We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond All Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Rancho Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho Pacifico
1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Uvita
Hutchinson Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beyond All Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We only hope we can put into words what an amazing retreat Rancho Pacifico is. Up on top of a mountain, and in the rainforest, what more can someone ask for? The views were so beautiful, the rooms were first class and if that was not enough the ENTIRE staff attended to our every want. They are fun, caring, genuine and like the family that you will miss when you leave. This wonderful resort is the 'total package' and it went above and beyond all of our expectations.Not many get this opportunity to experience this exceptional piece of paradise,and we will always appreciate the fact that we did. We would go back in a heart beat and recommed it without hesitation.

Room Tip: You could not find a bad room all are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    17
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
203
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

ARRIVING: Leaving Arenas Del Mar, and on the road—GPS in hand—on a Wednesday, the drive to Rancho Pacifico took about 1.5 hour, almost all highway except for the last stretch of 10 minutes, which is a bumpy, exciting drive up a well-textured dirt road. Note: our GPS did not find the resort, but the instructions on the website led us in the right direction.
ACCOMODATIONS: We stayed in the one-bedroom villa, which included a private, open air living area, multiple balconies, a private infinity pool, and views from every angle. The villa design is modern yet seamlessly blended into the jungle hillside, and the overall impression is that of ultimate expense and vision.
ATMOSPHERE: We imagined ourselves millionaires, relaxing outside (which was also inside), either watching the ocean from our peak, or being engulfed by mountain clouds. Overall the property is clearly of highest quality, whether considering something as simple as the walkways and furniture, to the beautiful pools.
FOOD: The food as prepared by the head chef was excellent, with thoughtful accommodations were made for all diets. Additionally, the drinks were carefully and expertly made by the resort mixologists.
SERVICE: The service was the best we had in Costa Rica. The entire staff was attentive, courteous, and friendly. Of particular note, the management was eager to assist with all requests, and the restaurant / bar staff were professional and personable.
VALUE: Without doubt, this resort is worth every penny. The experience was unforgettable, and the luxury unsurpassed. Perfect!

Next stop, Xandari.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much, but after 3 or 4 days we were ready for a change of scenery and wished we hadn't prepaid for a whole week. There are so many other interesting places to visit and stay in Costa Rica. The food was very good. One complaint is that the bar drinks were way overpriced. $14 U.S. for one cocktail! In Costa Rica?! I guess they figure that you have no other options once you are on top of the mountain. By the way, it is a long bumpy ride up and down the mountain so most people only do it once a day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranchopacifico, Manager at Rancho Pacifico, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Just one clarification to the comments about cocktail prices.....
they actually range from $11 - $14. And no, not because there are "no other options"
Our cocktails are praised (see other reviews and our website) for their quality and creativity.
Each is handcrafted - contains double the usual alcohol ( our Martini contains 3 ounces) and are made always with premium liquor (our well vodka for example is Stoli - well rum is Bacardi). We have over 50 different vodkas, rare rums, one of a kind tequilas, etc. We use only fresh fruits (like pure passion fruit in our "Noche de Cartegeena") and Organic vegetables (as in our "Celery - Cilantro Gimlet). Our Whales Tail Club Bar has been praised by our guests as one of the finest cocktail experiences anywhere - for which we are proud.....
And by the way, our average guest stay is 6.8 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Rancho Pacifico is not for everyone, and they have a great page on their website explaining the difference between their resort and others in Costa Rica. We were looking for a place not so commercial, where we could still get top notch service, and have more privacy. If those things are high on your priority list, then I can absolutely recommend RP. From the first day we arrived, until our departure, the staff made it clear that they were there to fulfill any request we made. From the course-by-course serving of some of our meals in our villa, to arranging activities, they went over and above, to ensure they exceed our expectations. The menus were prepared each day, and the food was excellent. The best way I can describe our overall experience is that we felt like we owned a resort, and had a staff of people working for us each day. A home away from home that just happened to be a luxury resort in the middle of the rain forest. Can't beat that.

