We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want to stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Design Villas Uvita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kura Design Villas Uvita to your Saves list
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay four - pay three
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You want to stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a magnificent place with an incredible view. The staff was WONDERFUL! They made me feel like I was staying in the home of the most hospitable person I have ever met. Everything has been thought through. When we wanted to go exploring the beaches, they stocked our car with towels, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler with water, and directions to their private beach. When I got up early one morning for a swim, they brought coffee and beautiful fruit plate to my pool chair. This is the perfect place to watch the sunset! I could go on and on. You want to stay here!

Room Tip: Every room has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
113
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff. The view. The villas. The locals. Where to start? It has been 2 months and my girlfriend and I are still in awe. What an experience! How can a relatively new place with such gleaming reviews on TA live up to the hype? Wow. Boy, did they and then some.

We stayed for 6 nights and every single day topped the previous. It is well worth the 3 hour drive from San Jose or puddle jumper to nearby town a hour away. Staff at the San Jose airport said that Uvita is the best remote area to visit. "You will see toucans, howler monkeys, and whales!" I thought if we saw one of these we would have a great trip. All three, check! We recommend ONE thing, take Kura up on their offer for a free ride up the mountain. Seriously. There is a parking area at the bottom of the mountain that is private property and safe. The ride up the mountain is hairy. We had a 4x4 and it struggled. Big time. They are the experts, let them handle it so you can start your vaca anxiety-free. And absolutely under no circumstance try to drive up it at night. My girlfriend threw up twice thanks to my driving skill in the dark.

The staff.
Simply spectacular. They went out of their way to assure we were taken care of, catered to, and provided every amenity without asking. The great thing was, they let us just relax and enjoy the view. No one was aksing every 15 minutes if we needed a drink. They kept a careful but unobtrusive eye on as at all times. By the time we left, we knew almost every staffer by first name. It was their work that was one of the main drivers behind such an incredible trip.

The view.
Where can you be in the mountains of Central America with such a veiw from your private terrace. The wildlife was spectacular. Toucans, macaws, hummingbirds, brown booted boobies, howler monkeys are all regular sightings. The sunsets are breathtaking and watching the transformation of the whale's tail peninsula throughout high and low tide is magical. Be sure to take time and walk the grounds of Kura. The vegetation is beautiful and I wish we had taken more time to learn about the different types of flowers from Kura's very own botanist.

The villas.
Please take a look at the pictures downloaded. There is no surprise here. No doctored pics. No instances where "the pics looked so much better online". What you see is what you get. Stunning. Architecture is impressive. This is a gem.

The locals.
Uvita is a great town. Small, intimate, everyone knows everyone and treats visitors with warmth and genuine hospitality. We did a day long snorkel trip to Cano Island, waterfall repelling(A MUST!), and deep sea fishing. Kura staff set up each expedition. It was wonderful. We awoke to a packed breakfast of fresh fruit, incredible local muffins, and fresh coffee in a mug. Each venture was such an experience and fulfilling.

Okay, enough gushing. The reviews are spot on. Period.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Gib,
you gave us a good scare when we saw the title of your review... but of course we were relieved once we read about your experience. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we are happy to hear that we were able to meet your high expectations. Please come back soon. Greetings from Uvita in southern Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the opportunity of visiting Kura during the last week of February.

The property is absolutely beautiful. We were greeted with wonderful warmth and hospitality.
Can't say enough about Ana and Jay. Outstanding people making our evenings perfect.

Ana, the General Manager went above and beyond, to make our schedule fit with Kura's.

We also understand Kura goes the extra mile to work with all the neighbours in the area. We spoke with several and everyone spoke very highly of Kura's management's involvement and concern for the community. First rate again!

BTW we used both a RAV 4 and a Santa FE on the road, both worked fine... Skill required.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently stayed for 6 nights at Kura and loved every minute of it! The hotel is an architectural miracle. I am in the building business and I still can't get over it. This was our fourth trip to Costa Rica but nothing compares to Kura. The other outstanding reviews are all true. Thanks again to the competent and friendly staff. They couldn't do enough to make sure our holiday was one to remember. I only hope that we are lucky enough to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We went for 3 days to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This is like a dream come through!! This boutique hotel has it all!! We had an incredible time. Everything was wonderful, but the staff was the best: thanks so much for making this an unforgettable celebration!

Room Tip: every room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We spent four nights at Kura and loved every moment. We had stayed at Gaia Hotel in Manuel Antonio prior and Kura absolutely blew it out of the water (though, admittedly, Kura is a bit pricier so perhaps the comparison is unfair). The junior suite in which we stayed was gorgeous. We really liked the open set up and the views through both the sliding glass doors that run the entire length of the front of the room and from the private balcony. The food was delicious; we ate every meal at Kura for four days and didn't get bored. As other reviewers have mentioned, the drive up to Kura is pretty hairy, but didn't at all detract from our overall enjoyment. We took the complimentary shuttle to the beach one day and then decided to just camp out at Kura the remaining days. For exercise on two days, we took the shuttle down the mountain and hiked back up -- not for the faint of heart, but we were glad to burn a few calories before lying around like blobs next to the utterly scenic and relaxing pool for the rest of the day. The icing on the cake of the Kura experience was the staff. Every single person who works at Kura was unfailingly friendly and helpful, constantly offering us drinks and a kind word or advice. We particularly enjoyed chatting with Adam, who went above and beyond to ensure that we were comfortable and having a great time. That said, everyone at Kura was fantastic and we especially appreciated the little extra touches like leaving flowers in our room on valentine's day and preparing a special surprise for us on our last night. We have been fortunate enough to stay in some fabulous hotels all around the world, and Kura really stood out to us as something special. I wholeheartedly recommend a visit to Kura!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My wife and I stayed for 6 days Feb. 6 through Feb 12th. There isn't really anywhere nicer to stay anywhere in Costa Rica. I know that may sound far fetched, but it is not. Yes, it is secluded and only has 6 private rooms with all parts of the room with an ocean view. The staff was outstanding, very friendly and helpful in every detail. The sunsets were spectacular. You definitely need a 4x4 to access the property since it is near the top edge of the mountain overlooking Uvita. After we left for other parts of Costa Rica during our vacation we saw how far behind all other hotels in Costa Rica are in comparison to Kura Design Villas. Breakfast each morning was great. Dinner was also very good. We also dined at several local places for dinner and weren't disappointed. Yes, it is a bit pricey but worth every bit. We had an abundance of wildlife right outside our balcony each morning that most visitors pay to see on tours. They are supposedly building another hotel on the east coast and my wife and I will definitely be staying there in the future. If you want to stay in a secluded hotel with the jungle environment and breathtaking views, you won't be disappointed with Kura Design Villas.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous. We stayed in a regular room and suite. Only difference was there was a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive small upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience, and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Design Villas Uvita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.