We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, just do it ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Design Villas Uvita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kura Design Villas Uvita to your Saves list
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay four - pay three
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, just do it ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I do agree with all the others reviews , this place is great!!!
We spend 3 nights at Kura and had a wonderful time at the resort. We have traveled and stayed in some really good resort all over the world, but I would still review Kura as very unique for the Central America.The Villas are fantastic and the pool area are very lovely too. It is impossible to choose the best experience during our stay, because the service level was high
everywhere :-)
Just go and relax, it is a beautiful place to spend some quality holiday time...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
141
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at Kura. I can't say enough great things about this place. It was our first trip to Costa Rica, and I feel so lucky that this is where we picked to stay. First of all, the hotel design and architecture is beautiful. It is an intimate property, but with open flow in the main common areas, which is pretty much all outside. At the restaurant, you have the lush green mountains on one side of you, and the most amazing view of the Pacific (and the Whale's Tail) on the other side. Every room has this same amazing ocean view-- truly, there's not a bad seat in the house! And they did not skimp on comfort or amenities. I guess I expected an eco-resort to be a little "rougher" around the edges, but this was not so. In fact, it was luxurious. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room itself was thoughtfully designed. It was probably the sexiest designed room we've ever stayed in! Very romantic. Also, the location of Kura is key. It is high up on a mountain which provided fresh breezes all day & night- it was hotter down when you drove down the mountain. Also, it's not near the hustle & bustle & crowds, which is what makes it feel so private & secluded & peaceful.

The food was delicious- fresh and healthy. Drinks were fantastic as well. Loved having fresh smoothies by the pool, which are extra yummy with a little shot of rum or vodka! We ventured out a few times, once to the little pizza place in Uvita- La Fogata (get the barbacoa pizza) and once to Exotica. Love them both. Othewise we were happy taking all the rest of our meals at the hotel. Never got tired of the food or menu.

Probably the most special thing about Kura is the people. They are so incredibly warm & friendly, very genuine with an easy attitude about everything. No request was too much for them. They arranged a trip to the beach where they have a private entrance & set us up with chairs, an umbrella, and a cooler full of lunch, water, and champagne & oj for mimosas (a special request). Marcos drove us to dinner and everywhere else, and was so fun to talk to and just a fantastic guy. Really, everyone we interacted with was amazing-- Ana, Ariana, the owners Martin & Alejandra. They were so helpful & accommodating in every way. We cannot wait to go back! I actually almost cried when we left- it was that relaxing and fun of a vacation. Don't hesitate to stay here- you won't regret it!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room! They all have fantastic views. We stayed in an upper level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have you ever lounged beside a warm, salt water pool while the sun dips into the pacific; sounds of the encroaching jungle illuminate the air, as salty sweet sips of margarita kiss your lips? Me neither. GO TO KURA.

All of the previous reviews are correct -- the hotel is VERY special, and you will treasure each day in sleepy Uvita. Martin and Alejandra spent so much time meticulously crafting the incredible structures and landscapes, but it’s the support team they’ve cultivated that truly makes the difference. Ana, Marcos, Adam, Adriana, Rita… we could go on and on.

We spent 7 nights in a Suite Villa, and having been back in The States for 3 nights now, we’re questioning why we ever left. The suites are spacious, quiet, and private. The beds and pillows are very very comfortable with the perfect weight comforter. The double rain shower with sliding door to the deck is a dream come true, and the relaxation continues once you’re wrapped in a cozy towel. The jungle’s alarm clock (a.k.a. cicadas) herald the arrival of each sunrise, and it’s the perfect time to pop a capsule in the Nespresso maker and soak in the environs on the deck. We spent the end of every day in the same spot, and I’ve never before, in any location in the world, seen the entire sky dusted with stars – nor have they ever truly twinkled in succession.

Other highlights to mention: healthy, fresh, delicious food at Kura ; empty, unspoiled beaches (Ballena and Arcos); sunset horseback riding at Playa Hermosa; the wonders of the Whale Tail sandbar; close proximity to Corcovado and Manuel Antonio Parks.

It’s not a matter of “will” we return to Kura, merely “when?”. Our sincere thanks to everyone at the hotel for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Kura Design Villas and would have loved to have stayed longer.
Martin and Alejandra are extraordinarily talented and incredibly hospitable.They have created a work of art in paradise. The staff is extremely attentive, warm and caring.
The combination of architectural beauty and personal service create a breathtaking and intimate setting. We were torn between just relaxing and soaking in the spectacular views and taking advantage of all the activities the area has to offer.
Kura exceeds expectations and lives up to all the outstanding reviews it receives.
We wish Martin and Alejandra great success and hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have just returned from staying at this beautiful hotel set high up in the mountains with spectacular views of the Whales Tail beach one way and the rainforest the other. After a 'hiccup' with the directions not arriving via email and no sign posts to the hotel ( it really is exclusive) we arrived feeling pretty stressed. That did not last long! As soon as we were taken up to the infinity pool by Alejandra and Martin, the owners, we were given a delicious cocktail and the stress literally melted away. I have never been anywhere so beautiful. If you appreciate good achitectural design you will love this place. But it has so much more to offer than just the wonderful massive villas with double showers and floor to ceiling glass doors leading out to the deck with double hammocks. The gardens, planted up by Alejandra are stunning and were selected to attract butterflies and humming birds and all manner of interesting insects. Toucans fly past regularly. Perry the wild parrot who loves to have her picture taken really stole my heart. You can swim in the delightful infinity pool and feel like you have gone to heaven. All the staff including the lovely masseuse Adriana and Adam the head bar manager ( hope you had a fabulous wedding day!) were committed to making sure everything was perfect and it was. Particular thanks though to Alejandra and Martin for creating what is truly a masterpiece of a hotel. Worth every penny and more. We extended our stay we loved it so much. Go there if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I just returned from an 7 night stay at the Kura and the experience was spectacular.

