico top billing and plan to return again in Jan 2013.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room, they are all magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Resort was beautiful and the staff was fantastic. Everyone from Chef Alex/General Manager Alex to Oval our trusted waiter was smiling, gracious and extremely helpful. Our trip wouldn't have been the same without any of their welcoming faces, especially Pena! We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa with 2 other couples. Very nice, comfortable and clean. House keeping staff was also top notch. Loved the food, loved the wildlife, live the pools and spa. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

No one in the party wanted to leave, two of us thought about asking for jobs. We were met by Eric, "The Driver", at the small airport and were brought to the grocery. After provisions were secured, up the mountain we went. I have a terrific fear of heights, yet he made the ascent very calming. The 6 of us were met by Adrianna, Alex, Mel and Oval. Oval is the man. Alex welcomed us, gave us the tour with Adrianna and then took us to the house. Wow! No TV, radio, computers... I admit we were a bit lost for the first few hours. We went down for food and beverages. Alex Segura is an amazing chef and very open to feedback, but what could we criticize? Everything was very, very good. We did not get to meet the owners as they were taking a very well deserved vacation, but the rest of the staff was superb. Anything you ask for you get. 5 days was not enough. If you go ask to meet Pena, he will show you things that only an experienced jungle guide can pick up on, and he can fix anything. We only left once for dinner to switch things up a bit on the last night, they recommended a place called Poseidon. It did not disappoint. Thank you again Adrianna, Alex, Mel, Oval, Pena, "Benny" and the great environmental services staff that kept our house pest free for the week. The girls will have you speaking Spanish by the end of your trip! Great job guys.

Room Tip: House #3 is where we stayed. Has a great courtyard to the side with a little pool and patio. Pena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rancho Pacifico is heaven. It's high up a coastal mountain on a perch overlooking undeveloped rainforest jungle canyon and hillside. Here's some of my thoughts about what makes it unique:

1. The staff is amazing. When we left, we really missed them. They are so friendly and unpretentious. They are also fun and really enjoy the company of their guests.

2. We stayed in the upper tree house. This is like having a private residence that is elevated in the jungle canopy and out of the line of sight of ANYONE. Well worth the extra money.

3. It IS a long drive up the mountain to get there. But the staff accommodates and shuttles you up and down and you never feel stranded. This place is best suited for those wanting to relax and unplug for a while...

4. My favorite moment was taking a two hour nap in the afternoon during a huge storm with the jungle breezes flowing through the room.

5. Pick your outings carefully. You don't want to spend all of your time driving up and down the mountain and being shuttled to different parts of Costa Rica. We were a little under-whelmed by the "mini National Geographic Tour" (a long drive to get there and did not see a lot). By far our favorite outing was the horseback riding. It is pretty close to the resort. There is a "Beach Ride" and a "Jungle Ride." We did both (separate days). The beach ride is amazing because there is nothing like riding a healthy, well-cared for horse at full gallop across the sands of an EMPTY Costa Rica beach! The jungle ride is amazing because you ride into a VERY rugged jungle to see a towering waterfall. And we saw much more wildlife here than during the Nat. Geo. tour. We highly recommend this!

6. We were concerned about bugs, mosquitos and heat when we arrived. We went in July and there were NO mosquitos. There were occasional - and really cool - bugs that would show up in your room. But they were rare and part of the fun experience. I was convinced that we would need air conditioning.... but I was wrong! RP is so high up the mountain that it is much cooler up there. The rooms don't have air conditioning and you absolutely don't need it.

7. The food is SO good! We met a couple that was staying at Oxygen resort (which is sort of nearby) and they were asking if it was possible for people not staying at RP to eat at the restaurant. We told them no, it's for guests only (which is true)! Dinner is 5 courses and you get to choose every night based on two meal options. We ended up taking tons of pictures of the food because we wanted to remember it. We never do that!

We can't wait to go back someday. When we were checking out, we got a call from the owner, Sylvia (who was in Montana at the time) to thank us for our stay. Very nice touch.

Room Tip: The upper Tree House. It is completely isolated from the main resort area and out of the line of sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.