We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond ALL Expectactions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Hutchinson Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beyond ALL Expectactions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We enjoy traveling a lot and found this resort 'all that we haved hoped for and more'. We 'finally' found that 'quiet' place, where you can totally escape from it all. It was as though you are the only people there. Did we mention the views? INCREDIBLE!. The service is 'the best'. The entire staff is always there to make your stay one you will never forget, yet they give you total privacy. Ahh, and than there is 'the food', It is so fresh, and right up there with the best we have experienced while traveling. We give Rancho Pacifico top billing and plan to return again in Jan 2013.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room, they are all magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    21
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
219
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Resort was beautiful and the staff was fantastic. Everyone from Chef Alex/General Manager Alex to Oval our trusted waiter was smiling, gracious and extremely helpful. Our trip wouldn't have been the same without any of their welcoming faces, especially Pena! We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa with 2 other couples. Very nice, comfortable and clean. House keeping staff was also top notch. Loved the food, loved the wildlife, live the pools and spa. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

No one in the party wanted to leave, two of us thought about asking for jobs. We were met by Eric, "The Driver", at the small airport and were brought to the grocery. After provisions were secured, up the mountain we went. I have a terrific fear of heights, yet he made the ascent very calming. The 6 of us were met by Adrianna, Alex, Mel and Oval. Oval is the man. Alex welcomed us, gave us the tour with Adrianna and then took us to the house. Wow! No TV, radio, computers... I admit we were a bit lost for the first few hours. We went down for food and beverages. Alex Segura is an amazing chef and very open to feedback, but what could we criticize? Everything was very, very good. We did not get to meet the owners as they were taking a very well deserved vacation, but the rest of the staff was superb. Anything you ask for you get. 5 days was not enough. If you go ask to meet Pena, he will show you things that only an experienced jungle guide can pick up on, and he can fix anything. We only left once for dinner to switch things up a bit on the last night, they recommended a place called Poseidon. It did not disappoint. Thank you again Adrianna, Alex, Mel, Oval, Pena, "Benny" and the great environmental services staff that kept our house pest free for the week. The girls will have you speaking Spanish by the end of your trip! Great job guys.

Room Tip: House #3 is where we stayed. Has a great courtyard to the side with a little pool and patio. Pena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rancho Pacifico is heaven. It's high up a coastal mountain on a perch overlooking undeveloped rainforest jungle canyon and hillside. Here's some of my thoughts about what makes it unique:

1. The staff is amazing. When we left, we really missed them. They are so friendly and unpretentious. They are also fun and really enjoy the company of their guests.

2. We stayed in the upper tree house. This is like having a private residence that is elevated in the jungle canopy and out of the line of sight of ANYONE. Well worth the extra money.

3. It IS a long drive up the mountain to get there. But the staff accommodates and shuttles you up and down and you never feel stranded. This place is best suited for those wanting to relax and unplug for a while...

4. My favorite moment was taking a two hour nap in the afternoon during a huge storm with the jungle breezes flowing through the room.

5. Pick your outings carefully. You don't want to spend all of your time driving up and down the mountain and being shuttled to different parts of Costa Rica. We were a little under-whelmed by the "mini National Geographic Tour" (a long drive to get there and did not see a lot). By far our favorite outing was the horseback riding. It is pretty close to the resort. There is a "Beach Ride" and a "Jungle Ride." We did both (separate days). The beach ride is amazing because there is nothing like riding a healthy, well-cared for horse at full gallop across the sands of an EMPTY Costa Rica beach! The jungle ride is amazing because you ride into a VERY rugged jungle to see a towering waterfall. And we saw much more wildlife here than during the Nat. Geo. tour. We highly recommend this!

6. We were concerned about bugs, mosquitos and heat when we arrived. We went in July and there were NO mosquitos. There were occasional - and really cool - bugs that would show up in your room. But they were rare and part of the fun experience. I was convinced that we would need air conditioning.... but I was wrong! RP is so high up the mountain that it is much cooler up there. The rooms don't have air conditioning and you absolutely don't need it.

