We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Design Villas Uvita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kura Design Villas Uvita to your Saves list
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay four - pay three
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently spent 5 days/ 4 nights at Kura. I can say, without a doubt, that this was the most stunning place I have ever stayed. The pictures on the website do it absolute justice, and it is even more beautiful when experiencing it firsthand. This was my first trip to Costa Rica, and I cannot imagine that any place elsewhere can top the experience I had at Kura.

The staff was pleasant, helpful, and addressed us by name each time we saw a member. They were concerned with taking care of our every need. We aren't the most needy travelers, but we could tell that the staff there would do anything to make our stay more enjoyable or comfortable. The breakfasts every morning included fresh local fruit, teas, coffee, juices, and a nice assortment from the menu to order from as well. The dinners were impeccably cooked and presented as any top notch restaurant would. The cocktails were delicious, fresh, and fantastically perfect for a poolside drink. The infinity pool has about the best view one can wish for when relaxing poolside. It's jaw-dropping!! Literally!

Our room was more of a dream come true. The bed had the perfect comforter weight and the pillows had the perfect fluff-to-support ratio. During our afternoon naps, which are more of an inevitability during the guaranteed afternoon showers, the over-the-top comfortable bed turned quick naps into marathon naps. The beds also acted like a control station for the lights in the whole room, which can be configured many many different ways to your individual likings. The shower has a sliding door opening to the balcony which provided for an "outside shower" feel. The slow breeze from the mountain side provided wonderfully pleasant showers to boot. The hammock on the balcony is a perfect fort for swinging to the sounds from the trees, for bird-watching, and even for napping during the rain. Even a few toucans said hello during our stay!

A bit of advice for first-timers: If you are driving here, find the parking lot at the base of the mountain, and pass it up by about 100 meters or so. You'll find a small restaurant/juice bar where the Waterfall is located. Park, order a fruit smoothie, give yourself a pat on the back for your long travels, and ask the owner/waiter to call Kura to let them know you are there, if your phones don't work internationally like ours. A Kura staff member will pick you up and drive you up the mountain. Not knowing what to expect on the drive up the mountain, I was a bit nervous at first. We had a strong 4x4 vehicle, but I felt safer going up with the staff for the first time. After experiencing the drive up, we braved the drive ourselves after that. No problem at all if you can drive manual, and you are confident in your driving abilities. It actually is a pretty fun and beautiful ride up the mountain.

I found myself not wanting to leave Kura. I left well-rested with a smile across my face.
I am counting the minutes to when I can return to this gorgeous slice of heaven in the clouds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
137
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at Kura for 5 days in late April and cannot stop thinking about it! Everything about Kura is perfect. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and the great people at Kura made a truly memorable experience. The Villas are remarkably designed to remind you that you are in a rainforest while at the same time having all the amenities of a luxury hotel. They are also very eco-conscious using solar power, sustainable materials, and local art and fresh food. We got to know all of the staff including the owners and they all addressed us by name and made sure we were always happy. They definitely go the extra mile. Both Ana’s, Adam, and Marcos are fantastic people that really make Kura unique. If you stay here you MUST get a massage at their amazing spa villa. Ariana, (I hope I’m spelling her name right) is truly gifted in the art of massage. I even convinced my friend Steve to get a massage who had never had one. All of the food from snacks to dinner, and the super-fresh tropical smoothies and cocktails were delicious. I need to figure out how to make that Jaguar Mojito!!!

I agree with all the other reviewers that Kura is something special. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Kura Design Villas Uvita, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Slush123,
greetings from southern Costa Rica. What a review. Perfection is a strong word. But we are happy that we met and exceeded your expectations. We certainly try to do our very best for every guest and the small size of only 6 rooms allows us to really focus on personalized service and create unique experiences. We promise to give you some personalized cocktail lessons and you will be the Jaguar Mojito expert by the time you leave. Thanks for pointing out some of our staff members and especially your experience in the newly finished Spa. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband saw Kura in a travel magazine and wanted to go. Everything you see on their website and the photo's are correct. It is exactly as it looks. Kura is located in the rain forest so we had toucans, parrots, frogs,and a variety of birds right outside our room. You also look down the mountain to the beach and can hear the waves crashing. Kura provides the best of both worlds.
We stayed in the Infinity Suite which is very spacious. The staff was excellent. They provided transportation for us from the airport as well for zip lining, and to their private beach. Plus they made all the activity reservations for us.
The food was outstanding. We tried to have something different at each meal and was never disappointed with any dish. My favorite was the octopus salad at lunch.
The infinity pool was a special treat as well as the separate spa facility.
It takes a while to get there but well worth it!

