We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Design Villas Uvita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kura Design Villas Uvita to your Saves list
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay four - pay three
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is one of the best hotels ever. In one word: sexy. Great pool, views, food, service, spa, rooms. The music is always coordinated with the setting. The managers are always alert to serve you. We stayed in villa 6 and loved it. There are only 6 rooms so there is a lot of privacy. Everything was perfect. Thank you!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
119
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chihuahua, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel it`s really like your luxury house in Costa Rica.. you can´t miss it.. it worth every penny as is a small ultra luxury property so all the staff is always at your service.. they are kind and helpful all the time..

I also liked the ecology care they show in every aspect but also with an ultra modern infrastructure.. I honestly think this is one of kind property..

We were deciding between visiting Guanacaste with big hotel chains vs Uvita with this boutique luxury hotel.. we opted for visiting Uvita and we are very happy we did that as you can always be in beaches with big hotels but you don´t usually have the option of staying a small ultra luxury villa with privacy, tranquility, comfort but also with the chancee to take great tours available right there..

We definitely recommend this property, they are definitely a winner in CR, well done.

TIP:
When trying to decide where to go in CR it was a little bit confusing at the beginning as it seems to be "too many cities or towns" in a small country.. well this is because they identify what we call "county" as "city" kind of..they may be separated by 10 minutes by car, so always check a map.. Uvita has a very private an unique location, if you are traveling in a couple, this is the place to go, for sure.

Room Tip: Kura has only 6 suites all excellent, it will depend of the occasion.. but infinity suite is just am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel. We're both busy medical professionals in Boston. We love to travel, and we are picky when it comes to hotels. It takes us weeks to pick a hotel, and we've stayed in some amazing places from South Africa to Turkey to Paris. Kura Designs Villas is the best hotel at which we've ever stayed. It's truly breathtaking. The only thing that tops the beautiful villas, the delicious food and the gorgeous and relaxing pool area is the service. The Kura team makes you part of their family for the week. They anticipate your every need (thank you for all that sparkling water, guys!) and make sure you're well taken care of during your vacation. In our opinion, this hotel is worth every penny. ¡Gracias amigos de Kura!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Prairie, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is my new favorite place in the world! I can't wait to come back. From the first moment we arrived we knew we found a gem. The location is amazing, the people are amazing, the rooms are amazing, the spa.... everything about this place is amazing. It's breathtaking. And the jaguar coladas are the best!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room at this place. They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are having our second night at Kura, and decided that we couldn't wait to write this review.
From the moment we arrived everything has been just unimaginably perfect.

The hotel is in an unbeatable location, the view from every single place of it makes you want to stay forever.

Service is warm, personal but yet very relax. Everyone is very nice and always have a smile for you. They have a very efficient and proactive staff, (Kura Owners, even dough this is something I'm sure you already know, take care of them cause this is a big part of the experience )

The villas design is beautiful, with an amazing view. Spotlessly clean and with everything you could need, minibar, small wine cellar, hammock, and separated seating area in the big balcony.

The salt water pool is the best one I've tried and make sure you dive cause the music underwater will have you buzzing for more.

Food and drinks are not to be missed, everything is as fresh as it gets and we are not missing any opportunity to try a new drink or dish.

We didn't went out of the hotel cause believe me when I tell you that you wouldn't do either.

Thank you Kura

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Kura Design Villas was so much more than we could ever have expected.
Every detail has been thought about to enhance your comfort and appreciation of the natural world around you.
Steeped in the middle of a tropical rainforest, with beautiful views of the sea and all set within stunning modern architecture seemed like “a dream come true!”, something Martin, the architect owner reiterated later, enthusing over his project.
The owners Martin and Alejandra, greeted us like old friends when they met us and drove us up the 1000 feet to the hotel.
Their warmth was infectious...from the moment we arrived, every one of the staff and guests we met were so welcoming and friendly.
All sharing in celebrating the beauty that has been created, within this most spectacular setting.
And celebrate with everyone, we did, dining under the stars, sharing stories, we met such lovely and eclectic people.
The food is superb; high quality and so fresh, wonderful fish, ceviches, mix of flavors and choice. Amazing breakfasts, I looked forward to them every morning.
We also really enjoyed the choice of beers and wines. Costa Rica has some great beers!

Staff, who offer such personal service, each in turn treated you as their friend. Adam, - nothing was too much trouble, he was always aware of everyone's needs, so kind and thoughtful, and impassioned by his job, playing with flavours.
The spa, temple- like beauty, with Adriana, in tune with nature, so charming and accommodating and an incredibly gifted beauty therapist.
Even the maid, Rita, seeing me smell the air with curiosity as I walked along the path, caught up with me minutes later by the pool , hands filled with flowers from the ylang ylang tree, to explain this wonderful perfume.
Our room was beautiful, a junior suite. I loved the walk to it, the scented air, so private, stunning balcony complete with giant hammock and a wall of glass doors into our room.
The luxurious sense of space, and high quality hardware in the rooms, even the tea sachets were a thing of beauty.
Creatively lit with curtains drawn in the evening - magical.
Breathtaking views....and the sounds....nothing but nature ever present around you; cicadas, giant toads and howler monkeys in the distance!
We saw so much wildlife whilst we were there, you don't even need to leave the hotel to see colourful and exotic birds and insects.
We dream of returning to this very special place, full of kindness, that overloads your senses and fills you with serenity.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear janeh,
greetings from sunny Kura. Wow, what a great review. Almost poetic. Thank you for taking the time to write this and mention so many of us by our names in the review. We really appreciate this. There is not much more that we can do than to thank you and hope that your review inspries many more to come and stay with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

What a beautiful hotel. Only six rooms. The hotel is like a piece of art that functions beautifully. The staff instantly learned our names and the service was the best I have experienced. My thanks to Olivia, Yancy, Ana, and especially Adam who made our 20th wedding anniversary trip extra special. Our room was wonderful. Toucans squawked in the morning right outside out balcony and we had an amazing view. I hated to return home to cold weather but I have warm memories of Kura Design Villas in Uvita. I will definately return.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a great view. Ours was one of the farthest from the lobby but only seconds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#1 Green Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive small upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience, and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Design Villas Uvita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.