7. The food is SO good! We met a couple that was staying at Oxygen resort (which is sort of nearby) and they were asking if it was possible for people not staying at RP to eat at the restaurant. We told them no, it's for guests only (which is true)! Dinner is 5 courses and you get to choose every night based on two meal options. We ended up taking tons of pictures of the food because we wanted to remember it. We never do that!

We can't wait to go back someday. When we were checking out, we got a call from the owner, Sylvia (who was in Montana at the time) to thank us for our stay. Very nice touch.

Room Tip: The upper Tree House. It is completely isolated from the main resort area and out of the line of sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We could not have been happier with our 4 nights at Rancho Pacifico! We were in a spa suite & found it to be perfect for the two of us. We where even offered an upgrade to a tree-house & kindly declined because we loved where we were so much! Like previously mentioned the food & drinks are AMAZING. We ate every meal & probably drank every cocktail possible and everything was outstanding. I don't eat gluten and as soon as Chef Alex heard this he made sure every meal I had an alternative. Marlon may be the best bartender & waiter in all of Costa Rica...true story.
The car ride up to the resort is an adventure and don't think anyone could put it into words, but once you get a glance of the grounds & the view you realize it's totally worth it. There are several hiking trails on/around the resort, but be prepared it's not for the unfit. The hike to the waterfall is gorgeous & if it was anywhere else in the world there'd be tour buses lined up to heard tourists to it!
We did have spa treatments (massages & facials) and found them to be good, but not earth-shattering.
We left the resort one day to check out the "beach club". We lasted there about 2 minutes. My only critique/advice to RP would be to not send guests there. It was a tacky mess.
Thank you everyone at RP for the wonderful experience...we're already talking about when we should return!

Room Tip: Several rooms are a "hike" to the main area, so be careful where your room is if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Good:
Great secluded rain forest getaway for a perfect honeymoon! Every meal was phenomenal, and the chef takes great care to accommodate your every request. Majestic views of the forest and the ocean below with tons of wildlife at your doorstep. The extensive list of available activities were all easily coordinated through the hotel, and they were able to keep our trip running smoothly. Most rooms are very secluded with amazing views, and I would definitely return again.

Caution:
This did seem to be the nicest place in the area, but a few things to keep in mind:

Although the actual distance up the mountain is not far, it is a solid 20 minute drive in a 4x4 low to get up to RP. I might suggest renting a car, but be sure you know how to drive a 4x4 up a steep mountain. Transportation costs can get high with it costing roughly $20 each way up and down the mountain in a cab. If you like the convenience of being able to come and go and to visit other nearby towns, be prepared to pay $80 round trip.

The room was cleaned daily and was a great setup, but our wooden bed was incredibly loud and if you are in a lodge suite there is a good chance you will hear your neighbors talking because of the open air style of rooms. Also, neither of the 2 hot tubs on premise ever got hot - more of a luke-warm soaking tub I guess.

All in all we had a great experience and loved every minute of it. The food might be the best part!

Room Tip: Lodge Suites are great, but if you have neighbors you will hear them. Easy to make friends with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

One of the best and most relaxing vacation I've ever had! Rancho pacifico is tucked in a hill top forest. Unbelievable service from the chef all the way to masseuse, and housekeeping. You won't find any tv or radio in this place- it's a total escape from the busy world. What makes this place so incredible is its location being in the middle of the jungle. Waking up to the sound of the monkeys and the birds and dozing off to the sound of the calm winds and the swaying of the trees were truly a unique experience. We stayed at the tree house, it has it's own kitchen and living area.. The bed felt a lil damped due to the humidity of the forest but it wasn't a big deal. The bathroom has limited walls- half is open facing the forest. The main dining area is adjacent to the bar and pool which overlooks the Ballena beach. The food was excellent for everything was fresh, some of the herbs they used were picked up from their own garden. This place exceeded
our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.