We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymood at the Rancho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymood at the Rancho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If your in the market for a stunningly beautiful, secluded, romantic, delicious and sensual get away, Rancho Pacifico is it. Staff went out of their way to accomodate. Food was tremendous. I couldn't get enough of the ceviche, the fresh fruit and the costa rican fare. Their pineapple, basil martini is excellent. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were spotless. We stayed three nights in the Tree Hause and it was cozy, romantic, had a spectacular view of the Pacific ocean and the rain forest. The next three nights we stayed in a two bedroom villa and got to see howler monkeys playing in the trees outside. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We had a message everyday in an open treehouse and they were marvelous. The first message was so good that I actually felt guilty but after a couple of days I learned to relax and soak up the great energy of the people and the landscape. We spent 3 days in total relaxation and a couple of days in activites. We enjoyed the vigorous hike to the gorgeous waterfall and took the ATV excursion which lasted a good five hours and experienced breath taking views and enjoyed eating Guavonanna (not sure of spelling) at a coffee plantation. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of no TV! This is a most excellent destination for Honeymoons and anniversaries. I would recommend to anyone seeking some rest and relaxation. Hope to go again on many anniversaries.

Room Tip: If you want romatic and cozy, pick the tree hause. If you have more than one couple, the villas. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    21
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
219
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Rancho Pacifico is a very special place for couples to get away from it all and relax and just enjoy. The staff is the best I have had in visits to over 80 countries, they give you the option of doing activities or just leave you alone if that is what you want. The spa is beautiful and services 5*. The view from our 3BR Villa made us never want to leave Rancho Pacifico and we are already planning a trip back. If you are a couple just wanting to reconnect this is the place for you!

Room Tip: All the villas have ocean views other than the 2BR which is still in the middle of the rainforest s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This place is terrible, dirty, rude service, definitely NOT 5-star accommodations. We arrived a few hours early and were greeted by Chef/Manager Alex quite awkwardly and unwelcome. Food is not great. As previous reviewer stated, staff is extremely creepy and unprofessional. We stayed in January - 4 nights here after staying 4 nights in stunning Chirripo park area. We left a day early because I was fed up having spent Four Seasons-like money on the place. I couldn't sleep whatsoever with the noises, bugs, humidity, dirtiness, noisy drunk people. The only part of RanchoP that was not terrible was the SPA, which was still just okay. Also, management seems to handle criticism with shady business practices .. VERY unprofessionally.

If you are bent on visiting Uvita area - stay somewhere else! I do highly recommend visiting Manuel Antonio beach and walking out to the more remote areas of the park .. its beautiful. There is a pizza place in Uvita called Pizzeria Fogata that is really good too.

Anyway, I hope this helps. When we went back a day early we stayed a night at Marriott San Jose - superb after 3 nights in mosquitos/humidity/dirtyness. RanchoP did offer to cover a minimum for that night stay. Strangely on the night we left, the owner questioned me about why I was leaving and kept pressing me - a very uncomfortable situation. Don't be fooled by the celebrity shout-outs on their website. Actually - just look at the website - its garbage - pretty much sums up everything about the place. :)  - Jon

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

From our first hour to last this hotel exceeded every expectation. We were fortunate enough to call the Villa Romantica home for a few days, it has a truly a breathtaking view. Room, service, food, and spa were all five star.

If you take the mountain hike be prepared for a rigorous 4-5 up/downhill beautiful hike. Don't miss the ATV tour, would do it again tomorrow!

Was great visiting with Garrison and his always friendly and helpful staff.

Cannot wait to get back for an extended stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Upon arriving at Rancho Pacifico, I was amazed at every turn. Every room and villa I had the privilege of visiting were gorgeous and private, but as one with the surrounding wildlife with the open air design. The staff was very friendly and the views were unmatched. A definite unique experience!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Rancho Pacifico for our friend's wedding. The hotel, if you can even call it that, was an oasis tucked in the clouds. The staff is truly one of the best I've experienced. The food and drinks were out of this world.

We woke to howler monkeys and toucans and we filled our mornings with hikes to the peak and to the waterfall. RP is truly amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel cannot be described in words, it must be felt and experienced in person! From the ride up the mountain into the clouds, the staff, the accommodations, and the beauty surrounding you from the minute you wake up until the last rain drop falls, no detail is left out. If you are wanting a peaceful, pampered, relaxing place to be lost in the jungle, look no further!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.