Room Tip: We started in two lodge suites, which were very nice, and then were upgraded to the 2-bdrm villa. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

There are insufficient superlatives to describe just how wonderful RP is. The staff are wonderful, the SPA treatments are excellent, the food is delicious and the location is beautiful. RP is eco-tourism at its best. If you decide that RP is for you we recommend the following.

We did two hikes from RP itself into the rainforest. The first down to RP's private waterfall, the second up to the top of the mountain into the side of which RP is built. We encountered myriad plants, birds, insects, mammals, amphibians and spiders (including Howler monkeys, Toucans, a tarantula, a spider hunting wasp, leaf-cutter ants, tree frogs and more).

RP can also arrange a "birding" tour. I cannot recommend this highly enough. We did a 6hr walk at the nearby Hacienda Baru with an experienced guide who helped us to spot wildlife (birds and others). It was a great experience.

RP will help you to taylor your visit to your preferences and you will leave feeling "Pura Vida!"

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a Tree House. They are both magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This review is a little late but this place is so special, I wanted to make sure I wrote a review about this service. My then fiance brought me here as a surprise to finish off our week in Costa Rica with friends. We were celebrating our engagement and this place was so romantic and perfect place for our last nights. The food was amazing and the view was picture perfect. It rained the first night we arrived and the roads were VERY slippery so make sure to get a 4x4. When it became dark, someone from the hotel came and escorted us to the restaurant with a flashlight and umbrella. When it was time to leave, we were running late and the owner came out to chat with us and assisted us with the route back to the city. Due to traffic we ended up missing our flight, but it was worth it for the extra time spent at the hotel. I would go back in a heart beat - worth the $$$

Room Tip: The rooms are so great but I dont remember there being a lock on the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

My stepmother, a travel agent, booked my newly wed husband and I an eight day stay at RP for our honeymoon. That she picked RP out of all the resorts she knows of in the entire world speaks highly in itself. I had told my fiancé to plan the trip in secret and surprise me but when he read about RP, saw the pictures of the villas, and planned avtivites, he was too excited and told me everything about it! Nevertheless, I tried to remain in the dark as much as possible so I would be surprised, so all I knew when I arrived was that it was winter in the rain forest and to expect a lot of rain and bugs!  
Armed with deet and sunscreen, i was expecting to be out in the middle of nowhere so imagine my surprise when we show up to a gorgeous resort with wifi, an exercise room, two pools, a spa, and four course dinners. Unfortunately, not having booked the rooms and thus unaware of any prices, and being on a budget, I hadnt anticipated the food and beverage prices - typical of an expensive resort anywhere. However, when we explained to the staff that we were on a tight budget, they got the car rental agency to give us a great deal, showed us great local places to eat in Dominical, and recommended the lower priced activities. In the end, we decided we only get one honeymoon together so why not go all out and let them drive us around like royalty and enjoy the great food. The drinks at cocktail hour were cheaper than in a bar anyway and fabulous! Plus it was a great way to chat with all of the other guests and swap stories about white faced monkeys eating out of our hands, relaxing  spa treatments, and experiences deep in the jungle to the waterfall. We loved that some days we could just lay around reading books and relaxing, and others we could hike down to Uvita or go on a tour of the jungle for a more cultural experience. 
Just when our room felt like home, and we were seriously considering tape recording the nightly animals noises to bring home with us, our last night, they  upgraded us to their tree house, gave us a bottle of champagne and a private candlelit dinner. 
My new husband said he felt like a celebrity as the rainstorm died down and the view of the entire mountain cleared. He then said his heart was enjoying all of the omega 3 fatty acids from all of the fresh seafood. As the calm ensued, I called him a nerd and told him to enjoy it while it lasted because I don't cook shrimp. What a wonderful and unforgettable way to start our marriage.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pacifico

Address: 1 Rancho Pacifico Road, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pacifico - Where Style meets Nature and the Rainforest meets the sea. Member - Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Deluxe Villas, Suites, & TreeHaus', Jungle Spa, Private Preserve and secluded beaches. Spectacular ocean views and spacious privacy in Costa Rica's last best place. World Travel Award Triple Nominee - Leading Boutique and Leading Green Hotel, Central and Latin America, 6 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Rancho Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pacifico Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Hotel Uvita
Rancho Pacifico Costa Rica/Uvita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.