We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Design Villas Uvita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kura Design Villas Uvita to your Saves list
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Kura for four nights in November 2014 as part of our honeymoon. It is undoubtedly a spectacular hotel that has to be seen to be believed - the pool is out of this world and our room (a junior villa) was stunning. But as well as its aesthetic credentials, Kura is also completely wonderful because of its staff and the service they provide. Everyone there is very warm and friendly and we felt so welcome and looked after during our entire stay. The attention to detail was second to none. The turn down service is something we will never forget!

The quality of the food at Kura must also be commended - everything was completely fresh and delicious.

I can not recommend Kura highly enough and sincerely hope we will have a chance to go back again someday.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Kura on a honeymoon trip to Costa Rica and could not have been more impressed. Everything from the owners, the architecture, the food, the staff, and the spa speaks to a once in a lifetime experience. The owners' passion is uniquely realized through a modern architectural marvel that utilizes space and openness in elegant ways while providing a magnificent view over the Pacific and surrounding mountains.

The food was regional and each meal was a highlight of our day! During our stay in Costa Rica, Kura was the one place that nailed the local cuisine. The ingredients were fresh and varied, loved the greenhouse herbs and veggies as well as the fresh catch of the day. Presentation of the meal was also impressive and portions were just right. The food left us feeling healthy and satisfied.

The architecture was truly amazing. From the spa, to the rooms, to the pool, you really have to see it to appreciate everything it adds to the overall experience. Waking up every morning and enjoying the sunrise to the sounds of the jungle was an amazing experience second only to lounging around the pool (the pictures do not do it justice).

The staff was very attentive and kind. They were extremely helpful and were always available.

I would whole heartedly recommend this location to anyone. Just be advised an optimal trip would involve the tours and activities available in the region to fill out your day. Luckily there are a ton of local things to do and experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me say first that you have to admire a place whose worst review as of this writing is "Very Good"....we had been to Kura before and when Alejandra and Martin(owners and designers) had recently completed the place.
It is a one of a kind destination location---going forward, I realize that ALL other places in CR that I have been to including the gorgeous JW Marriott in Guanacaste...pale in comparison to Kura...
Kura is in a league all of its own--there are only 6 villas at the end of one of the nastiest roads you will ever drive on. However, once you are there-- the magic begins---no phones, no TV....and you NEVER miss it!!! It is beauty beyond compare--We only go during rainy season--the rains are HEAVEN on earth--we stayed out on a chaise during a rain last Friday and when it started to rain, we just smiled and did not move....got wet--did not care---washed our tension and anxiety away. It was an hour or so of the most relaxed I have been, well, since being at Kura before...and our wonderful friends at that staff, went to get us a blanket and towels to stay warm and dry....not needed but greatly appreciated.
Chef David ROCKS with the moist fresh, inventive and well presented foods ever! Every dish to die for.....just plain spectacular. thanks to Adam and the whole wonderful crew at Kura....Martin and Alejandra of course, the geniuses behind this Enchanted Castle in the sky.
Yikes-- I am almost sorry to write all these great things as there will be a year ++ wait to get in!!
Summary: a one of a kind place where, if you cannot relax at Kura, you need professional counseling, amazing cuisine, views to die for, gorgeous rooms and a very wonderful, warm staff. Romantic and unique----I truly cannot wait to go back--and next time, spend the whole week there vs 3 nights;

Room Tip: There are no bad views here.....but we found that villa #1 is a bit closer to a series of bushes tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear John,
greetings from Uvita. The rains have almost ceased by now, so yes, it will be another year until the rainy season again. But why wait so long? Thanks for your second visit and we look forward to many more. All the best from the "enchanted castle in the sky".
The Kura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are a celebrity and want a private well-appointed, eco-friendly (but not granola), hip, stylish (did I say private) "reasonably" priced place to call home for a short time while visiting CR I can tell you that this place will not disappoint. Currently, this hotel can only accommodate six couples so one or several friends could secure the entire property for your own private use. If you are not a celebrity and want to stay at the kind of place you might fined a celebrity then this place would be it.

The adventure starts just getting to Kura Villas and whatever you are driving make sure it has four-wheel drive. I have not personally driven the treacherous road to Hana in Hawaii, but based on what I have heard this could be a close second. If you are not up for a driving adventure the property has general parking at the base of the mountain and they will send a car down to get you. Generally, we prefer hotels located directly on the ocean, but this would be an exception as the hotel is worth the trip and it only takes approximately 15 minutes to get down to the main road from the property and then another 5-10 minutes to reach any of a dozen isolated beaches and or recommended eating establishments. This property has everything to offer and you can do anything from enjoying great drinks at the bar, awesome food at the restaurant to doing nothing, but sunning pool-side. The pool itself has many little surprise features. Free WIFI (2MB down & 1/2 MB up) for you tech geeks so if you are used to light-speed internet adjust your expectations for CR speed.

The owners and developers (Alejandra and Martin) of the property are a young, sexy, highly educated thirty-something Tico couple (yes - I'm jealous) that are mature entrepreneurs beyond their years and the staff is a reflection of them fluently speaking multiple languages. This is a young property with young owners and staff, coupled with the over-sight of a local very well-respected and established management company Kura Design Villas surprisingly surpasses the majors! While this is only my second trip to Costa Rica, I still think it is one of the best places I have traveled to throughout the world in terms of the people, sights, accommodations, adventures, restaurants and ease of getting around. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view is incredible, in fact it's absolutely unbelievable! Kura is perched on the side of a mountain overlooking an open coastline with the "whale tail" in full view. It really looks as if the infinity pool stretches across the void and touches the ocean on the other side.

But truth be told there is something better than the view at Kura, and that's the hotel itself. When we arrived into Uvita the shuttle met us at the bank and we headed up the steep mountain road. Once we arrived Adam had prepared us drinks and he gave us some key information we would need for our stay. After settling into our room we had a delicious dinner of fresh seafood and perfectly chilled white wine.

The attention to detail at Kura is really out of this world, on the edge of the infinity pool is a solar power system to provides heating for the water and electricity for the hotel. There is a garden on site where the salad greens are grown. There is mood lightining in your room that is all accessible from the bed. The staff are attentive and seem to be able to anticipate your every need... it's amazing. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had the junior suite which was located a very short walk from the restaurant. The suite is junior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just want to say Thank you.
Adam, Adriana and all the staff are incredible.
The food and service are incredible good. The views and details of every Villa are amazing.

I´ll be back for sure.

pd: I need the name of the coffee served every morning (amazing too) :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Kura couldn't have been a more perfect place to start our vacation, such a beautiful, peaceful spot, I wish we'd had more time there. We were there in the rainy season, it was perfect for just chilling out, reading, watching the hummingbirds and toucans. It's so small you feel like you're the only ones there... the staff were so kind and thoughtful, always anticipating our needs and preparing delicious meals.
The building itself is a stunning architect designed structure, organised around an infinity edge pool, with an open dining area and bar. The rooms are spread in a line so you all have a view down the mountain, across the rainforest canopy to the sea. There is a stunning spa where I was given the most amazing massage to the sound of the toucans evening song.
It's at the top of a long drive up a steep, rough track. I can't believe they got all the materials up there! It gives you a feeling of wonderful isolation. That does mean that it's a little way to the beach, but they will give you a lift down in the Kura 4WD and pack you a hamper for your day out.
My days at Kura were 3 of the most restful and luxurious of my life!

Room Tip: The rooms are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive small upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience, and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Design Villas Uvita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.