We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what it is.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for what it is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We could not have been happier with our 4 nights at Rancho Pacifico! We were in a spa suite & found it to be perfect for the two of us. We where even offered an upgrade to a tree-house & kindly declined because we loved where we were so much! Like previously mentioned the food & drinks are AMAZING. We ate every meal & probably drank every cocktail possible and everything was outstanding. I don't eat gluten and as soon as Chef Alex heard this he made sure every meal I had an alternative. Marlon may be the best bartender & waiter in all of Costa Rica...true story.
The car ride up to the resort is an adventure and don't think anyone could put it into words, but once you get a glance of the grounds & the view you realize it's totally worth it. There are several hiking trails on/around the resort, but be prepared it's not for the unfit. The hike to the waterfall is gorgeous & if it was anywhere else in the world there'd be tour buses lined up to heard tourists to it!
We did have spa treatments (massages & facials) and found them to be good, but not earth-shattering.
We left the resort one day to check out the "beach club". We lasted there about 2 minutes. My only critique/advice to RP would be to not send guests there. It was a tacky mess.
Thank you everyone at RP for the wonderful experience...we're already talking about when we should return!

Room Tip: Several rooms are a "hike" to the main area, so be careful where your room is if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    18
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
30
210
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Good:
Great secluded rain forest getaway for a perfect honeymoon! Every meal was phenomenal, and the chef takes great care to accommodate your every request. Majestic views of the forest and the ocean below with tons of wildlife at your doorstep. The extensive list of available activities were all easily coordinated through the hotel, and they were able to keep our trip running smoothly. Most rooms are very secluded with amazing views, and I would definitely return again.

Caution:
This did seem to be the nicest place in the area, but a few things to keep in mind:

Although the actual distance up the mountain is not far, it is a solid 20 minute drive in a 4x4 low to get up to RP. I might suggest renting a car, but be sure you know how to drive a 4x4 up a steep mountain. Transportation costs can get high with it costing roughly $20 each way up and down the mountain in a cab. If you like the convenience of being able to come and go and to visit other nearby towns, be prepared to pay $80 round trip.

The room was cleaned daily and was a great setup, but our wooden bed was incredibly loud and if you are in a lodge suite there is a good chance you will hear your neighbors talking because of the open air style of rooms. Also, neither of the 2 hot tubs on premise ever got hot - more of a luke-warm soaking tub I guess.

All in all we had a great experience and loved every minute of it. The food might be the best part!

Room Tip: Lodge Suites are great, but if you have neighbors you will hear them. Easy to make friends with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

One of the best and most relaxing vacation I've ever had! Rancho pacifico is tucked in a hill top forest. Unbelievable service from the chef all the way to masseuse, and housekeeping. You won't find any tv or radio in this place- it's a total escape from the busy world. What makes this place so incredible is its location being in the middle of the jungle. Waking up to the sound of the monkeys and the birds and dozing off to the sound of the calm winds and the swaying of the trees were truly a unique experience. We stayed at the tree house, it has it's own kitchen and living area.. The bed felt a lil damped due to the humidity of the forest but it wasn't a big deal. The bathroom has limited walls- half is open facing the forest. The main dining area is adjacent to the bar and pool which overlooks the Ballena beach. The food was excellent for everything was fresh, some of the herbs they used were picked up from their own garden. This place exceeded
our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rancho Pacifico was a small Garden of Eden for us! Words can not express the incredible hospitality we encountered. Everyone there treated us as though we were family. The accommodations are both elegant and rustic. Beautiful individual private cottages over looking the gorgeous rainforest. In the distance you can look out at the Pacific coastline and the Whales Tail beach area. Privacy is paramount of the place. We stayed in the spa suite. It is a place of great beauty disconnected for the fast pace world we live in today. Every meal at The Whales Tail restuarant was like a little taste of heaven to our taste buds. Any activities you could want to do were easily and quickly set up for us. The massages were absolutely wonderful and rejuvenating. Hiking around the property was a great adventure in itself. The many plant species, the monkeys,birds, and most of all the spectacular waterfall hidden away. Thank you to all those who made mi casa su casa. Mucho gusto to Alex, Ronni, Adrianna, Vinnay, Marlon, Dianna, Pena, Jose,Carlos, David,Jose(gardener),Khatia, and all those who keep the place a jewel of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If your in the market for a stunningly beautiful, secluded, romantic, delicious and sensual get away, Rancho Pacifico is it. Staff went out of their way to accomodate. Food was tremendous. I couldn't get enough of the ceviche, the fresh fruit and the costa rican fare. Their pineapple, basil martini is excellent. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were spotless. We stayed three nights in the Tree Hause and it was cozy, romantic, had a spectacular view of the Pacific ocean and the rain forest. The next three nights we stayed in a two bedroom villa and got to see howler monkeys playing in the trees outside. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We had a message everyday in an open treehouse and they were marvelous. The first message was so good that I actually felt guilty but after a couple of days I learned to relax and soak up the great energy of the people and the landscape. We spent 3 days in total relaxation and a couple of days in activites. We enjoyed the vigorous hike to the gorgeous waterfall and took the ATV excursion which lasted a good five hours and experienced breath taking views and enjoyed eating Guavonanna (not sure of spelling) at a coffee plantation. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of no TV! This is a most excellent destination for Honeymoons and anniversaries. I would recommend to anyone seeking some rest and relaxation. Hope to go again on many anniversaries.

Room Tip: If you want romatic and cozy, pick the tree hause. If you have more than one couple, the villas. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Rancho Pacifico is a very special place for couples to get away from it all and relax and just enjoy. The staff is the best I have had in visits to over 80 countries, they give you the option of doing activities or just leave you alone if that is what you want. The spa is beautiful and services 5*. The view from our 3BR Villa made us never want to leave Rancho Pacifico and we are already planning a trip back. If you are a couple just wanting to reconnect this is the place for you!

Room Tip: All the villas have ocean views other than the 2BR which is still in the middle of the rainforest s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place is terrible, dirty, rude service, definitely NOT 5-star accommodations. We arrived a few hours early and were greeted by Chef/Manager Alex quite awkwardly and unwelcome. Food is not great. As previous reviewer stated, staff is extremely creepy and unprofessional. We stayed in January - 4 nights here after staying 4 nights in stunning Chirripo park area. We left a day early because I was fed up having spent Four Seasons-like money on the place. I couldn't sleep whatsoever with the noises, bugs, humidity, dirtiness, noisy drunk people. The only part of RanchoP that was not terrible was the SPA, which was still just okay. Also, management seems to handle criticism with shady business practices .. VERY unprofessionally.

If you are bent on visiting Uvita area - stay somewhere else! I do highly recommend visiting Manuel Antonio beach and walking out to the more remote areas of the park .. its beautiful. There is a pizza place in Uvita called Pizzeria Fogata that is really good too.

Anyway, I hope this helps. When we went back a day early we stayed a night at Marriott San Jose - superb after 3 nights in mosquitos/humidity/dirtyness. RanchoP did offer to cover a minimum for that night stay. Strangely on the night we left, the owner questioned me about why I was leaving and kept pressing me - a very uncomfortable situation. Don't be fooled by the celebrity shout-outs on their website. Actually - just look at the website - its garbage - pretty much sums up everything about the place. :)  - Jon

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.