Room Tip: They only have 6 suites. All of them are great and have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I do agree with all the others reviews , this place is great!!!
We spend 3 nights at Kura and had a wonderful time at the resort. We have traveled and stayed in some really good resort all over the world, but I would still review Kura as very unique for the Central America.The Villas are fantastic and the pool area are very lovely too. It is impossible to choose the best experience during our stay, because the service level was high
everywhere :-)
Just go and relax, it is a beautiful place to spend some quality holiday time...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at Kura. I can't say enough great things about this place. It was our first trip to Costa Rica, and I feel so lucky that this is where we picked to stay. First of all, the hotel design and architecture is beautiful. It is an intimate property, but with open flow in the main common areas, which is pretty much all outside. At the restaurant, you have the lush green mountains on one side of you, and the most amazing view of the Pacific (and the Whale's Tail) on the other side. Every room has this same amazing ocean view-- truly, there's not a bad seat in the house! And they did not skimp on comfort or amenities. I guess I expected an eco-resort to be a little "rougher" around the edges, but this was not so. In fact, it was luxurious. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room itself was thoughtfully designed. It was probably the sexiest designed room we've ever stayed in! Very romantic. Also, the location of Kura is key. It is high up on a mountain which provided fresh breezes all day & night- it was hotter down when you drove down the mountain. Also, it's not near the hustle & bustle & crowds, which is what makes it feel so private & secluded & peaceful.

The food was delicious- fresh and healthy. Drinks were fantastic as well. Loved having fresh smoothies by the pool, which are extra yummy with a little shot of rum or vodka! We ventured out a few times, once to the little pizza place in Uvita- La Fogata (get the barbacoa pizza) and once to Exotica. Love them both. Othewise we were happy taking all the rest of our meals at the hotel. Never got tired of the food or menu.

Probably the most special thing about Kura is the people. They are so incredibly warm & friendly, very genuine with an easy attitude about everything. No request was too much for them. They arranged a trip to the beach where they have a private entrance & set us up with chairs, an umbrella, and a cooler full of lunch, water, and champagne & oj for mimosas (a special request). Marcos drove us to dinner and everywhere else, and was so fun to talk to and just a fantastic guy. Really, everyone we interacted with was amazing-- Ana, Ariana, the owners Martin & Alejandra. They were so helpful & accommodating in every way. We cannot wait to go back! I actually almost cried when we left- it was that relaxing and fun of a vacation. Don't hesitate to stay here- you won't regret it!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room! They all have fantastic views. We stayed in an upper level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have you ever lounged beside a warm, salt water pool while the sun dips into the pacific; sounds of the encroaching jungle illuminate the air, as salty sweet sips of margarita kiss your lips? Me neither. GO TO KURA.

All of the previous reviews are correct -- the hotel is VERY special, and you will treasure each day in sleepy Uvita. Martin and Alejandra spent so much time meticulously crafting the incredible structures and landscapes, but it’s the support team they’ve cultivated that truly makes the difference. Ana, Marcos, Adam, Adriana, Rita… we could go on and on.

We spent 7 nights in a Suite Villa, and having been back in The States for 3 nights now, we’re questioning why we ever left. The suites are spacious, quiet, and private. The beds and pillows are very very comfortable with the perfect weight comforter. The double rain shower with sliding door to the deck is a dream come true, and the relaxation continues once you’re wrapped in a cozy towel. The jungle’s alarm clock (a.k.a. cicadas) herald the arrival of each sunrise, and it’s the perfect time to pop a capsule in the Nespresso maker and soak in the environs on the deck. We spent the end of every day in the same spot, and I’ve never before, in any location in the world, seen the entire sky dusted with stars – nor have they ever truly twinkled in succession.

Other highlights to mention: healthy, fresh, delicious food at Kura ; empty, unspoiled beaches (Ballena and Arcos); sunset horseback riding at Playa Hermosa; the wonders of the Whale Tail sandbar; close proximity to Corcovado and Manuel Antonio Parks.

It’s not a matter of “will” we return to Kura, merely “when?”. Our sincere thanks to everyone at the hotel for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Kura Design Villas and would have loved to have stayed longer.
Martin and Alejandra are extraordinarily talented and incredibly hospitable.They have created a work of art in paradise. The staff is extremely attentive, warm and caring.
The combination of architectural beauty and personal service create a breathtaking and intimate setting. We were torn between just relaxing and soaking in the spectacular views and taking advantage of all the activities the area has to offer.
Kura exceeds expectations and lives up to all the outstanding reviews it receives.
We wish Martin and Alejandra great success and hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
2.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
7.5 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Cristal Ballena Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#1 Green Hotel in Uvita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. Kura Design Villas is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Design Villas Uvita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.