I have spent literally thousands and thousands of nights away from home, and the experience you get at Kura is one that is very unique. It is a place where you wake up in the morning and look forward to interacting with the staff, going up to the pool and relaxing, and just soaking in Costa Rica. There is no place more stress free!

The intimate setting is a couples dream, with extremely warm and friendly employees that you can tell are truly enjoying their jobs and want to help you enjoy your vacation in any way they can. The owners are always around and you can feel the pride and enjoyment they have for their establishment. They should with good reason, because it deserves every accolade. The reviews I read before we arrived were great, and I can tell you my expectations were exceeded.

Our ONLY concern is how we will get a reservation next year! I really think this is going to be one of the hardest places in Costa Rica to get a room in the future.

Some Highlights:

Whale Tale views + Wildlife - Views are spectacular from everywhere at the Kura. Parry the parrot can be seen flying around the pool and landing on your chair to say hello! From the hotel we also saw Tucans and a beautiful Anteater right in the tree next to the pool. Everyone is very eco-friendly at the hotel and love the animals.

Private Entrance to the beach - DO NOT miss the beach via the private Kura entrance. We were alone on the incredible beautiful beach all morning.

Pool and Food/Drink - The salt water pool is very nice for swimming or just hanging out, and the food was excellent. They are happy to recommend restaurants in the area as well. If you are staying for a week, you will probably want to dine out at least once or twice. We ate off the dinner and lunch menu at either meal time.

Room - The room is unlike anything you have ever seen. When you are in your room you feel like you are in your own private paradise. The shower is something that makes me want to remodel my own bathroom!

Spa - We both were lucky enough to have 1 hour massages while we were there and it was excellent. I had not had a massage before, and it was a really great experience. My wife has had massages before and commented on how much better the massage was at the Kura. The spa is a showpiece of a room. If you do not get any spa treatments, you should at least ask to see the studio, because it is unbelievable.

Staff and Owners - Costa Rica in general seemed to have the happiest people I have ever seen, and at the Kura this was no exception. Everyone was constantly smiling and talking with each other, and really it felt like we were staying with a big happy family.

Things to consider:

Transportation - The road up to the Kura is pretty steep and rocky and requires 4x4. We decided to hire a driver (see our review of Danny, another great experience) and it worked out even better than we imagined. I think a self drive is doable, but having a driver really made everything outside of the hotel even better.

Parting thoughts:

We staying in Villa #1, which is an Infinity Villa. I loved the location (right under the pool). I walked by the other 4 villas which are not connected to the main building and they looked very nice as well, but did not get a chance to view the rooms from the inside. They are configured as two buildings, each with the suite on top of the junior villa. Everything is very private.

There is just an X factor to this hotel that is hard to put into a review. Just personal touches and really just great people enjoy your time with. Being around happy people makes us happy, and everything at the Kura made our trip to Costa Rica beyond "5 star"!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent 4 nights at Kura with my girlfriend and it was beyond expectations. I decided to register on tripadvisor just to review this place. I first learned about Kura Villas in Conde Nast and then read all of the reviews on here shocked that they were all so good, making me almost a little skeptical. Now having been there, I understand the hype. We flew into San Jose and then took the Sansa Cessna to Quepos where we were picked up by a very friendly driver named Martin at the airport, only to learn about 15 minutes into our hour drive to the resort that he was the owner! He could not be a more humble and great down to earth guy. The story alone of how he built this amazing resort made the ride there (and up the mountainside) go so fast. After the steep ride up the mountain, we got to Kura and were greeted by his girlfriend Alejandra (the other owner) who quickly made us a welcome drink and showed us the stunning view of the Pacific from the infinity pool area.
Having spent time in many five star hotels and resorts both domestic and abroad, I can honestly say this stacks up with the best in every category. The owners and staff could not be more friendly and attentive, and with only 6 villas, you literally have almost 2:1 staff to guest ratio so nothing is missed. The food is out of this world from fresh caught and prepared fish, to the fresh ceviche and tuna carpaccio. It was all excellent. They have a great drink and wine selection. The villa (#2) we stayed in was amazing! More than enough space and the private balcony and hammock was awesome. The double shower overlooking the Ocean was perfect. We literally woke up one morning and they delivered breakfast to us on our balcony as two Toucans were hanging on a tree in front of us... you just can't make this stuff up. You could here the congo monkeys howling in the background from down below in the rainforest (which sounded like howling wind)and the flowers and trees everywhere before you look out on the ocean just creates sensory overload. Adrianna gave amazing massages in the spa which also had the same great views. They have high end binoculars for all of the guests along with a huge telescope that helps to take in the amazing views. The pool is a huge highlight. Martin & Alejandra spared no expense here, everything has the nicest materials from the Bose sound system (including speakers built underwater that you can hear while you are swimming, no lie) to all of the fixtures and amenities. Martin & Alejandra even arranged for a private Valentines dinner on their sky-deck which was unreal. The great part about Kura is you can do as much or as little as you want. You can be just as comfortable hanging in your villa or by the pool. Perry the owners "house parrot" is pretty cool and hangs around the resort. If you want to leave the resort (which you won't really want to) they will arrange it for you the night before... we ended up doing the Canopy zip line tour about 45 minutes away and it was so much fun. I have already recommended this to many friends and clients and a few have booked, I think this resort is going to be sold out for months in advance as the word gets out... I highly recommend booking this , you will not regret it. I will definitely be back one day.

Room Tip: Villa #2 was great. I was worried at first when I was told I had an "Infinity Villa" ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
2.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
1.6 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
7.5 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#7 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#1 Green Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. Kura Design Villas is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kura Design Villas Uvita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.